We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, quiet stay, very reasonable prices...in heart of Kampala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ruch to your Saves list
Hotel Ruch
Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 62 Hotels in Kampala
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, quiet stay, very reasonable prices...in heart of Kampala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've stayed at Hotel Ruch off and on for the past three years. The staff are extremely friendly, make you feel at home, and the rooms are clean and quiet. The garden (currently undergoing renovations) in the back offers a quiet respite in the heart of Kampala. Location is great. The hotel used to have an Indian restaurant within the premises, which had the most amazing masala tea and palak paneer. The restaurant is no longer there, but within a 10 minute walk there are a myriad of places to eat. Room prices are very reasonable for downtown. If you're looking for a comfortable, secure, reasonably-priced and quiet place to stay near downtown Kampala, Hotel Ruch is such a place.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center; all rooms face garden. Great internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
8
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nyeri, Kenya
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My collegue & I were here in early June after seeing the facility on the internet and I must say the first impression one gets immediately you drive through is that of a derelict facility. some basic weeding of the pavement edges will do much. Things however lighten up at the reception where the staff is really nice and interesting. The breakfast is balanced but basic and the standard rooms are kinda small with no closets.

Location is excellent and I hope that the ongoing renovations in the garden will be extended to the hotel main building.

Room Tip: Avoid the standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thanks for the review, wamae. Good news, the weeds on the edges have in fact been worked upon. They were actually removed on the day of your departure. In fact, renovation has already been extended to the hotel main building albeit, only to the third floor. However, I believe you were not allocated these rooms as the renovated rooms were all occupied and are very popular as seen from our previous reviews.

In fact, the standard rooms are more than adequate for single persons, and despite the absence of a closet, there is a handy wall attached ledge / rack for clothes. The standard rooms are priced to reflect these facts, hence the pocket-friendly rate of $65 per night.

We DO have bigger rooms with closets at higher rates, these start at $90 per night.

There are significant savings of a standard room over other rooms i.e. A saving of over $25 per night. And I believe this was the reason for your choice of a standard room instead of our Deluxe rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Ruch for a week at the start of June 2012. The third floor had just been renovated. The room was mid-sized-small but spotlessly clean, with brand new bedding and with a nice view of the garden. At the time of my stay this was being landscaped and it should be a lovely, peaceful spot to hang out with a drink when it is ready (by the end of July 2012 probably). The hotel is quite central to town (about a 5-10 minute walk) but very quiet and on one of the hills of the city near a few of the very upscale hotels, banks, airline offices etc so great logistically. The staff are young, very warm and helpful and always available. Nothing was a problem for them to assist with. Breakfast is good and filling: eggs, toast, fruit, juices, cereals, tea and coffee. There is a bar but no restaurant on site that serves after breakfast. However there's a Chinese restaurant around the corner. No complaints at all - I will stay again! Great spot for a holiday base or to get some work done, the Internet was pretty fast and reliable too.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the third floor, which has recently been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Having found this hotel located in Nakasero through the internet and it was pretty clear to me, using Hotel Ruch as a base for my adventures in Kampala. It is a good choice in many ways.
I stayed twice this year with them and was very pleased about the friendly and helpful personnel
incl. Nandish (Mngr). I really like this place and will come again later this year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Even though Hotel Ruch was under construction during my stay, it was clean and quiet. The staff is friendly and kind, the breakfasts are delicious, and there is nowhere in the vicinity as reasonably priced. I'd recommend it to friends, and I recommend it to colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This was my first stay at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the attention of the staff. The service was excellent and friendly. The receptionist was especially helpful in guiding me in the right direction for a great evening dinner. I will be returning again within the month and know that I will be greeted once again with quality service and great smiles.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at the Hotel Ruch, the first being July 2010 on recommendation from a friend. As a field-based researcher, I have a small budget, so I was looking for low-cost alternatives for a couple of nights in Kampala. This hotel provides security and comfort at an affordable price and a great location. I booked a standard room (most inexpensive) via the website prior to my departure and was very pleased with the room. The free wireless internet is a bonus. The staff is very courteous and extremely helpful. They ordered me food from the complex next door and even delivered it to my room! If you are looking for luxury, then go to some of the surrounding hotels. But, if you are looking for a comfortable stay at a lower price, the I recommend the Hotel Ruch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruch

Address: Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 62 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruch offers a warm and relaxed African welcome you will relish. All rooms are en-suite, and facilities include ample parking space, A/C, Digital Satellite TV and 24/7 Wireless internet access. Relax in the Uzuri Gardens with a drink from "The Bonito" Bar at dusk. With the added benefit of a central Kampala location, we offer you a home away from home, where nothing is too much trouble and no corners are cut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Ruch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruch Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.