We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banda Inns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banda Inns
Save
You added Banda Inns to your Saves list
2497 Lubbobbo Close | off Tank Hill Road, Kampala 3785, Uganda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 121 Kampala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for over a week, and as my wife runs a Hotel in DRC, i know what it takes to create and Sustain Good Value. This bb has got it right. Simple, Clean, safe and straight forward. Simply, its Good Value

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    34
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
20
33
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My hubbie and I recently stayed here at the start and finish of 2 weeks of visiting family. It was absolutely the best place to chill out at both ends of our hols. The rooms are lovely, the water plentiful and the breakfast the best anywhere in Uganda. It's also a great place to meet other travellers,have a chat on the veranda and exchange information. The location is super for getting into the city easily and we really appreciated the pick up very late at night from Entebbe. Steven and his staff go out of their way to be accommodating and it really did feel like we were staying in a family environment. This is THE place to stay if you're in Kampala, forget faceless hotels and engage with Ugandan hospitality in a unique setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Lilongwe, Malawi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Memorable experience. tranquil, lovely gardens and friendly staff and the food was great! within easy easy access to restaurants, forex bureau and other small shops.

i visited Uganda from Malawi in March, 2013. Banda Inns provided a relaxed atmosphere for me after an intensive day at work or upon return from a few days field trip outside kampala.food was freshly cooked by friendly staff not forgetting the fresh fruit juice!

when i wanted to eat out i would easily access restaurants within a few minutes walking distance with colleagues. During weekends i would walk in the neighbourhood and later did some work if needed, on the pattio overlooking their beautiful gardens. Public transport, forex bureau and other small shops are also within minutes' walk.

Their free wifi provided excellent signal and i was able to easily access emails and skype call my friends and family back home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent several nights recently at Banda Inns. We had two rooms in the main area of the guesthouse. Rooms were clean but were hot at night - the ceiling fans in both rooms gave very little relief at night. I suspect that the newer addition to Banda has more modern and better ventilated rooms. Bathrooms were decent, the one room with self contained bath did have a leaky shower and the toilet backed up (toilet was taken care of right away). I would stay there again but would specifically ask for a room in the new addition. (ours did not look anything like the photos posted by a previous guest). We only had breakfast there and it was decent, eggs fixed to order, nice selections of fruits and bread.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

2 nights at this little haven in Kampala was not enough. It's in a peaceful suburb location with friendly staff and great facilities - clean rooms, seating area with TV, great wifi signal, and the best breakfast I had during my 2 weeks in Uganda in a lovely garden setting. I stayed in one of the rooms with shared bathroom and was so pleased with the large, spotlessly clean bathroom. I am not sure how many rooms share this bathroom but I imagine not many, I certainly never had to wait. And after losing my luggage I desperately needed some laundry done - it was taken at 10am and returned to me at 4pm all washed and dried that very same day. My only regret was not staying there for longer!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

my husband and I spent two weeks in kampala and banda inss was a perfect place for our holiday; excellent value for money, comfortable and beautiful gardens! the only thing I was missing were baked beans for breakfast

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I had to go to Kampala on business and the main client was within walking distance so he chose where I was to stay. If you need to be in the centre of all the NGO's and have a quiet spot this is it!!

It is a clean & comfortable spot with a garden setting. It is owner run, the breakfast is great. I tried a number of different dinners while staying there for the week and all were good.

There is a great coffee shop 5 mins walk away if you need a great cappuccino try Care Kawa.

There is unlimited free FAST wifi as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banda Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banda Inns

Address: 2497 Lubbobbo Close | off Tank Hill Road, Kampala 3785, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Bed & Breakfast in Kampala. Peaceful and quiet neighborhood, ideal for holiday or business trips. Short distance and easy access to town. Many restaurants in the neighborhood. Full breakfast and laundry included in all prices. Airport pick-up also available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banda Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.