We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taj is predictably very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Pamodzi Hotel to your Saves list
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Road | P.O. Box 35450, Lusaka 10101, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Taj is predictably very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have stayed many times over the past 3-4 years at the Taj Padmozi in Lusaka. It is great. Staff great you on arrival as a "welcome home". At check in the serve you a (non alcoholic) drink. Rooms are good to very good. Service a very good to excellent. Bar area and lounge are great to conduct meetings. The restaurants are very good.. I am a very happy repeat client and recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your positive comments which I most certainly will share with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    115
    29
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
25
17
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We flew into Lusaka and found ourselves near the back in the immigration queue and it was painfully slow. It took us some hours to get through the formalities and exit the airport and then found that the transport we had arranged with the hotel had left without us. Well, he had a few other passengers who were getting fed up so he took off without us. Fair enough but surely they know how long it takes to clear formalities why not send the transport back for us. Not a good start but we took a taxi and made our own way to the hotel.
What a lovely oasis, beautiful gardens, lovely hotel, nicely decorated and we were immediately struck by the smiling, helpful, friendly staff. Our room was comfortable, with modern décor, TV with a good selection of channels, free wireless internet throughout the hotel and the air conditioning worked very well. The bathroom was well equipped with the necessary items and we were extremely comfortable.
We had drinks in the garden which was delightful and then ate dinner in the restaurant and it was very good, as was the breakfast buffet with a very good range of dishes on offer.
We returned to the Pamodzi on our day of departure and took a room for several hours before leaving for our flight. This is African hospitality at it’s very best, we would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Use the hotel transport to the airport, cheaper than the taxis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your positive comments which I most certainly will share with my team. I have taken note of your feedback regarding the airport shuttle and can assure you that the we have looked into the matter and it has since been resolved. I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Service was excellent.
They have the warmest, friendliest and most helpful staff.
The location is perfect for business travel in Zambia - the setting is serene and tranquil yet it is very close to the city centre (which is rather noisy).
My room was small but very comfortable and spotless.
They offer a variety of dining options and a wide enough variety of menu options (some tastier than others).
Business facilities were excellent.

Overall excellent service, a great stay, great value for money and fantastic location.

I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to my colleagues and friends.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your positive comments which I most certainly will share with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great fancy hotel in Lusaka, although a bit pricey, but that's Zambia... Friendly staff and decent food, clean and quiet room. BUT... we booked this hotel to conduct business at - however - the music in the lobby, bar, restaurant, lounge area was so loud we could not hear ourselves think. We asked 3 times to have the music turned down a bit and it was ignored. Also - the central reservations booking did not communicate with the local hotel so we had "fun and games" on check-out. Not. The hotel staff dealt with it courteously but were a bit clueless and we had to literally hold their hand throughout the entire process. Sadly, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your comments which I most certainly will share with my team. I have taken note of your feedback regarding the music in our public areas and your booking instructions and can assure that corrective measures have been put into place to ensure that such a lapse in service can never recur.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was my first stay at the Taj and I was very impressed. I booked the room on Expedia and had no problems with check-in. Room and facilities were as you would expect from a 5* hotel (gym and sauna was among the best equipped I've seen in a hotel; and lovely pool area and gardens). What really sets this hotel apart, though, is the exceptional friendliness and professionalism of the staff, who are clearly well-trained (I often find staff in African 5* hotels have the former in abundance, but often sorely lack the latter). Prices are also very competitive among the newer options in Lusaka (e.g. The Radisson Blu). Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your positive comments which I most certainly will share with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was in Lusaka for only one night, so a limited impression of the hotel, but check in was smooth and without fuss ( booked on Hotels.com, no issue with the prepaid booking ), and the room was a good size and all functioning. Looked a little out of date, could perhaps do with a touch of renovation for the roughly usd200 per might fee?
Dinner at the restaurant was perfectly fine, really friendly service, which did impress.

Useful shuttle bus to the airport ( 30 mins, USD25 ) which leave at 05h30 in time for 07h25 flight to Johannesburg, worth booking that, same price as a local taxi.

recommended, especially if on business.

Room Tip: not a very high hotel, so views not really an option, but 3rd floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your positive comments which I most certainly will share with my team. I have taken note of your feedback regarding the room renovation and can assure that we are looking into the matter.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at the Taj on business for a week. The hotel is of a great standard and probably the best on Lusaka. Rooms are functional and breakfast is good with a wide selection. Most importantly, staff are friendly and helpful. From a location point it is reasonably convenient to the large central mall.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Taj Pamodzi Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your review of Taj Pamodzi Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through your valuable comments and suggestions that help us to make improvements and strive further for excellence.

Thank you for your positive comments which I most certainly will share with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Pamodzi Hotel again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood

General Manager | Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Pamodzi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Address: Church Road | P.O. Box 35450, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lusaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Pamodzi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Taj Pamodzi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Pamodzi Lusaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Pamodzi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.