We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is a must when visiting Kampala even if you dont stay there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cassia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cassia Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 15 | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 56 hotels in Kampala
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The view is a must when visiting Kampala even if you dont stay there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed at Cassia several times and the hotel is nice and clean and comfortable and for the price very good. However what is the most interesting thing with this place is the view. I consider it to be a must visit to arrive at before sunset for friends that have never been in Uganda. Go sit on the front porch have a drink and just enjoy the sunset and so you get to see the view in both daylight and at night. There is simply no better place to see the lake, Port Bell and town from.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    72
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
68
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Cassia Lodge for part of our 'mini honeymoon' break, after changing our mind three times before finding this place by accident, and boy were we glad we did. Located on the hill side off the Gabba Road, about 30 minutes from Kampala City Center, this Belgium owned establishment can boast the best views of any hotel we have seen in the area, and we have seen most of them. The hotel looks east, so that every room gets a great view on both the upper and the lower level, ours was located nearest the pool and commanded stunning views of Lake Victoria, over looking the valley and the fishing village of Gabba. The hotel also has a conference room, meeting hall, a lovely pool, garden and restaurant which affords equally good views curving back down towards Kampala city. We did have a couple of minor niggles, our room had a very late check out on it, even though we had said we would arrive at check in time, but when problems arise, its always about how the staff and management deal with them that's important, and they went out of their way to get our room ready as early as they could and offered us another one to shower in, in the interim which was much appreciated. The internet in all the rooms went down on our first day, but fortunately there is a business center you can use as well which was unaffected and it was back up and running by the following day. The fans on the ceiling are quite entertaining and should be viewed for novelty purposes only, as they will do their best to take off, a stand up one is provided for air conditioning. The bedroom and bathroom are of a good standard, nicely furnished, with hot water and no chance of a power cut thanks to the solar panels out the back. They also all have their own veranda or patio on the ground floor, a lovely place to enjoy a drink. We ate at the restaurant every day of our stay for both lunch and dinner and the food ranged from good to excellent and certainly was never average. Their fillet was excellent and the pasta good to, which is rare for Uganda (They even had actual parmesan cheese which you can never find over here) Breakfast was of a good standard too, with decent bacon, eggs, yogurt, fruit and other thigns on offer. The staff was all extremely helpful and courteous and went out of their way to make our stay feel special, which it was. If we had only one gripe, it was with the mosquito nets, and this is the only thing that has stopped it from scoring a five star rating. While they are of the decent type which run on rails around the bed affording plenty of room and comfort, they don't actually make contact with the rear wall, leaving a rather yawning gap which we tried all manner of ways to close. Unfortunately I am a very light sleeper and was woken up several times by the various squadrons of the blighters who had clearly read the instruction booklet on attacking via the gap in the net. This did not distract from our stay at this excellent venue, and we throughly recommend it, you will not see a more beautiful sight than the sunrise across the lake from this location.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level offer a more grand standing view, ours was room 20, which is near the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisenyi, Rwanda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had traveled to Uganda in November. I had ended up staying in three hotels, as I had stayed with two friends, and then stayed at Cassia Lodge, before I stayed at the Sheraton for two nights. By far, this was the best place I had stayed in all of Kampala. The view was magnificent, quiet, calm, friendly staff, excellent food, gorgeous rooms,safe, secure, and all the anemities as well. When I needed to travel to Uganda now coming up in April, I made no hesitation, that the Cassia lodge was the place to go, by far the best in Kampala. On top of that, you cannot beat the prices. Do not waste your money anywhere else. If you want the best, most gorgeous place to stay in Kampala. Book at the Cassia lodge, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This lodge offers nice food, good ambiance, the staff is very friendly and the view over Kampala at night and Lake Victoria during the day is magnificent.
The poolside is a nice and quiet hideaway to realx in this busy city.

A must stay in Kampala!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

It is on the a little distance from the city center and by large offers the best room service on the whole. The food is fantastic and I dare say the price is well worth it. I was particularly intrigued by the ambiance.....

Room Tip: sharing a room reduces the price and adds to the total experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

decided to pop over for a drink as had heard so much about the place.
It turned out to look even better than i expected,great views fantastic grounds.

turned up on a busy evening i think there was a graduation bash taking place upstairs but was still able to get attention.
place look nice decor simple done up like a safari lodge.....but in a residential area.
i think its a great pace to have a drink/party.
i like places that nice grounds that are well looked after.
place was also very clean which was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner went to Cassia Lodge for a meal in their restuarant and just to spend the evening there relaxing. The views are spectacular especially of Lake Victoria which is clearly visible as Cassia Lodge is situated on a hill. We were given a guided tour of the hotel rooms and the swimming pool all of which were to good standard. The only downside was that the price of the meals is on the high side.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cassia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Lodge

Also Known As:
Cassia Hotel
Cassia Hotel Kampala
Address: Plot 15 | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#8 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cassia Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassia Lodge is located on Buziga Hill, one of the highest hills of Kampala close to Lake Victoria. The environment is cool, with few mosquitoes, and an astonishing view on the lake as well as the city. Excellent international cuisine in a serene environment, conference facilities, business centre, wireless connection, large swimming pool, luxurious rooms with satellite television, bar and balcony overlooking the lake. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cassia Lodge to your Saves list