We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and good atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Hagans

O'Hagans
WoodLands Area, Lusaka, Zambia
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 82 Restaurants in Lusaka
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

their new location has plenty of space with a good variety on the menu, the starters are generous, they could easily be a complete light meal. Its one of the few restaurants with a good mash potatoes. the steak is good and the chicken is succulent.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Irish-themed bar and restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is the Zambian outpost of an Irish-themed South African chain. When I visited, it was the day before St. Patrick's, so they were offering both green-dyed Mosi and gree-dyed Castle. I had a Kilkenney (from a can) and an Amstel (bottle) and called it a night. The menu is typical pub food, like fish and chips, beef and Guinness stew, etc. They had some food specials advertised for St. Paddy's, but they were not yet available so I didn't try the dinner menu. The Friday afternoon atmosphere was festive and the service was good, so I might go back for a drink if I am back in Lusaka in the future.

It's a bit out of town, though, and I happened to be in the neighborhood for work. Not sure I'd go out of my way for this.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pub atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Good pub food. Try there all day breakfast or flanagans fish & chips both good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be at Manda Hill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Food was your typical bar fayre and no complaints with that or the service that was friendly. Food comes in a reasonable time but then again it is not cooked from fresh.

What I really disliked was the atmosphere and for that reason I would not go a second time. Sitting outside it just so ughhhh.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food in an unexpected place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Nice place and honestly, pretty good food! Also, this could be the only Irish pub-like kinda place in Southern Africa. Quite well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Hagans also viewed

Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 

Been to O'Hagans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Hagans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.