We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galingkha

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thimphu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Galingkha
Norzin Lam, Thimphu, Bhutan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Thimphu B&B and Inns
Franklin, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Royal experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

After a miserable night at Hotel Peljorling in Phuntsholing, Galingkha felt downright palatial. The lighting, the location, the courteous staff, everything was top notch. The rooms were just right, and overlooked the city center. All the amenities expected of a star hotel were there - hot water showers, clean toilets, filled water jugs, soaps, toiletries, etc.

The food was top notch and my parents didn't want to eat elsewhere after the dinner here on our first night (they did take a while to prepare it though). The hotel is close to the Swiss Bakery (underwhelming) a mobile store to get your Bhutanese SIM, discos, and other restaurants to eat at (try Hotel Chula). The views from the room in the mornings were magnificent and breathtaking.

The only flip side were the infinite number of stray dogs that started barking and howling in the middle of the night. The rooms don't have A/C. So if it gets warm, the windows need to be opened, but that also will bring in a lot of ambient traffic and people noise that didn't give me sleep a night. There is no elevator in the hotel either, so climbing up to the third floor was a hike.

The WiFi connection was slow, but passable for Bhutanese standards. There was a person at the reception desk 24 hours. Our driver had a place to park his car overnight. Breakfast fruit plate was a banana and an apple. I didn't like that too much. Barring that this was a great hotel to unwind in Thimpu.

Room Tip: Get a room at the topmost floor where the noise is the minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
9
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It is one of the best in Thimphu. Centrally located easily accessible to the main market and the resturants. We stayed there for two nights, the room was huge with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with a bath tub. It has a great view of the mountain and the statue of Buddha can be seen from some rooms. Even the room service was prompt.Overall experience was great except for the food. The food was bland with no taste at all. I would suggest you to eat outside.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Galingkha for two nights after completing a Jhomolhari trek and we were very grateful for the comfortable room with a huge double bed and a bathroom after 7 nights in a tent! It is a modern hotel and not particularly charming in the way a Bhutanese hotel can be, but if you want comfort and a central location in Thimphu, this is a good choice. One nice feature is that they have internet facilities freely available (in a computer room off the corridor) and they were also able to provide a laundry service (also very welcome after the trek).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Galingkha is a clean, well located property right in the heart of Thimphu. It's nothing to blow your mind, but it's not a place you can complain about either. I wasn't expecting top of the line ambience or 5-star service standards - for the price, it's very decent value. The rooms are fairly large, comfortable and clean. My room (401) had mostly everything you'd require and a great view of the street below and mountains in the distance. Room service was fairly quick, the food I ordered was definitely decent (again, nothing to rave about, but good), and the hotel was quiet and allowed me decent sleep.
All in all, I'd recommend it to travellers looking for a no-nonsense, clean, value for money hotel, that doesn't necessarily 'delight' them - but which doesn't give opportunities for complaints either. It hasn't got the 'character' of a boutique hotel, but its functional, clean and good value for money, apart from being well located.

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs, stay on the 1st or 2nd floor, the hotel doesn't have an elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Hotel is located right on the main signal of Thimpu. With great view of the magnificent view of the mountain. With a great two multiple window concept as to relax in ambience and feel blissed just to look at the mountain and the calm streets in the nights. One of the best property in Thimpu easily accessible to all the important offices if you are going on a business trip.
I had pleasure of the receiving the fantastic reception and subsequently my stay was more delighting thanks to great hospitality of the hotel management and it's staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in November 2012. The hotel has very comfortable rooms which are spotlessly clean.
The restaraunt food was good and service was fine.
We did not notice any problems with barking dogs at night.
I think this is an excellent choice for a central Thimpu hotel which is covered under the normal Bhutanese tourist allocation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I think this ought to be the best place i stayed in Bhutan (everything else just pales after that IMHO). Rooms are modest but really clean befitting for a 3 stars hotel and breakfast is decent. Our guide brought us to many good restaurants around instead of dining in the hotel. There are convenient stores around to stock up if you need any. Free Wifi connectivity in the hotel. Was not affected by barking dogs or traffic during my 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Galingkha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galingkha

Address: Norzin Lam, Thimphu, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thimphu
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galingkha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Galingkha to your Saves list