We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot for an overnight stay but a bit overpriced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emin Pasha Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Emin Pasha Hotel to your Saves list
Emin Pasha Hotel
27 Akii Bua Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Kampala
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
224 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Nice spot for an overnight stay but a bit overpriced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I spent a night at the Emin Pasha during a recent business trip to Uganda. It was a nice enough spot for an overnight stay. The location is quite good, near the city center but located on some very quiet back streets in an upmarket part of the city, well out of the chaos and traffic. The reception area is very modest but the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and well furnished, including a desk and free Wifi. Everything was clean, tidy, and appeared well-maintained. The AC unit unfortunately didn’t work, making a huge racket and causing all the lights to dim as it tried to turn on. There is no gym at the hotel however, they provide free use of the gym at the nearby Protea Hotel and even provide transport there. The breakfast buffet was decent however it wasn’t ready on time and I ended up leaving before it was even fully set up.

All up I had a good stay at the Emin Pasha, however at $180 I thought it was way overpriced for what it was – a mid-range hotel. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Emin Pasha Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while in Kampala and for taking time to write a review for us.Your feedback is important in helping us serve your better.We look forward to making your stay much more memorable next time.Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    17
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
8
21
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were both sad and angry by the time we left this hotel. As other reviewers state, it is indeed an oasis of calm in a frenetic city, and it could be a great boutique hotel, but is marred by poor housekeeping and poor service. The junior suite that we had was fine but bulbs were blown or missing, one bedside lamp missing entirely, the mosquito netting torn, the toilet seat broken, and the lovely large bath would only fill with dark brown water, despite running for ten minutes. The staff at breakfast were downright hostile, and in general the male staff just seemed angry at having to wear silly red fez's and with one or two exceptions the female staff seemed as if they just wanted to be at home looking after the kids.

We complained to the manageress, who listened sympathetically and offered us a free couples massage. The spa was tatty and one of the two masseuses turned up 20 minutes late because it rained, but the massage was good and the gesture appreciated.

Some things improved after that, so the bath water ran clear, but stone cold. Getting a menu and some food ordered by the pool was a 90 minute ordeal, and when it arrived the drink was not as ordered and the club sandwich did not belong to any club that I recognised. We were charged $19 for those two items plus iced water, which was also charged as an extra.

What made us more angry than anything was that the checkout time was apparently 10am, a ridiculously early time, and when we asked to checkout at midday were informed we would be charged an extra half day. We refused and they reluctantly accepted. On checkout we had been charged for a dinner that we did not have, which was grudgingly removed without apology, and told that our extras bill would be charged at a poorer conversion rate to the USD than our room charge. The $18.25 for our extras was then rounded up to $19. The net effect of being fleeced by both the dollar exchange rate and the conversion may have been relatively small financially, but as I explained to the receptionist left me feeling that the hotel was simply stealing from its customers. He was unable to explain a reason for the policy and simply did not seem to care.

We generally much prefer to stay at small individual hotels than large chains, but would never wish to return to this place again, nor would recommend that anyone else does.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Emin Pasha Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while in Kampala and for taking time to write a review for us.Your feedback is important in helping us serve your better.We look forward to making your stay much more memorable next time.Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

small as it is, the Emin pasha hotel is a place to be, located in the quiet part of the city, it encompasses good service delivery and perfect service providers.
their spa actually is the best in the country with experienced therapists and by the time you are done with the service, you are totally stress free.
i was offered a 15minutes foot massage on arrival at the hotel. and when i walked in to the spa,the relaxing atmosphere alone was enough to make me feel at home.
the staff are so social and the services perfect.
the hotel is just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Emin Pasha Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.We are glad you had a wonderful time at Emin Pasha Hotel.We look forward to having you again.Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The Emin Pasha tries very hard to position itself as Kampala's high-end "boutique" hotel.
While I cannot comment on accommodations, their so-called "Spa" is in no way high-end and disappointed me big time:

I had booked one of the advertised packages including the use of steam-room, sauna and pool, coming with a small discount. To start with, this discount was disputed upon starting my "Spa"-experience.

The whole Spa section is in bad shape (somehow camouflaged with unhappy decoration attempts), cleanliness is doubtful. It also appears to be the preferred hang-out for various hotel staff members, constantly popping in for a good chat and socializing with their colleagues. No quiet, no tranquillity.

The "steam-room" turned out as a tiny plastic cabin crammed into a cellar room, electric installations falling off the walls all over. I was informed that there is no locker room and I could change in the toilet!

While it was already after 11am, there was still cleaning going on in the pool - not very inviting for a swim. The only shower available was ice cold.

All this is a good example for missed potentials and questionable management: the tropical gardens at Emin Pasha are beautiful and well kept, the location ideal. Why then is it not possible to run a proper Spa??

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Emin Pasha Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while in Kampala and for taking time to write a review for us.Your feedback is important in helping us serve your better.We look forward to making your stay much more memorable next time.Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Small but good location for Kampala as quite and very relaxing. Food excellent and service good. One of the few hotels in Kampala where mostly residents get minimal interruptions from none residents.
The Spa adds to all above. Plus the lounges are great for easy reading
Am going there again next year to stay longer

Room Tip: All rooms are good as small hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Emin Pasha Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
What an excellent review! Thank you so much for taking time to review and share your experience.We look forward to seeing again soon.Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Emin Pasha is an oasis in Kampala, this is for sure. However, the accommodation does not hold what the gardens promise, esp. at that price.

Pros:
- great garden and pool area
- very good restaurant
- very friendly and helpful staff
- comfy bed
- nice breakfast
- nice spa

Cons:
- rooms are very small and not very functional, esp. for business travellers, no space to put your documents
- rooms are on the darker side
- bathrooms need shower curtains or something else to avoid flooding every time you shower
- I was in several rooms (in between trips upcountry) and almost every one had an issue: badly functioning or noisy aircon, only very hot (!) water, impossible to shower
- cleaning so lala, and items missing, such as no hangers, no hygiene paper etc.

All no big deals in itself but for the prices charged, an upgrade is needed!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Emin Pasha Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out to write this review.We apologise for the things that didn't meet your expectations.We promise to put these factors into consideration.We value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We spent 2 weekends at the Emin in Feb.2012 and loved it so much that we will do the same when we visit this year in April 2013. We ate there in July 2013 but didn't stay.
The staff made us feel so special after we ourselves had been working amongst prople who needed so much love and care.We felt guilty yet rewarded for our time spent with the less fortunate working with CRANE Children at Risk Network Action.
The place is an oasis and tranquil in the midst of the husstle and bussle of a very busy city.
It has a wonerful resturant perfect for entertaining friends, a beautiful garden with sun beds/coaches to die for and a sparkling clean swimming pool. What more can one want.
We might try the fitness center this time!

Room Tip: The garden rooms are very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Emin Pasha Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We are glad that you tasted a bit of heaven at our hotel.Thank you for taking time to write the review.We look forward to hosting you next time you are in Uganda and yes pls try our fitness center this time.Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emin Pasha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emin Pasha Hotel

Address: 27 Akii Bua Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Emin Pasha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emin Pasha Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emin Pasha Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.