We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cassia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cassia Lodge to your Saves list
Cassia Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 15 | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great for relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

its the first time i stay in a hotel in Uganda that doesn't have any mosquitos! we had a great easter vacation very relaxing, calm great view and intimate. we slept peacefully with no mosquitos at all.
the only bad comment for this lodge is the poor breakfast and no gym or activities to do except for the swimming pool. but everything else is very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    97
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
46
85
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have been travelling several times to Kampala. And when I am in town, I always visit this place to enjoy the view on Lake Vicoria. There is nothing that can beat Cassia Lodge when having a beer on the terras of this hotel at lunch or at night... And every time when I am there, I always get to meet new people or other Belgians. In the meantime I got to know the staff better. They always welcome me as if I am part of the Cassia family. Truly wonderful people, definitely worth a visit!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I didn't stay at this hotel however I ate there often during my stay in Uganda I love it. The food and staff were awesome. Can't wait to return the grounds are very clean the view is breathe taking. I just went daily for the peace.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We arrived late night at Cassia Lodge.
Waking up the next morning with the most beautiful view on Lake Victoria was the best start ever to begin our African journey.
Cassia Lodge offers all services to enjoy a most pleasant stay in Kampala, comfortable rooms, good food, nice large pool and friendly personnel. We especially enjoyed a great performance by a traditional band and dancers in the garden.
Looking forward to returning soon !
Jeroen

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I must be missing something. It's not a place for sleeping. We stayed 1 night at the beginning of our safari and 1 night at the end (not our choice) and couldn't wait for the stay to be over. Kampala has so many better places to stay.
* No air-con in the room (and the night was HOT). Rubbish fan didn't help.
* The mosquito net was full of gaps at the top, got bitten 3 times.
* Room safe didn't work, no power to it.
* Rooms are more tired than I was. Saggy bed

Restaurant and bar were it's saving grace. Great food, cold Nile Special and a killer view of Kampala at night. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms #7 #8 #9
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Really comfortable lodge just outside of Kampala. Be prepared for a taxi ride to town, but the ride helps orient you to the city, so it's not really a disadvantage. The pool is quite nice and refreshing after a day exploring the city. The dinner took a while to deliver, so be prepared for leisurely eating. Breakfast is pretty typical, and the staff quite friendly. Ask for the Spanish omelette. Wifi pretty reliable and location safe. This was my first night in Uganda and I was pleasantly surprised.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blankenberge, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

we had a three night stay in Cassia Lodge . the view on the Victoria is so different every morning and evening , the mist, the clouds, by clear weather,... overnight with the frogs making their lovesongs, and allways so quiet and peacefull. you should forget the slums you came through as you arrive in this garden of Eden... Johan and Els are great guests, we love the discussions, the exchange of experiences, the backgrounds of Uganda, the political questions,..
we like to come back and come home in this place, now for the third time, with 39 volunteers at the beginning and end of our medical mission to the poorest people in East Uganda.
'chapeau' for the kind reception, the food, the garden, the rooms... hope to see you again in two years (or earlier...) Peter and Veronique Vandendriessche-Lamoral

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Lodge

Address: Plot 15 | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kampala
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cassia Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassia Lodge is located on Buziga Hill, one of the highest hills of Kampala close to Lake Victoria. The environment is cool, with few mosquitoes, and an astonishing view on the lake as well as the city. Excellent international cuisine in a serene environment, conference facilities, business centre, wireless connection, large swimming pool, luxurious rooms with satellite television, bar and balcony overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Cassia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.