We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Finally somthing with spice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nando's

Nando's
Kampala Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 216 Restaurants in Kampala
Cuisines: Pizza, Fast Food, Hamburgers, Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Amazing, Finally somthing with spice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This restaurant is actually a chain, but its food does not taste chain. I recommend the chicken and rice. Its to live for.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    14
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good location, great ambiance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Did not like the chicken at all. Cannot compare it to other Nandos I have tasted in other countries. However, it is reasonably priced, staff are friendly and it is a great place with lots of people and lots of other eating places in the same complex.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Getting ripped off!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have always been a great fan of Nandos so whilst in Kampala my husband and I decided to try it out he ordered whole chicken large chips an large coleslaw they charged him 50,000 ugx, which at the time he thought a bit expensive but paid and left with our take away, the food was ok ish. One week later we decided to give it another chance,he ordered the same take away but looked at the menu in detail the whole chicken was 30,000 the chips were 4500 and the coleslaw was 6500 when it came to paying the shift manager said 50,000 so he said why ? the manager then pointed at the family menu which consisted of our precise order , priced at 50,000. my husband continued speaking to the manager and told him that he did not want the family menu he wanted the individual items as this would only cost him 41,000 the manager seemed adament that the bill is 50,000 so my husband decided to order the the same meal separately, he ordered just the whole chicken and then ordered the chips , after the seperate bills were registered he then ordered the large coleslaw in total he paid 41,000.The manager seemed a little peed off with my husbands way of ordering and my husband then explained in detail that the fact that he had done it this way was to prove that the same meal costs 2 different prices the manager eventually agreed and he paid 41,000 for the meal, a savings of 9000 ugx, Ugandan people are generally very fair and good people, far from rich I might add , but Nandos seem to think that they are foolish and can rip them off by at least the amount of money that could get you half way across the country on local transport. My husband is probably the first person to notice this injustice and a Ugandan man now behind him in the queue re ordered his meal next door at the pizza shop!! During the conversation the manager mentioned that we here to make a profit SHAME on you Nandos!!! Making a profit is one thing but ripping off hardworking decent Ugandans is a despicable and disgraceful act, By the way the coleslaw was larger than last weeks!!!!! And I will never use Nandos anywhere in the world again....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampala
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nandos”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just very bad. Fried, un-healty options only. This restaurant shares the same name as the popular Nandos, but the food is nothing like it. They serve a lot of fried chicken, pizzas and un-healthy food in this joint. The layout is also quite simple and basic. Would not recommend at all

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fake nandos!!! Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Attention all nandos lovers. This is a fake nandos restaurant. Dont go there!! The chicken we got was full of blood! We ordered hot and what we got totally blend. No sign of the peri peri taste. We asked the sauces and we were given some diluted ketchup.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nando's also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Nando's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nando's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.