We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fairway Hotel to your Saves list
Fairway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Kafu Road, Nr Golf Course | PO Box 4595, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Kampala
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great location. Some areas are in need of an upgrade, and the bathroom in my room certainly was.
Don't expect much of the gym, the equipment is old and not much variety in terms of cardio.
Nice grounds.
Staff is generally helpful, breakfast is good and the Indian restaurant is really excellent.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review and appreciate us. We value a great customer experience for all our guests and that is why we are currently in another phase of renovations that will correct the issues you have mentioned.
We surely hope you will return again so we can give you an even much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    27
    16
    11
See reviews for
7
16
12
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed at the Fairway Hotel in May this year for a work trip - I found the hotel staff very welcoming and helpful. My room's balcony door did not have a lock & it was fixed asap. The location is fine; and the restaurant is nice (try the goat) and good for meetings; the pool was nice too. the rooms are fine - I had mosquito nets, hot water, good wifi etc. Breakfast was ok - toast, cakes, and some hot food options.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to hosting you again and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I was on a business trip from Europe to Kampala and did not really have big expectations as it was my first trip to eastern Africa.
I had a long flight and checked in late, the staff was still there and welcomed us with fresh juice even in the night when everyone was sleeping :)

They had some AC problems in some of the rooms but were friendly enough to give you a better room. I hade the room in the top floor with good view.

In the morning you get a very nice breakfast buffet with the same man making your special omelet, while you start with the fresh fruit.

The hotel also have a nice pool and gym. The gym actually was bigger than i have seen in many other hotels, so its good if you work out while your on vacation or business trip.

Also it is close to a shopping mall if you feel shopping.

Their restaurant have some of the BEST indian dishes i have tasted ever! Please do your self a favour and eat the indian dinner, its fantastic!! End it with a great african tea spiced with ginger ! You will thank me later! :)
I will come back any day to this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and reviewing us here. We are honored that you enjoyed your stay here. Our goal is to give our guests the best experience through our warm African hospitality and excellent services and we are glad we achieved that with you.
We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in Kampala and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The reception area looks promising and I found the staff to be welcoming and attentive but the bedrooms are not up to the standard that would be expected of a budget chain in the UK. This is Africa after all and is where just enough is good enough. The outside areas are well maintained and the pool looked tempting although I didn't go in. If you're looking for a relatively low cost base for a couple on nights then this hotel is fine, just don't set your expectations too high.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you staying with us and reviewing us here. It is our pleasure to offer you the best services. We are currently renovating our rooms in order to give our guests a great experience during their stay.
We hope to host you again and give you much better memories of our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Hotel looks nice but don't be fooled by the entrance and the reception. The rooms and in fact the entire building says 1970s. Its a big property and they seriously need to do some face lift here! There are ants in the room...water gets clogged in the bath tub...couple of lights in my room are not working...the linen and towels are rough/hard in texture..maybe because its too old or its been washed in a cheap detergent..and of the ones working..hey are so dim that I can hardly see anything at night in my room.
The staff is no doubt friendly and for those of you looking for some "action" just go to the bar in the hotel and I'm sure you will find some good company.
Overall I would not like to stay here again, as I have visited Kampala before and stayed at much better hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review us here. We apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay with us. You are indeed right and we take great pride in the fact that our hotel is over 40 years old. We value a great customer experience for all our guests and that is why we are currently in another phase of room renovations that will correct the issues you have mentioned.
We surely hope you will return again so we can give you a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of my assignment in Iganga. It was heaven to have a hot shower and non-stop electricity after the guest lodge in Iganga. The staff at Fairway are excellent; breakfast was wonderful (I taught the chef about a Hawaiian omelet.) Suggest rooms in the Annex will be quieter. Rooms are very large and well maintained.

Room Tip: If you need sleep, ask for a room in the Annex wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are honoured that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to give our guests the best experience during their stay with us
We look forward to hosting you again and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The first thing that met me at the Fairway hotel was an unorganized reception. When we reffered to our booking number we where all given a form to fill in and then tried charging us for $90 per person. It than became clare for us that they had not bothered checking our reservation. After making them avare of the situation they used 30 minutes to get our rooms ready.
When arriving at the room it was very smoky and not possible to stay at. I had to change rooms 3 times in order to find a somewhat clean and decent room. The staff at the reception was not able to keep their tounge and made unfitting remarks as well.

The breakfast was a poor sight, they had one chef making omelets, however he seemed irritated and gave out the impression that it bothered him that we asked for this.

In fact, the whole experience with this hotel makes it impossible for me to come back. Paying $120 for a double room that is dirty, worn down and smoky is not a deal I will take again.

The hotel has a great location and the potenial to become a nice hotel, but they have to train their staff in customer service and uppgrade the rooms to reflect the lobby. Untill then, I will be staying at a different hotel when in Kampala.

Room Tip: Get a room that is updated, preferebly with a view towards the entrance and the chinese resturant lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for having chosen to be our guest and taking time to review our hotel. It is through your feedback that we are able to continuously improve our guests’ experience. We sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had during your stay with us. We can assure you that this is not our standard and therefore feel very discomfited when our guests like you, have such an experience. All your complaints have been forwarded to the relevant departments for corrective action to be taken immediately. We are have also commenced another phase of room renovations that will correct some of the issues you mentioned.
We hope you will return and give us another chance to give you the best services you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Address: 1 Kafu Road, Nr Golf Course | PO Box 4595, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, enjoys views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the exclusive residence on Kololo Hill. Set in gardens among many different species of plants and palms. Within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have three restaurants, new lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference facilities and large gardens. Known for its excellent services and for its extremely safe environment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.