We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service very slow but food slightly above average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khana Khazana

Khana Khazana
20 Acacia Ave. | Kololo, Kampala, Uganda
041-4233049
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 196 Restaurants in Kampala
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Harlingen, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Service very slow but food slightly above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

In terms of service this restaurant is very slow, especially when busy. The food is very good to excellent which makes up for the wait and the small mishaps .. Overall I still prefer Haandi's although the Khana Khazana has a nicer setting.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    65
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced---although the food can be tasty. It is management that makes this such an unpleasant experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were a business group (4 including Chinese) staying at the Protea Hotel and this Indian restaurant is a 10 minute walk around the corner from the hotel. With main courses from 20,000 UGX it wasn't so expensive. Service was good, big menu and all the meal choices were excellent - and even the Chinese were impressed. Thursday night but it was crowded with a good mix of nationalities. I would go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hated this place. bad setup, bad service and worst food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Big name but worst than all. If you don't know Indian food and can eat just anything with Indian spices go ahead and enjoy.They have everything from east to west north to south listed on the menu which takes 10 minutes to browse. no specialty.
mandatory service charges not mentioned, prices exclusive VAT not mentioned on the menu.
I ordered Nihari they brought something which is not even close to Nihari, when i asked management was rude and disrespectful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampala, uganda
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“My favourite in small groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is by far the best Indian restaurant in town. I get the Butter chicken and palak panner most times and it is fantastic. The reshmi mushrooms is also a great option.
The service os always good although getting the bill can be slow and we can rarely read the writting.
My only bad experience was in a group of about 40 and the quality of food was poor.
I always come here when I feel like Indian food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khana Khazana also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Khana Khazana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khana Khazana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.