We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing management and very loud” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cassia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cassia Lodge to your Saves list
Cassia Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 15 | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing management and very loud”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Whilst the views are fantastic, the management of this place is very poor. We were confirmed by the assistant manager (Susan) for two nights but upon arrival were told there was no room for us on the second night! I have never experienced this before.

The food you pay for was good standard (but not cheap by Uganda standards) but the breakfast was woeful - there were even flies on the sausages and tomatoes! We were also woken very early by a loud gardener with a mower outside our window - despite our complaints nothing was done. Would not return to stay but would visit again for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samsungKampala, Owner at Cassia Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Normally I dont respond to reviews of customers.
I always do respect their personal -subjective- views.

However, in this case i feel obliged. I would like to emphasize that the client was informed in advance that Cassia Lodge was fully booked the second night. Only in case of any cancellation a room could be made available. This was communicated by phone and by email.
And the client reacted by mail, expressing his disappointment.

I admit that the gardener started cutting the grass around 9 am. But it was a Saturday morning, not a Sunday.
And keeping the compound clean is one of our priorities.

I would like to thank the client for appreciating the unique view and more especially the quality of the food.
Hope to see him back in Cassia very soon for a candle light dinner.

Johan Van Hecke
M.D. Cassia Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    87
    27
    10
    7
See reviews for
43
80
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here just for a night before leaving for Bwindi. Reached late night and the staff was helpful to check us in and carry our luggage to the room. The room was clean, nicely appointed, had shampoo, body wash, etc. in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The view from the room was nice. The breakfast could have more options and could have been better. The coffee was very good though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lira
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in Cassia Lodge for three full days and nights, after being in Lira for weeks.
It was a very pleassant stay.
Very good and clean room, good staf, nice service.
A fabulous view over lake Victoria and the city of Kampala.
The nice swimmingpool in which you can also enjoy the view.
And we enjoyed the excellent food so much!!! Every day we've been eating so much and so good.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who's coming to Kampala!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was staying in Sheraton in Kampala and had to move to Cassia Lodge family run hotel business, did not expect to find so idealic place in Kampala, its location is perfect and you one can just wish for
I stayed in Cassia Lodge for 6 nights and must admit I put on some weight..every single meal was so delicious and you just can't resist not to cleaned up the plate :)
Every single employee is so friendly but genuine friendly and you can feel when they smile is a real smile not a smile to extract a tips out of your pocket
The owners, Madam Els and her husband Mr Johan will make your stay so welcomed that you wish not to leave the place for many months..
I would recommend Cassia Lodge to any travaler who whishes to have a memorable brake in Kampala in any sence of the word

Alex Bibanovski
Dubai, UAE
alexbibanovski@yahoo.com

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed 14 days in Cassia Lodge. It was an ideal location near Kampala city. The Hotel has a great view of Lake Victoria especially at night when you see all the lights of Kampala. The rooms of the hotel are very nice and clean. There is also a pool with an amazing view. The food in Cassia Lodge is very good and more than that. people come all over Kampala tot eat in the restaurant and with the view of Lake Victoria at night it’s the best combination for a good meal. The staff is very professional and friendly! I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent some days in Kampala in between going on a safari and trekking in the Rwenzoris. Staying at Cassia Lodge was like an oasis in an otherwise fairly challenging holiday-programme. The staff was helpful and friendly, the rooms nice and clean, the view over the city and the lake is great, the breakfasts and the food in the hotel-restaurant was nice. I hope to come back some time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great view of Lake Victoria, Relaxing environment, quiet. Food was great. Rooms are just ok. I was there with a group and we all had some sort of problem, either broken air conditioner, clogged shower, broken toilet, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Lodge

Address: Plot 15 | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#3 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cassia Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassia Lodge is located on Buziga Hill, one of the highest hills of Kampala close to Lake Victoria. The environment is cool, with few mosquitoes, and an astonishing view on the lake as well as the city. Excellent international cuisine in a serene environment, conference facilities, business centre, wireless connection, large swimming pool, luxurious rooms with satellite television, bar and balcony overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cassia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.