We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden of Eden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emin Pasha Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Emin Pasha Hotel to your Saves list
Emin Pasha Hotel
27 Akii Bua Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Kampala
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Garden of Eden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel and grounds are beautiful. You feel as if you've walked in to the Garden of Eden. When I first checked in the staff were expecting me and already knew my name. I was taken to my large room (Room 5) and was welcomed by a personalized letter addressed to me by the Manager and fresh cookies.
The double bed was enclosed by a mosquito net, but the 'double bed' was actually two twin beds pushed together. The beds were very hard as well.
The room was furnished with a big plush chair, a desk, mini fridge, A/C, and TV (with about 20 stations). The WiFi in the rooms was also excellent, and free (thank you very much!).
The bathroom was also large and supplied with bath robe, slippers, shampoo, soap, and lotion. The shower was lovely (no tub).
All in all, Room 5 was lovely and large! That said, I left Kampala for a couple days and returned for one more night at Emin Pasha. This time I was placed in Room 9. It was tiny and the only place to watch television was on the bed (the chairs couldn't be moved because the room was too small). The bathroom was tiny as well and didn't have a shower (only a tub). If I stay here again I'll be sure to ask for Room 5. (Although I had a smaller room, it was the same price as the large one! It would have been nice to pay less as this place isn't cheap.)
The restaurant had delicious foods, but a bit limited. I would have liked to see a vegetarian main entree, for example. But the meals I did have were rich and delicious. They have a set menu for breakfast. Again, very good, but would have liked to have just a fruit option instead of all the heavier items.
The service was excellent. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
I also would recommend the spa. I received a wonderful massage. Well worth the money! The pool area is also a must. I enjoyed a nice day by the pool before getting my massage. It was the perfect way to spend a Sunday.
It's also close to the middle of town, so while you'll still have to deal with Kampala traffic jams, maybe you'll spend less time in them because of the good location of Emin Pasha.
Overall I enjoyed my stay at Emin Pasha and hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    17
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
8
21
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Didn't stay here but made use of the spa day package they offer.

For 65,000 UGX you get:

- 25min back, arm and head massage
- 25k of food/drink from the restaurant (I.e a sandwich and a drink)
- use of the hotel pool all day

A great deal!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Its not bad, but for that price, they can do a lot better. I stayed in December 2012 for 1 week.
The staff is very friendly but not very efficient. The restaurant is OK but nothing exceptional, the menu is very limited so don't use the restaurant every night and lunch. Breakfast is not good, they have a set menu and some sort of buffet (mainly bread and muffins). So you can't do the usual hotel BF mix.
Internet works fine, rooms are quite large and well equipped (had a coffee machine in my room) but the bed was very hard, I had terrible back pains every morning and I never have any issues with my back.
THEY CHARGE 7% FEE ON CREDIT CARDS !!! That's just crazy, not sure it's even legal. That is one good reason NOT to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had wanted to go here for dinner for a while since it looked nice and was described as Kampala's only boutique hotel, only to be utterly disappointed. The dinner, even though it looks great from the menu, just isn't it. The portions are small and things like the tiramisu dessert don't resemble what they are supposed to be at all. To top it off, once you get the bill you suddenly realize this place is way overpriced, easily twice or three times as expensive as similar restaurants where the food is better. Annoyingly, like some other up-scale places in Uganda do as well, they do not include the VAT and service charge in the menu prices, so be aware that there is an additional 25% coming to your bill. Not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria British Columbia Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

After loving the Spa & in particular the Massage Rooms and facilities, during long stays in Kampala in 2009, 2010, 2011, things went downhill in early 2012 after the HOTEL HAD SOLD, previously owned by Canadian/Ugandan People whose attention to cleanliness and details like filling up soap bottles, shampoo bottles and ensuring hot water in showers in Spa. Our visits in 2012 were disappointing and will surely affect the incomes of the massage therapists and spa attendants who will not be receiving our buisness due to not being able to have a hot shower or access the above ammenities due to the decline in attention to those details. In addition to the Spa the main lobby used to offer current reading material such as, The Eye, a tourist infomation publication so important to visitors. These are free to hotels and there was only one which they kept behind the counter, and all the mags. and books were at least 2 yrs. old and not of value. The attitude of the lobby staff had changed...they did not understand the need to have these reading materials available to guests. I cannot comment on the rooms as have not stayed as a guest but do know that the prices are extremely high and without hot water and previous services in place, that this wonderful old colonial hotel will go down in popularity. The washrooms available to dining guests were unclean and lacking in proper materials. The nightly live entertainment offered previously had been reduced to a couple of nights per week and the usual presence of the previous owners at meal times was noteably not there. One can only hope that reviews like this will be noted and a quality control person will be put into place before more customers like our group of 6 stop dining, swimming and partaking of spa services on a weekly basis.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erce, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

this is the best hotel so far in uganda people the green gardens alone make you want to stay in Uganda for like ages and then the quietness as if that's not enough the classic food great food and the smiling faces of the people around. then back in my room there is this fast running internet and all over the hotel. i also had a chart with the new general manager (Hennie it was lovely meeting) who informed that the rooms by October 2012 they will have coffee machines and and i pads for the suits pple emin pasha hotel is then one of the best i just cant believe if you doubt me please try and stay for one night.

Room Tip: rooms on the southside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My second visit to Emin Pasha was even more wonderful than my first. This time, I returned to see all the friends there on the staff who had been so kind on my first visit.

Apart from the warmth of its hospitality the hotel is still a lovely place to be...chic and calm, with so many separate living/sitting areas both indoors and out...lovely pool and gardens, all very elegant and peaceful yet homely and comforting too.

And the food... so, so good. Nile perch, East African curries...wonderful fruit...all very African - modern and superb.

I travel a lot in both South and North Africa and rack-up numerous hotel stays in both: Uganda can be proud that in a in a country which is far less trodden by tourists than say, South Africa or Morocco, it has this world class hotel, and one which can certainly compare with the best hotels in Cape Town and Marrakech, in its capital city.

Thank you Emin Pasha.

I can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Emin Pasha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emin Pasha Hotel

Address: 27 Akii Bua Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Emin Pasha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emin Pasha Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emin Pasha Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.