We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic place but..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Namirembe Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Namirembe Guest House
Save
You added Namirembe Guest House to your Saves list
P.O. Box 14127 | Plot No. 1085, Willis Road, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 121 Kampala B&B and Inns
Nyeri, Kenya
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Scenic place but..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I have stayed at the Namirembe guest house a couple of times now & the 'million dollar' view is indeed real. The buffet is ok but the b/fast normally disappoints. The rooms need some serious upgrade but the staff & service is the best in Kampala!

Room Tip: Wait until they have finished refurbishing the block next to the reception before you can get a real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
9
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had one night in Kampala at the end of our trip and the Namirembe Guest House was all we needed it to be.

The rooms are reasonably sized with comfortable beds and a wall mounted fan to cool you down. The room and bathroom was very clean however the water pressure in the bathroom was very low which made showering a bit of a chore. That said, it's better than many people are fortunate to have in Uganda.

The food in the restaurant is cheap and good quality, both for dinner and breakfast. After the long drive it would have been nice to have a cold beer however as this is a Christian guest house it is alcohol free.

The terrace of the restaurant commands some great views over the city and a short walk up to the cathedral behind the guest house gives even better ones!

Cheap, clean and very cheerful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerffili
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed at this guest house again for 12 days in December. I have no complaints about the accommodation or the staff, who once again were helpful and friendly. From memory a single room is 72,000/- (ugandan shillings - currently around 3,750 to £1), and a double around 82,000/-. There are some rooms with 3 beds in; some are en suite, some aren't. I had some problems with sleeping, but not because of the accommodation, but again because of inconsiderate guests. I was told by the reception staff that I should have let them know. (They are now in a temporary office a short distance away). Incidentally, there is a security post at the gate with armed guard; also a small craft shop. You can buy cheaper at craft markets, but if you need to buy a gift in a hurry, this is handy.

The guest house is being renovated & extended. The accommodation on the site is in several large units. The most popular block is the one that is being extended. Please don't let this put you off going there. I stayed in a room next to the building site. Work did not start until 9am and was over by the time it was dark (I was never there earlier that this - 6.30pm). The area is kept immaculately clean - the staff work really hard to ensure that the place isn't even dusty outside.

There is a wide range of food items on the menu, which are freshly cooked for you and come steaming hot. There is also a buffet every lunch time and evening. Fridays are barbecue evening. Breakfast is between 7am and 9.30am. Again you can order omelettes freshly cooked and there is a range of other foods/fruit to choose from.

The only reason I have marked this as "very good" instead of "excellent" is that some of the staff have been laid off because of the building work. While the service is still very good, it can take a little longer than it used to for things you ordered to arrive. Compared to other places I've stayed, it is still much better. I am visiting Uganda again in April and will certainly book myself in here again even though I know the building work will still be continuing. Can I give a better recommendation than that?. .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

2 of us stayed for 20days...great experience for on a budget and needing just bare necessities for our missions stay. bed very comfortable and mosquito nets helped so much. Breakfast is at 7am, lunch about 1pm, and dinner 7pm.... breakfast free pay small fee for lunch and dinner. Clean towels daily and tiny bars of soap....showers worked hot/cold toilet flushed -refilled slowly...that was okay.... enjoyed the view and the closeness to Sanyu Babies home... always easy to get transportation... even had my laundry done twice!.... it is done the old fashion way, if sun isnt shinning your laundry wont be returned next day.... Enjoyed stay and enjoyed the food... lots of pineapple Yummy and beans rice veggies and potatoes and cooked green bannanas mashed... matoike I think... I liked it.... good variety... Soda Pop with metal caps and bottled water.....I would stay here again...Staff is extremely courteous and helpful; wonderful smiles and greetings always.. Friday nights are Special Bar-b que chicken pork and beef... never got sick on any of the food here.....ate lots of chips (thick french fries) oh so GOOD... Thanks to all at the Namirembe Guest House for a GREAT STAY..... also it is Christian based and play same music and have a room if you have large groups and want time for meetings or devotions just let them know time and day... they even will bring your food to you.... what service and enjoyment. THANKS AGAIN

Room Tip: great for person or groups on a budget and want nice accomadations and excellent food and service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerffili
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This is a Christian Guest House, owned by the Church of Uganda, so there is no alcohol for sale. I have stayed in Uganda 7 times now and during htis time I have stayed in 2 other guest houses in Kampala. This is by far the best. You have to remember that you are in a developing country though. In Uganda the pressure of water is weak so having water actually come through the showers is a bonus. This guest house had lots of hot water. It is immaculately kept and spotlessly clean.

The usual problems can arise, e.g. they have British electrical 3 pin sockets but the TV has 2 round pins. Because of this our plugs can slip in and out easily and so batteries don't always get charged, but I have found this to be the case everywhere. Like all the other hotels I have stayed in in Uganda, the walls are thin and in the Namirembe there are louvre windows above the room doors. Unfortunately, while we were there on this trip there were a group of very loud Americans who completely ignored the rule on the noticeboard to be considerate to other guests after 10pm and were obviously not capable of thinking of such a thing themselves.

The Namirembe shines because they really do have a magnifenct view over the city of Kampala as the hotel is situated on one of the hills surrounding the city. Be aware that not all of the rooms have this view though. However, the restaurant comprises tables out of doors from which you can leisurely enjoy the panoramic views, as well as indoor tables. Breakfast is beautifully presented and eggs / omelettes are cooked fresh and hot to order. It is possible to have lunch and evening meals there too. On Fridays they have a barbecue. The meals are kind of Ugandan, but with Chips on offer too. You serve yourself from a buffet unless you are having a meal off the menu. Again, I have not had any stomach upset whilst staying at the NGH. Service is excellent, especially from a young waiter called Mike, who really tries to give you his best for the hotel in a friendly but polite manner.

There are very few rooms with double beds, though there are plenty of twin rooms and single rooms and a few family rooms. Some have verandahs overlooking the city and all are en suite. The best place I find is in the hotel above reception, but this is upstairs. There are various buildings of different styles on the grounds. They have a Business Centre with Internet facilites, a hairdressing salon, a juice cafe and the restaurant. There is even a small craft shop onsite.

A twin room costs 82,000/- per night for bed and breakfast and a single costs 72,000/-. (Currently the exchange rate is good for us - almost 4,000/- to the £) This is excellent value for excellent service, excellent food and a fantastic view. I certaily will go there for the foreseeable future and I go a couple of times a year with the charity I represent.

Room Tip: Room in main building above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Geared for modest travelers, the Namirembe GH is connected with the Namirembe ( Anglican ) Cathedral next door. It is popular with missionaries, volunteers and backpackers. Basic accommodation in a great location only 10 minutes from the centre of the city or to Makarere University.. Has a wonderful view of the city from the restaurant patio. Clean and secure. Receptionist Josephine is particularly friendly and helpful. Ask for a room not looking down towards the National Mosque because of the early morning call to prayer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

A bit isolated, not much within walking distance. It's comfortable, with average food. Dinner is a buffet and not served until 7PM, which can be a problem. The views are great, but it overlooks the Gaddafi Mosque and the 5AM prayer calls are hard to sleep through. As it's a Church of Uganda Guesthouse it seems to be mostly frequented my Missionaries and is probably not the best place for tourists. But it was comfortable and relaxing overall.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Namirembe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namirembe Guest House

Address: P.O. Box 14127 | Plot No. 1085, Willis Road, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Namirembe Guest House Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namirembe Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.