We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fairway Hotel to your Saves list
Fairway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Kafu Road, Nr Golf Course | PO Box 4595, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a conveniently located hotel in the one best areas of the city. The room though spacious looked old and I could see that renovation was underway - which created a lot of noise. A manager who spotted me walking along the corridor was kind enough to stop me and apologise for the noise and inconvenience. Being from India, I found the fare at the Indian restaurant just average.The outdoor ambience at the restaurant was however great. The barman at the bar was a novice and appeared clueless on how to get his job done. Breakfast buffet was just average. The saving grace at the restaurants and bar was an Indian manager called Mohammad who always appeared at the right time to assist guests. On the whole, I would say that it's an average hotel which is a bit overpriced for the value it offers.

Room Tip: Ask for a block where there's no renovation work going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you had a nice stay at our hotel. We apologize for some of the shortcomings you experienced especially with the renovation going on. The renovations are in there final stages and we hope you will return so we can give you an even nicer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    23
    14
    11
See reviews for
7
13
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great location. Some areas are in need of an upgrade, and the bathroom in my room certainly was.
Don't expect much of the gym, the equipment is old and not much variety in terms of cardio.
Nice grounds.
Staff is generally helpful, breakfast is good and the Indian restaurant is really excellent.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review and appreciate us. We value a great customer experience for all our guests and that is why we are currently in another phase of renovations that will correct the issues you have mentioned.
We surely hope you will return again so we can give you an even much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed at the Fairway Hotel in May this year for a work trip - I found the hotel staff very welcoming and helpful. My room's balcony door did not have a lock & it was fixed asap. The location is fine; and the restaurant is nice (try the goat) and good for meetings; the pool was nice too. the rooms are fine - I had mosquito nets, hot water, good wifi etc. Breakfast was ok - toast, cakes, and some hot food options.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to hosting you again and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I was on a business trip from Europe to Kampala and did not really have big expectations as it was my first trip to eastern Africa.
I had a long flight and checked in late, the staff was still there and welcomed us with fresh juice even in the night when everyone was sleeping :)

They had some AC problems in some of the rooms but were friendly enough to give you a better room. I hade the room in the top floor with good view.

In the morning you get a very nice breakfast buffet with the same man making your special omelet, while you start with the fresh fruit.

The hotel also have a nice pool and gym. The gym actually was bigger than i have seen in many other hotels, so its good if you work out while your on vacation or business trip.

Also it is close to a shopping mall if you feel shopping.

Their restaurant have some of the BEST indian dishes i have tasted ever! Please do your self a favour and eat the indian dinner, its fantastic!! End it with a great african tea spiced with ginger ! You will thank me later! :)
I will come back any day to this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and reviewing us here. We are honored that you enjoyed your stay here. Our goal is to give our guests the best experience through our warm African hospitality and excellent services and we are glad we achieved that with you.
We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in Kampala and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The reception area looks promising and I found the staff to be welcoming and attentive but the bedrooms are not up to the standard that would be expected of a budget chain in the UK. This is Africa after all and is where just enough is good enough. The outside areas are well maintained and the pool looked tempting although I didn't go in. If you're looking for a relatively low cost base for a couple on nights then this hotel is fine, just don't set your expectations too high.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you staying with us and reviewing us here. It is our pleasure to offer you the best services. We are currently renovating our rooms in order to give our guests a great experience during their stay.
We hope to host you again and give you much better memories of our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Hotel looks nice but don't be fooled by the entrance and the reception. The rooms and in fact the entire building says 1970s. Its a big property and they seriously need to do some face lift here! There are ants in the room...water gets clogged in the bath tub...couple of lights in my room are not working...the linen and towels are rough/hard in texture..maybe because its too old or its been washed in a cheap detergent..and of the ones working..hey are so dim that I can hardly see anything at night in my room.
The staff is no doubt friendly and for those of you looking for some "action" just go to the bar in the hotel and I'm sure you will find some good company.
Overall I would not like to stay here again, as I have visited Kampala before and stayed at much better hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review us here. We apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay with us. You are indeed right and we take great pride in the fact that our hotel is over 40 years old. We value a great customer experience for all our guests and that is why we are currently in another phase of room renovations that will correct the issues you have mentioned.
We surely hope you will return again so we can give you a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of my assignment in Iganga. It was heaven to have a hot shower and non-stop electricity after the guest lodge in Iganga. The staff at Fairway are excellent; breakfast was wonderful (I taught the chef about a Hawaiian omelet.) Suggest rooms in the Annex will be quieter. Rooms are very large and well maintained.

Room Tip: If you need sleep, ask for a room in the Annex wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are honoured that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to give our guests the best experience during their stay with us
We look forward to hosting you again and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Address: 1 Kafu Road, Nr Golf Course | PO Box 4595, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, enjoys views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the exclusive residence on Kololo Hill. Set in gardens among many different species of plants and palms. Within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have three restaurants, new lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference facilities and large gardens. Known for its excellent services and for its extremely safe environment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.