We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stopped in for a sangria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plates Restaurant & Wine Bar

Plates Restaurant & Wine Bar
Acacia Park, Arcades Mall, opposite FNB Bank, Lusaka, Zambia
0211-841-015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 79 Restaurants in Lusaka
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Eclectic, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Plates Restaurant serves fine American cuisine in Lusaka, Zambia. It is also Lusaka's best wine bar, with over 50 types of wine served by the bottle, and 16 served by the glass! Our menu's change monthly, and we host a wine tasting each month. Plates can also cater your next special occasion, either at the restaurant or at your location. Check out our website for more details and upcoming events!
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“stopped in for a sangria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

the owners, PJ & Rachel, are so warm and friendly and welcome all their guests personally. Can't wait to return for wine tasting later this week

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little slice of America in Lusaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lets start with the food: It is AWESOME! I am constantly impressed with the food here, especially because they change the menu every month. The desserts are killer, really the only place you can get proper desserts and not just dry cake or ice cream. My favorite dish right now is a tie between the duck quesadillas and the almond crusted bream...mmmmm!

The service is good, I don't have to waive my arms in the air to get service. The servers are attentive which is hard to beat in Lusaka. The wines are amazing, I never thought I would see so much choice in wines here, but they have a great selection.

I've notice some comments about the prices, but I find them fair, especially as their prices include VAT and service charge. Plates is overall my favorite place to eat in Lusaka, no question about it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Steak and Fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I went there for dinner after a recommendation from a wookmate. I took my Egyptian Friend and he really liked the steak and fries.

The food was served on time.

The Location is excellent and private.

The Food was a bit pricy but good

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A bit price and not much choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I had a bacon an blue cheese burger for mains, which was to me normal pub food and seemed overpriced. For starters I had calamary rings which were again quite pricey and I got about 5 small rings on the plate with lots of salad decoration. House wine was nice and reasonably priced, but the food is too expensive for what you get. Nice atmosphere though.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were 3 for dinner. We had a very nice dinner with great meat. The food was delicious. The place was not too busy though. It is a bit pricey. Service was friendly and pleasant.
One sour grape is that a few things on the menu were not availabe including an item on todays special??? we were some of the first I'm sure. that could be improved.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plates Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 

Been to Plates Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plates Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.