We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kampala Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kampala Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kampala Serena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I frequently travel to Africa and Serena Hotels are my preferred choice. Out of all Serena Hotels, I distinguish Kampala Serena. I cannot find a single issue to mention: great people, great service, great food, great rooms, a huge gym and a very nice pool... Even greater, they also have something new to offer. For example, they've just changed their in-room entertainment solution improving greatly the TV quality (the TV channels had quite bad quality previously) and the services you can get on TV. They also started organizing thematic evenings and I've experienced the fish buffet last week with very interesting tastes.

Kampala Serena is not a cheap hotel to stay, but on the other hand you really get the feeling that they deserve their price.

Room Tip: select the rooms facing the lake (front side) that have a great view, but note that there are numero...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    67
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
40
30
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rishikesh, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Lobby and pool was gorgeous but, room was not super impressive for the money that we paid. There are many different restaurant options which was nice and the brunch which was included in the rate was "to die for". The brunch in itself was like a feast. Rooms were clean with large bathrooms. Our room had a view of the building next door so, nothing too impressive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

There are many detailed reviews on the Serena, all pretty much on the mark. I echo their positive evaluation. If you must be in Kampala, this is the place to be. Room, food, drink, spa, haircuttery, pool grounds, bravo. Loved the internet.

Two quibbles. I had a terrible time getting my TV u and running, but they did get there eventually. The split pack a/c compressor is mounted on a shaded balcony, whichhacts as a reverbation chamber for its noise -- a bit annoying if you are noise-sensitive.

Oh yeh, the brekkie egg crew has it down pat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a great hotel, which stands comparison with any hotel in any city; the fact that is in the heart of a congested, flithy and poor city whose infrastructure has collapsed after decade of inept government is astonishing (though it should be said that the politicians, civil servants and middle men who have gorged on corruption are the only locals who can afford to enjoy the hotel.)

There are many pluses. It is set in rolling gardens. The architecture is elegant. The staff are polite, professional and seem, genuinely, to be pleased and proud to be working there. The pool is terrific. The gym and spa could be an expensive health club in London. The rooms are modern and totally quiet, thanks to first class safe proofing. The television has dozens of channels. Room service is fast and good value. The business centre is open 24/ 7 and has a fast and reliable Internet connection, which is unusual in Uganda.

But this sounds like an advert.

If I must criticise then I would say the food is average. The fast and cheapest restaurant, which serves the usual selection of soups, salads, burgers, meat and fish dishes and desserts, is unremarkable. The fine dining restaurant would not last long in city where there was real competition.

These are minor points.

Overall, a terrific hotel, mainly because of a professional and motivated staff.

Room Tip: You would be unlucky if you had a problem because the rooms are uniformly excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is amazing! there are 4+ places to eat on site plus 24/7 room service. The food is healthy and tasty. Internet is included and pretty good. there is also a 24 hour business center that is well staffed.
The hotel has a separate conference center. A really nice spa. As well the gym is definitely the best hotel gym that I have ever seen. There is a trainer onsite to assist as well, the gym has at least 2 classes per day Mon-Friday.
Rooms are kept clean and well maintained. Pool is gorgeous.
Service was beyond belief.
on the downside, excessively posh especially for a development worker, which the hotel seems to cater to largely. My colleague had an interesting incident when one of the hotel staff showed up at her room late at night to ask if she needed turn down service.
Otherwise, I would recommend this hotel for its location, customer service and great amenities.

Room Tip: Also try Pearl of Africa restaurant in the hotel on the 2nd level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had a very quick stop-over in Kampala for a business event. After 5 nights at the Serena Nairobi, I was definitely impressed by Kampala. The have an incredibly large property, which allows for fantastic grounds, pools, recreation facilities, and other amenities. However, other elements which you would expect to be similar, such as rooms and service, were also a step-up from Nairobi or Mombasa Serena. The room was larger, but yet cleaner and more modern. I was also impressed by the exceptional quite in the rooms; no noise from outside, the elevators, or other rooms. A very nice place to get a good night’s sleep as a result. As I mentioned, no complaints whatsoever. I also always appreciate a hotel that has taxis available all the time, and can charge the room directly, which often makes things simpler when on a rushed trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ate and drank here in November on business. Dined at the Italian restaurant where I was served an extremely poor spaghetti carbonara which in fairness they did replace with a pizza when I sent it back after a few mouthfuls. The manager came out and they dealt with it very well, but a really poor dish was on the menu in the first place.

Before that, I had a very pleasant couple of drinks by the poolside. A good place to escape from the very shabby hotel my work had placed me in!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kampala Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Serena Hotel

Address: P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kampala Serena Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspirational blend of 5-star polish and pan-African panache, this world-class hotel will showcase the cream of Ugandan culture while delivering the ultimate in personalized service, international cuisine, social style and business reliability. The hotel has free wireless internet as well as international cuisine spiced up with an African cuisine. The best business hotel in Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kampala Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kampala Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.