We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent mid-range Kampala hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Hotel Kampala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Metropole Hotel Kampala
Save
You added Metropole Hotel Kampala to your Saves list
Plot 51/53, Windsor Crescent | P.O. Box 22774, Kampala 7239, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Kampala
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Decent mid-range Kampala hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at the Metropole several times when doing business in the Garden City area (so that I could walk 15 minutes to the office rather than spend 30-45 in Kampala’s chronic traffic gridlock). So it was a convenient location for me; your reaction will depend on where you have to go in the city.

This is a decent, mid-range Kampala Hotel. Room are comfortable, air conditioning works (although you have to figure out the remote with Chinese characters). The public areas are quite nice. Wifi was spotty; I sometimes had to go to the lobby to connect. There are two restaurants in the hotel, but neither impresses. Apparently the Thai restaurant used to be quite popular among Kampala expats, but it has definitely gone downhill. Don’t even bother. The other restaurant (with outdoor seating) serves food that you can eat, which is the best I can say about it. (Rather take a “boda boda” motorcycle taxi to one of a couple of very good nearby restaurants, such as the Mediterraneo) Service is, to be charitable, leisurely - but at least friendly. My airport transfer one early morning was quite late; I thought I might be stranded until the driver finally arrived. However, compared to other hotels I’ve tried in Kampala, this is not bad, and prices are reasonable. I would stay here again if working in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
1
5
11
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Metropole Hotel is a very clean, presentable and comfortable facility for the mid range budget traveller. Their food is generally good, staff are warm, welcoming and helpful. The hotel is located just next door to Kampala golf course/club. For the golf lover, this is the perfect affordable and yet decent place for your stay. It is also just a walkable distance from the garden city & Oasis shopping malls with lots of services and entertainment like the Cineplex for movie freaks, Simba Casino, food courts and banks. Good health facilities like the Surgery & Kololo Hospital are close by just in case. I would not blame them much for their slow internet becuse this largely depends on the service providers in this region, they are a big let down to their subscribbers. Some, but not all their staff cause the slow service occasionally.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights when visiting our Kampala office colleagues.
+ The bed was fine.
+ had internet.
+ staff was nice
+ breakfast was good
+ thai restaurant had good food

- The toilet was very very cramped and had a very unusable design. The water from shower would splatter all over the toilet, toilet paper placement was awkward.
- they only had wired internet in the room, wifi in the lobby. Overall, the internet was slow.
- they used to take away every single piece of towels when we go to breakfast, and had to call them to get anything back before their usual time (which was hours later).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nice Room,spacious,Internet available though slow,good breakfast,excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Very clean and modern. No complaints. only stayed one night..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Pros:
- the room size was adequate
- food from the continental menu was good
- internet speeds were good - both in the room & in the lobby
- the bartender was good. he fixed me a non-alcoholic drink to relieve nausea due to turbulence
- i liked the breakfast options which changed daily

Cons;
- nastiest part; bed sheets were dirty!! the bed was well made but i was shocked to find stained & dirty bedsheets underneath. i had to call the reception 4 times & wait for more than 20 mins before someone came to change the sheets. the bed was also badly made up after that but id rather that than stained sheets!
- i tried the Thai food once & gave up as it was too salty
- my room was on the 1st floor but next to the outdoor restaurant. which means i had to keep the shades down otherwise people at the restaurant could have seen me walking in/out of the bathroom!
- shower doesnt have a curtain/door meaning water was all over the floor. you have to be real careful
- i only counted 9 channels..so its pretty boring if you're relying on TV
- on my 1st night guests couldnt sleep as music was loudly blaring from a party next to the hotel

next timei think ill stick to Golf Course Hotel.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the golf course & on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed here for one night after a late night arrival from Nairobi. I had always driven past it and decided to give it a try. All it took was a phone call and the pleasant front office staff booked me in.
On arrival I found I could only use a credit card subject to a 4% surcharge, so I paid in Uganda shillings. The staff were pleasant and efficient. The hotel is contemporary in design, a change in Kampala, and the lay out of the lobby was very nice complete with piano player.
My room on the third floor faced the golf course that wa obscured by trees. The air conditioner was not very effective and seemed to spark alot. Though there is an option to open the sliding doors onto the balcony and close a screen door to keep the mosquitoes out.
The bed was very comfortable, there was a TV with a few satellite channels, the fridge was empty.
The bathroom is very neat and well laid out. The shower did not have a door or curtain and thus water would splash all over the bathroom floor....very dangerous.
I had dinner on the terrace, which was rather deserted, though I get the feeling if it was not the easter weekend it would be packed with people, the ambience was great. I had a nice Thai curry.
The 5am wake up call was on time and the pre ordered continetal breakfast was delivered at 5.30am, though i must say the waiter looked pretty dishevelled, but was very couteous, like all staff at this hotel.
At $118 a night for bed and breakfast, this hotel is over priced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Hotel Kampala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Kampala

Address: Plot 51/53, Windsor Crescent | P.O. Box 22774, Kampala 7239, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropole Hotel Kampala overlooks the Uganda Golf Course and is located within the premium localities of Kampala, also known as the city of 21 Hills. Metropole Hotel Kampala is the pioneer in using IP Telephony infrastructure in the Hospitality industry in Africa. It is also equipped with high speed Wireless Internet connection in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Hotel Kampala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.