We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil place in the heart of Kampala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Ruch to your Saves list
Hotel Ruch
Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil place in the heart of Kampala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

A nice hotel near Kampala centre. Only 10 minutes walk to Kampala Road, but nevertheless very silent.
Very friendly staff, always open for a small talk. In case of any problems or questions very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
8
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I found this hotel through Trip Adviser two years ago and have now used it three times for short work trips to Kampala. It offers great value for $65 in an East African capital. The rooms are clean, bedding very good, and I have had a hot shower, though perhaps not all the time. The breakfast room has expanded to a small restaurant, which I had a surprisingly good in on my last trip. I work for a UK University and the hotel staff go out of their way to help me meet up with students including allowing me to book a small meeting room for interviews. The location is VERY central, walking distance to the city centre, though it is tucked away and make sure that your Taxi driver knows where it is. Lastly I have always felt safe there. No its not flash, buts it is a reliable, safe and clean and has good mossi nets.

Room Tip: basic 65$ is fine, though you pay extrea for AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011 via mobile

Apart from not a hot shower, a common issue with this hotel.....for $65, not bad at all.....free wireless, satelite tv, clean, mozzy net, wonderful Indian restaurant adjoining the hotel and very pleasant staff.....and you're smack bang in the business district.....I'll be back....pls just get the hot water fixed

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I'm a fairly well-travelled male and was extremely disappointed by Hotel Ruch. The staff are extremely friendly and the garden is also very nice. The rooms are definitely not worth what they are charging and overall, the hotel is in desperate need of a face lift. The TV and wifi were not working for the majority of my stay and everything seems to echo in the hotel, making it quite noisy. I would strongly suggest you stay elsewhere and have heard good things about Hotell Speke and the Imperial.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I had reserved at the Ruch based on the positive reviews and arrived late in the evening from Entebbe. I admit that my first reaction was to tell the driver to continue on to the Sheraton and I would have had he not been the Hotel Ruch driver! The hotel is very much second rate - dark, paint chipped, cement lobby and rooms. My first room had wiring held together by electrical tape; the second room that I was shown had a toilet that didn't work; the third room was OK, but the wi-fi signal didn't reach. I will say that the staff were extremely friendly and eager to please within the limits of what they had to work with. They tried very hard to convince me to stay when I expressed my disappointment.

After a minimal, uninspired breakfast, I checked out and fled to the Sheraton.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRuch, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
All 3 rooms you were shown were in good working condition, and you did not notify us of any issues in the rooms for your 8 night stay.

Secondly, we offer our rooms at low costs of $60 and less, therefore its difficult to provide 5* facilities for the price of a 3* Hotel.

5* hotels which are nearby go for the rate of $150+ exclusive taxes.

We always advise our clients to notify us of any problems as soon as they encounter them so that we can rectify them without any delay. However, in your case, no problems were reported to reception for your 8 night stay.

We at Hotel Ruch would have understood your concerns for 5* facilities and would have recommended suitable alternatives nearby, which would obviously have to be at a higher cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

With this being my fourth stay at Ruch, it is only appropriate that I give them a fair review. Was here with a few colleagues attending a conference in the nearby Sheraton. Ruch is great value for money, very quiet and the rooms me / my colleagues stayed in had a garden view which was nice. Excellent location, and the staff were very professional and friendly unlike other hotels i have stayed at. Breakfast is standard continental, the Restaurant seating area is not enough to be honest, but on the brighter side, you can have your Breakfast in the adjacent gardens!

Accommodation in Kampala is not cheap unlike Kenya, but you realize this after having had a few visits so word of advice, have an open mind on your first trip to Kampala. Almost forgot this, they have Free Wi-Fi with good reception in our rooms.

I would recommend this heartily to other people, try it out.

For $65 you would be silly not to!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Hotel Ruch (pronounced: Roach) is priced like a mid-range hotel (65$-150$), but feels like a 15$-20$ youth hostel. The rooms are beyond bland. Water damage drips from the ceiling. Bedsheets and blankets are all polyester. Mosquito nets have gaping holes and colorful stains. Breakfast looks like it was prepared for (and by) a geriatric diabetic. Everything always needs to be immediately settled in cash, but nobody ever has change. And when you overhear the manager on the phone, you get the feeling that hotel guests are little more than an inconvenient necessity in the hospitality business.
In all fairness, non-breakfast food is average, and the location isn't inconvenient. And as the hotel is so unpopular, you'll always get a room if you really need one...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruch

Address: Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruch offers a warm and relaxed African welcome you will relish. All rooms are en-suite, and facilities include ample parking space, A/C, Digital Satellite TV and 24/7 Wireless internet access. Relax in the Uzuri Gardens with a drink from "The Bonito" Bar at dusk. With the added benefit of a central Kampala location, we offer you a home away from home, where nothing is too much trouble and no corners are cut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Ruch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruch Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.