We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Ridgeway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Ridgeway to your Saves list
Southern Sun Ridgeway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Church Road and Independence Avenue | Avenue, Lusaka 10101, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Lusaka
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Again, Southern Sun Ridgeway Hotel in Lusaka lived up to expectations. The GM and his staff always provide a great service that is really hard to beat. Their friendliness and efficiency makes guests feel really welcome in the country. Meals are something to look forward to, with the breakfasts being particularly memorable for their wide selection of foods. The atmosphere and ambiance around the hotel is completely relaxing and all the facilities and rooms are clean and comfortable. A wonderful experience.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness and efficiency
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    84
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
19
11
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

This was my third time in Lusaka and my third hotel. I enjoyed the Southern Sun much more than I enjoyed the Intercontinental (where I was given a room that was already occupied by a man who was in bed and confused when I walked in on him) and the Taj Pamodzi (which was a bit too stuffy). The Southern Sun had lots of open space in the restaurant/lounge areas, a small but functional gym, a great pool and very friendly (albeit somewhat slow) staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

For my second trip to Lusaka, I decided to try an alternative to the big 5 star hotels and was rewarded with a gem. Arriving before 8am, check in was smooth and efficient and I was surprised to find the hotel manager (Adrian) in reception to welcome those of us who had just arrived from the airport. OK it's not rocket science to get his timing right, but the fact that he bothered was a good omen. Within seconds of introducing himself, he was helping out an unfortunate Canadian woman whose luggage was still in London and giving instructions to the staff to provide any and all possible help to the lady including chasing the airport for information. .... this personal touch and helpfulness was to characterise the hotel and all its staff.

The rooms are much smaller than the fancy hotels, but more than adequate and I particularly liked having an air-conditioning unit that I could control properly and switch off as required. All rooms come with free wi-fi and the placing of relay transmitters around the hotel ensure good and strong coverage most of the time. I did experience some problems and the manager immediately had technicians and his deputy employed to try and resolve the issue. I could not fault any of the efforts made, but the problem seemed to persist and I can only assume that the speed of broadband that we are used to in Europe is simply not available.

One place that had a good wi-fi connection at all times was the terrace and it could hardly be described as a hardship to set up office at the edge of the hotel pond which housed 3 baby crocodiles and a colony of what I think may have been weaver birds and with plenty of helpful and charming staff to serve you at all times. In fact the terrace was a kind of social centre and the overall feeling was of living in a loose-knit community rather than a hotel, which was a very pleasant change from the lonely anonymity of the major chains. I ate all my meals here and for the most part true menu was adequate. My only gripe is that I would have liked to have seen much more in the way of vegetables on the terrace/bar menu (I have to admit that I did not try the more formal restaurant).

Along with the terrace and dining room/restaurant the hotel has a sports bar and a small gift shop where I was able to exchange dollars for local kwacha at more or less the actual exchange rate without the payment of enormous commission that the hotel formally charges.... another of the small but helpful services available. Amazingly there is also a branch of Barclays bank and an ATM machine on the premises.... very useful indeed. I felt that the cost of a single A4 print out in the business centre was rather expensive, but the staff in reception were happy to open it up and allow me to use it when it was officially closed on Sunday night.

The gym/exercise room is small, but open 24 hours a day and is a pleasant space, located next to the swimming pool which is secluded and very attractive.

Manager Adrian made a point of touring the terrace and chatting with guests every day and it is clear from his no-nonsense attitude that he runs a very tight ship and works hard to ensure that guests have a good experience. However, it would be wrong of me to praise only the boss and to neglect the willing and cheerful helpfulness of all the staff that I encountered.

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and will, without doubt, return on future trips to Lusaka.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfuwe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have been coming to this hotel for many years when it was still the Ridgeway. The staff has always been extremely friendly, typical of Zambia and the rooms very comfortable.

Southern Sun Hotel Lusaka is well situated for all your down town needs.
The breakfasts are excellent all inclusive in the price. This hotel has not seen the end of me yet.

Thanks

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at the Southern Sun in Lusaka for 1 week last month for work. It's a nice property with excellent customer service. Specifically, the restaurant waiters and waitresses are very attentive, professional and pleasant. I sat outside on the veranda nearly every night to work and, while I would have liked a few more power outlets, it was a pleasant work environment.

The rooms are nothing special but are clean. The water pressure in the shower suffers in the morning when others are showering. But, again, the bathrooms are clean so that's the most important part. Every other night, I received a little chocolate on my pillow. Funny thing was that it wasn't a high end "nighttime" chocolate but rather a bite-size twix or snickers. Kind of funny.

The internet was pretty good and reliable. It was a bit frustrating to have to log-in to the internet every 30-60 minutes but I got used to it. Would be great if they could figure out a system where once you're logged in, you're in until you log-out. Would save those of us working for several hours at a time the hassle of having to log-in 5 or so times during one sitting.

The breakfast is excellent. Lots of great, fresh fruit and egg options.

I didn't get to use the pool at all because every time I wanted to, they were having a private event near the pool. This was the #1 most annoying feature of this hotel. It hosts so many local events that the hotel guests are often put out. I also hated working out at this hotel because the guests of the private event can stare right into the fitness room. It was awkward. But at least there is a fitness room!

The manager hosts a very nice weekly cocktail reception for guests and they give you a name tag with your national flag on it. It's a lovely feature and was so nice to meet other guests at the hotel. Very generous and shows the hotel's commitment to its guests.

Overall, this is one of the best business options in Lusaka and a very good option in all of Eastern/Southern Africa. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

A wonderful hideaway with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. I have stayed here on several occassions and would be very happy to return on every visit to Lusaka. The staff are extremely polite and friendly and the food is a MUST. One of the best places to eat in the entire city whether it's the buffet or a la carte, you can't beat the variety and quality.
A great business vibe parred with a peaceful and comfortable surrounding.
The place to be in Lusaka!!!

Room Tip: most rooms are peaceful but there is a side with new, moden rooms and a side to still be refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luangwa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We have been visiting this hotel for more than 5 years on a monthly basis. The staff are always welcoming and ready to assist with any requests/problems. This hotel is well positioned for people with business in Lusaka (like us) and has comfortabale, well furnished rooms. It is always a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Ridgeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ridgeway

Address: Corner Church Road and Independence Avenue | Avenue, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
#3 Business Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ridgeway 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Lusaka's business district, close to embassies and government offices and only 27km from the airport. The hotel is set in attractive landscaped gardens and offers business and leisure travellers a welcoming atmosphere, for which Southern Sun is so renowned. The guest rooms are tastefully furnished and offer every modern facility, including free wireless internet access, which is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Ridgeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ridgeway Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Holiday Inn Lusaka
Lusaka Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Ridgeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.