We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfull attitude” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Prestige Hotel Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Prestige Hotel Suites to your Saves list
The Prestige Hotel Suites
Plot 9 Lumumba Avenue | Nakasero, Kampala 6219, Uganda (Formerly Prestige Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Kampala
Timisoara
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awfull attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

These apartments are actually quite decent, and the location is very good. I had a colleague who stayed there, and recommended the place. The problem (like everywhere in Uganda) is the "muzungu tax". Owners can easily double the price just based on your skin colour. After many many many hours of negotiations, we finally agreed on the price and I've moved in. First problem: they gave me an apartment on the first floor even if the building was almost empty. That particular apartment was very dirty, with old and damaged furniture. I knew that the apartments from the upper floors look way better and they promised that I will get a better one the next day in the morning. After a night of battling cockroaches and mosquitoes (no bed net), I was quite eager to move my stuff to another apartment. But then - surprise! Apparently, for that price that I have negotiated, I could only get that crappy apartment. I was quite pissed, so I decided to pay for that night and find another place. First shock: the price for one night is 160$. Ok... no big deal, but they didn't want to give me a receipt. I called the manager and told him that I'm not paying if I don't get a receipt, so he was really upset and ordered the armed security guards not to let me leave. Eventually my company called him, and the receipt appeared miraculously, but even after I have payed, the security would still not let me leave. I called the manager again and threatened to call the police. His answer was very interesting: "Call whoever you want. They can't do anything...". Eventually, my company called him again, and I was allowed to leave. Definitely not a pleasant experience. With this kind of attitude, no wonder that the place was almost deserted. I suspect that I could have avoided all that by simply paying twice the normal price as the manager requested at the beginning (and why not? It's a well known fact that all white people are filthy rich...)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRuch, Manager at The Prestige Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
To put the facts right, this guest completed a night at the apartments and wanted to leave without payment, threatened our staff severely; put up all sorts of excuses and displayed rogue-like behavior and eventually security had to get involved and a manager from a sister site had to be called in to deal with him.

We don't determine prices based on skin colour - the price is the same irrelevant of race, color, religion or nationality. Prices are in black and white for all to see at reception, and you were given a rate leaflet with the same before check-in.

Secondly, the client was allocated that apartment as he specifically requested a lower floor apartment.

Thirdly, all apartments have anti-mosquito nets on the windows, hence we don't provide nets. Its very probably that the client left the windows open without sliding the nets into place. All apartments are fumigated monthly to make sure vermin are exterminated effectively.

Fourth, you had already negotiated a price before check-in as you mentioned in earlier, so we don't exactly understand what shock you might be referring to. And the rate was $110 per night, and you were issued with a receipt for the same which is in your possession as well.

And fifth, we turn over a huge number of guests every month, all of whom are very happy with the services, location, and staff present here as the previous two reviews show.

We would appreciate it if next time you would write a review filled with facts, and not make-believe because you had to pay for the night you spent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I have stayed here a few times. The appartments are spacious, most (all?) have a balcony. It is a really good location assuming you want to be very near the centre but somewhere fairly quiet.

Sitting rooms are comfortable, bedrooms small but quite sufficient. There is also a kitchen area as part of the sitting room with enough of what you need for a few days stay and more. There is lots of parking space and a fairly bleak swimming pool.

As is common in Uganda it can be a challange to get something in the room repaired properly and there is no attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equality, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

This modern and safe five story apartment hotel is in the heart of Kampala. The staff is friendly, the service very good. Furnished kitchen included microwave, blender, toaster, dishes, and pots and pans.

You are near the Embassy of France, Denmark and Serbia, and the statehouse is nearby.

Good Chinese across the street and Faze2, an upscale eatery around the corner.

Very nicely furnished rooms and comfortable beds. A really good bargain for upscale place.

Don't miss 1000 Cups Coffee House two blocks down the hill.

Cable TV and wireless internet!!!

  • Liked — location, safety, staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ruch
Hotel Ruch
#54 of 75 in Kampala
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Afrique Suites Hotel
Afrique Suites Hotel
#24 of 75 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Biraj International Hotel
Biraj International Hotel
#33 of 75 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Urban by CityBlue, Kampala, Uganda
0.5 mi away
The Mackinnon Suites
The Mackinnon Suites
#46 of 75 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#20 of 75 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prestige Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prestige Hotel Suites

Address: Plot 9 Lumumba Avenue | Nakasero, Kampala 6219, Uganda (Formerly Prestige Apartments)
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prestige Hotel Suites in Kampala is a luxurious hotel in central Kampala within the Nakasero area. Unlike other hotels in Kampala , our spacious rooms include both a Kitchenette and an extended lounge. All hotel suites have been tastefully decorated with modern furniture and fittings and have been designed to cater for the needs of the modern Business Traveler who is looking for more than just a hotel in Kampala. Each hotel room has an an extended lounge, air-conditioning and a balcony over-looking Kampala. All amenities necessary for a comfortable stay, including a fully equipped Kitchen for those who prefer to dine in-house are available. The Prestige Hotel Suites is a hotel in central Kampala conveniently situated between the French and Danish Embassies on Plot 9 Lumumba Avenue, Nakasero, a prime and central location. The hotel is only a min's walking distance from Rwenzori Courts, Commercial Court, Central Police Station, and Kampala Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Prestige Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prestige Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.