We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eureka Camping Park nice stop over after long days travel We will go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eureka Camping Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lusaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eureka Camping Park
Kafue Road, Lusaka, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 Specialty lodging in Lusaka
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eureka Camping Park nice stop over after long days travel We will go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Eureka Camping Park on 2 separate days as part of overland trip to Zambia.

Nice shaded camp site. Limited power points (some if which is broken - plugs to be replaced) with both local and SA type plugs. Clean ablution - showers have curtains rather than doors Doors would be appreciated. Hot water if you early.

Friendly gate staff - no other staff visible accept bar man - he was occupied.

No firewood on site - New Pick A Pay grocery store nearby as you enter Lusaka.

Be very careful at turnoff from road (well sign posted) specially if towing as the short gravel road to Camp Site is lower than tarred main road.

Many overlanders stayed over - but noise levels were kept down.

There are small chalets and dormitory available. We did not use these but they looked clean and functional.

We felt safe at all times.

We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

The bungalows are great idea to build in traditional Zambian style.
The issue is that besides you there are hundredths of spiders, Mosquitos, flys and other insects. This is due to lack of dense wall in the bathroom.
So you share the room with others, sometimes unpleasant guessts.
Besides that the moisture is in the beds and sheets as well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

SUMMARY
Decent camp inside a small reserve with lots of animals (gazelles, zebras, meerkats, even giraffes and a few ostriches) that even occasionally enter the campground as it isn't fenced. Huts are rather dark and can get cold at night. Hard to get to the city on public transport, also no internet (status: July 2012).

ROOMS 5/10
The chalets/huts are pretty on the outside, but have roofs that are elevated in a way that air can circulate between the roof and the walls. While this certainly is advantageous in hot summer days, you'll be freezing your behind off in the chillier months - also because there's always a slight, cold air draft. The rooms were rather dark, with small windows and insufficient lighting. We ended up moving to a private room in their dorm building, which is just a concrete block, but at least we were warmer.
Ensuite bathrooms have no sound privacy, as the bathroom walls don't reach the ceiling. We also had a couple of big rain spiders in the bathroom which my wife didn't quite fancy :)

LOCATION 5/10
Eureka Camp is located approx. 12km outside the city center, off Kafue Road, right opposite Baobab College, near Chawama village. It's not exactly well-signposted, so we initially passed it a few times at night. You first pass a gate to enter the game reserve and then drive another mile or so to reach the camp itself (be careful as animals roam freely). It's a great location considering you're surrounded by peaceful wildlife and are still rather close to the big city. That's a big plus, but unfortnately you're quite screwed if you're backpacking. If you don't want to pay top Kwacha for a pirate cab coming to pick you up, you have to walk all the way to the main road and then wait for a minibus to pass; in the city center you have to change minibuses or get a cab. All in all a long and still rather expensive undertaking. And since there's no Internet in the camp you'll either have to buy a local sim or venture to the city if you want to catch up with your friends & family.

FOOD & SERVICE 8/10
Great breakfast (paid extra), however it takes ages to come out. Friendly staff, but often unavailable.

PRICE/QUALITY RATIO 7/10
Prices are okay, but not great. There should be free wifi (or at least any internet) at those prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had an amazing evening at this rustic place. Zebra's, Giraffe and monkeys were walking around. The chalets are clean with hot showers and electricity. Price are average. This was a good stop over outside of Lusaka.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

For basic camping, this is a very good place. A 10 minute drive from Lusaka, it is located in a game area, so expect to see zebras, ostriches, giraffes and antelopes roaming around the outskirts of the camping area. It is relatively cheap (around 4$ per night), has a common room/bar with a pool table and a TV, the toilets and showers are not the cleanest in the world, but are definitely OK. There are several taps with running water scattered around the area in case you need to do some washing. Sometimes there are overland groups arriving at 2 AM and leaving at 7 AM so occasionally it gets a bit noisy, but overall it was a pleasant experience. The camping are is big enough to find your own relatively peaceful place. Zebras and giraffes were a definite plus.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights as its quite a nice place. Its got the little nature reserve outside with Zebra and Giraffe right outside and you can go for a walk. The kids will like that as long as you see some animals and don;t have to walk too far. They come right to the gate at various times of day. They also have a few monkeys but not too many.

The toilets are a bit of a walk and all the pitches have power and the tap isn't too far. They all have a little shelter where you can set up the table and chairs. The light in our one wasn't working but no doubt it will be fixed. The plugs are both SA round type and the English square type. The ground is level and perfect for overland trucks. The large overland tours use this camp so be aware it might get busy and noisy occasionally. The price was $7usd each person and beers were $2usd. You can pay in either local currency or USD.

The staff were all helpfull and friendly not that we needed to use their services. The bar area shows football from what i could tell. They can supply charcoal for the Braai/BBQ's on each pitch.

The camp isn't too far from the new shopping malls springing up in the city. Theres a KFC and supermarket within 5km and another Mall with modern Cinema about 15km away. Its well located so you can pop out for drinks. Its just off the main ring road and has easy access to the road to Victoria Falls.

The 3G/3.5G coverage on MTM Zambia is excellent on the camp grounds and we had no problem with Internet using our dongle and also making VoIP calls over the internet.

Room Tip: Check out the power and lights in the little huts before setting up. Some of them may be faulty. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I do loved this place I went with a group of friends it was good sitting up all night talking out in the bush but you know it's safe because there are only giraffes, impala and monkeys there.

We stayed in a chalet which was pretty average but for what you pay its good. In a chalet you have a bathroom as well.

There are bbq placed all around the place. So we bought food and we cooked ourselves.

Late afternoon we saw giraffe's about 10. When ever my family come over here I take them there because you can always see giraffes at early morning or late afternoon.

If you don't want to stay you can just pay to go in a view the giraffes. Though look carefully they are well camouflaged.

It is a real camping place for the prices it rates very good.

If you have any questions on this place or anywhere else in Zambia please let me know I travel all around here and if I haven't been there I know someone that has!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eureka Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eureka Camping Park

Address: Kafue Road, Lusaka, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Specialty lodging in Lusaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eureka Camping Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Eureka Camping Park to your Saves list