We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved banda inns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banda Inns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Banda Inns to your Saves list
Banda Inns
2497 Lubbobbo Close | off Tank Hill Road, Kampala 3785, Uganda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 106 Kampala B&B and Inns
nijmegen
1 review
“we loved banda inns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

It was a pleasure to be in Banda Inns , steven and asteria en the crew were verry helpfull and kind, we felt save and everything was possible.
when we come back to Kampala we come again, because it felt warm, familiair and
like home, so i thank you verry much for your hospitality and the good service.

with love from holland sjaak en mariek

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    32
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
20
32
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

I can't understand what all the rave reviews are about- this place is OK- certainly nothing special. It reminded me a lot of old fashioned school dorms. The shower cubicle was plastic and rickety and without hot water.
We were only here for the night- arriving late and leaving early next morning- I wouldn't have wanted to linger

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley lancashire england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

a really friendly place where straight away you feel at home. you can relax around the place, go for a wander locally etc and the owners and staff trat you more like a friend than a visitor. really good place to chill out and get a taste of the real uganda and it's people

  • Liked — great homelyfeeling
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

I hadn't been to Uganda in 5 years and was looking for a decent place to stay when I stumbled upon Banda. Located in the Muyenga suburb, Banda has pretty every amenity thinkable. Steve promptly answered all my questions prior to and during my stay and the office and kitchen staff were amazing. The rooms are cleaned and laundry done daily - thanks, Janet (just be sure to leave your room key at the office). The only meal I had here was breakfast(A+) but I noticed in previous reviews that there were requests for more food variety...during my stay, there was actually a chef preparing meals so its good to know that the management also reads these reviews. The rooms are well-decorated and lit and though there are mosquito nets installed, its advisable to have some repellant or insecticide for back-up. They accept paypal as a payment method + provide wi-fi internet. All-in-all, Banda gives any hotel in the city a run for their money at just a fraction of the cost.

  • Liked — wi-fi, friendly staff, easy pay through paypal and good communication
  • Disliked — water pressure in showers
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nomad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

I have stayed in this B&B for few days. It is a nice B&B. I recommend the traveler to book this B&B when they go to Uganda. And also Uganda is also a peaceful country in East Africa.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

We just recently stayed at this guest house and had a pleasurable experience. The owners are very accommodating and go out of their way to help. The food was prepared by the staff and was delicious and reasonably priced. We often decided to stay in (instead of going out to a restaurant) just to enjoy the yummy grilled tilapia, seasoned potatoes and fresh vegetables. The rooms are basic, but what we enjoyed most was the upstairs balcony. It was the perfect place to relax, read and soak up the sunlight. The kind staff would also bring breakfast up to us on the balcony every morning. We were greeted with a friendly smile, omelets, bacon, tea, coffee, fresh fruit and yogurt. Side note: If you enjoy brewed coffee opposed to instant-you must bring your own. If you are looking for luxurious accommodations you will want to go elsewhere. If you are looking for clean, inexpensive, modest accommodations with excellent service then try this guesthouse. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, great owners, home away from home
  • Disliked — neighbors dogs barking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Great hosts, great rooms, great staff, great meals - what more could you want.

If you're coming to Kampala for the first time like me, I recommend the lovely Banda Inns where you can enjoy a peaceful rest in a warm and welcoming environment.

  • Liked — The hosts and staff
  • Disliked — There was some noise from dogs in the neighbourhood, but I expect it was quiet compared with other areas of Kampala.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banda Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banda Inns

Address: 2497 Lubbobbo Close | off Tank Hill Road, Kampala 3785, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Bed & Breakfast in Kampala. Peaceful and quiet neighborhood, ideal for holiday or business trips. Short distance and easy access to town. Many restaurants in the neighborhood. Full breakfast and laundry included in all prices. Airport pick-up also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Banda Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banda Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.