We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emin Pasha gone downhill since ownership change in early 2012.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emin Pasha Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Emin Pasha Hotel to your Saves list
Emin Pasha Hotel
27 Akii Bua Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Victoria British Columbia Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Emin Pasha gone downhill since ownership change in early 2012.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

After loving the Spa & in particular the Massage Rooms and facilities, during long stays in Kampala in 2009, 2010, 2011, things went downhill in early 2012 after the HOTEL HAD SOLD, previously owned by Canadian/Ugandan People whose attention to cleanliness and details like filling up soap bottles, shampoo bottles and ensuring hot water in showers in Spa. Our visits in 2012 were disappointing and will surely affect the incomes of the massage therapists and spa attendants who will not be receiving our buisness due to not being able to have a hot shower or access the above ammenities due to the decline in attention to those details. In addition to the Spa the main lobby used to offer current reading material such as, The Eye, a tourist infomation publication so important to visitors. These are free to hotels and there was only one which they kept behind the counter, and all the mags. and books were at least 2 yrs. old and not of value. The attitude of the lobby staff had changed...they did not understand the need to have these reading materials available to guests. I cannot comment on the rooms as have not stayed as a guest but do know that the prices are extremely high and without hot water and previous services in place, that this wonderful old colonial hotel will go down in popularity. The washrooms available to dining guests were unclean and lacking in proper materials. The nightly live entertainment offered previously had been reduced to a couple of nights per week and the usual presence of the previous owners at meal times was noteably not there. One can only hope that reviews like this will be noted and a quality control person will be put into place before more customers like our group of 6 stop dining, swimming and partaking of spa services on a weekly basis.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    9
    10
    2
See reviews for
8
22
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erce, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

this is the best hotel so far in uganda people the green gardens alone make you want to stay in Uganda for like ages and then the quietness as if that's not enough the classic food great food and the smiling faces of the people around. then back in my room there is this fast running internet and all over the hotel. i also had a chart with the new general manager (Hennie it was lovely meeting) who informed that the rooms by October 2012 they will have coffee machines and and i pads for the suits pple emin pasha hotel is then one of the best i just cant believe if you doubt me please try and stay for one night.

Room Tip: rooms on the southside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My second visit to Emin Pasha was even more wonderful than my first. This time, I returned to see all the friends there on the staff who had been so kind on my first visit.

Apart from the warmth of its hospitality the hotel is still a lovely place to be...chic and calm, with so many separate living/sitting areas both indoors and out...lovely pool and gardens, all very elegant and peaceful yet homely and comforting too.

And the food... so, so good. Nile perch, East African curries...wonderful fruit...all very African - modern and superb.

I travel a lot in both South and North Africa and rack-up numerous hotel stays in both: Uganda can be proud that in a in a country which is far less trodden by tourists than say, South Africa or Morocco, it has this world class hotel, and one which can certainly compare with the best hotels in Cape Town and Marrakech, in its capital city.

Thank you Emin Pasha.

I can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Set in peacefull and stylish garden on embassy street. On one of the hills in Kampala, old sharm combined with smiling service and great food. Colonial style interiors, with intersting artwork everywhere. Fab Art shop inside hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed one night having a conference in Kampala and having heard this was the best hotel in the city......if only. I understand they have a new manager, I had no sight of her.
It is pricey. The room was comfortable if small but well organised, it was almost impossible to get a comfortable water temperature in the shower - scalding or freezing. Met some local friends in the wonderfully appointed bar, service was ok until our waiter began soliciting my local friends for a job, citing dissatisfaction with the new manager.
In the morning I had to leave early, so arrived for breakfast at 6.50am (they advertise this as served from 6.30) to be greeted by sullen and disinterested wait staff, an omelette ordered immediately had not arrived half-an-hour later by the time I left.
The taxi-cab I had requested the night before had not arrived on time, and the reception staff got my bill totally wrong.
Overall a disaster, especially at this price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have to say that we only visited the Emin Pasha for a meal which was superb. The waiters are dressed very smartly echoing the era of the Raj. Service is really good, expect to pay a bit above the norm but it is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Located off the beaten path on Nakasero hill the Emin Pasha is a small 20 room boutique hotel. It has all the charm and elegance of colonial Africa mixed with superb service and modern conveniences. The grounds of the hotel are like a small botanical garden and encourage you to sit outside on one of the many lounges and read a book. Don't be surprised if a yellow billed hawk or hornbill lands on a branch above you as the hotel's garden attracts many beautiful birds. The rooms are moderately sized and are decorated tastefully with huge rainwater showers. The hotel offers guests free WiFi throughout the premises including the rooms and has satellite TV with several English news channels.There is a medium sized pool on the grounds. The restaurant, Fez has delicious food and reasonable prices. There are also several great restaurants within walking distance including; Mamba Point, Yujo sushi, Mama Ashanti, Ariang Korean, and Buguma which specializes in local food.The hotel hosts local bands on Wed and Fri. The venue is very small and intimate and makes for an amazing music experience. I recently brought my family to Kampala with me and the staff were excellent with my two kids. I have been traveling to Uganda for over two years and won't stay anywhere else when I'm in Kampala.

Room Tip: Rooms 23, 25, and 30 are nice with double french doors that open into a central courtyard. Try to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emin Pasha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emin Pasha Hotel

Address: 27 Akii Bua Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Emin Pasha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emin Pasha Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emin Pasha Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.