We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, buildings need a serious refurb!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Africana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Africana to your Saves list
Hotel Africana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 2-4 Wampewo Avenue | P.O. Box 10218, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Great staff, buildings need a serious refurb!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

It's hard for me to write a negative review about Hotel Africana since I feel so strongly that they have one of the best staff out there.

Each person from the bell hops to the front desk to the swimming pool treats you like a valued guest and a special person. I can't count how many times I was asked, "Is everything to your liking? Is there anything we can do?"

Unfortunately, it's an old hotel in need of a lot of TLC. The decor would be very attractive... if it were 1976. The carpet is worn, the fixtures are falling off, and the wall tiles and flooring need a total overhaul. There was also only one working elevator, which took forever.

The room had a tiny old TV that only got about 5 or 6 channels. The close the gate to the first floor elevator at 7pm each night which is super weird since they don't warn you. If you go from dinner to your room, you need to go up to the second floor, walk the length of the hotel and take the elevator from there. Strange.

It's quite loud on weekends. I would not stay here again unless I knew I would have an 8th floor room or higher. On my second stay I was on the 11th floor, which was good enough to avoid the thumping bass and party-goers in the event center.

The WiFi is incredibly inconsistent. It would go on and off all the time and there were plenty of dead spots. Including the entire 11th floor. I would just pretend that it is not supposed to have WiFi and be pleasantly surprised if you caught it working.

The dinner buffet was seriously lacking and is incredibly overpriced. The garden restaurant is much better. They have great samosas and pretty good strip steak. Breakfast buffet is sufficient with fresh fruit, great omelet station, coffee, tea, passion juice, potatoes, baked beans, local Ugandan dishes.

The room A/C unit was a bit tricky as the remote was in Chinese. My second room had one in English, but the unit didn't cool the room sufficiently.

I haven't stayed in any other hotels in Kampala, so I can't say for sure that others in this price range are any better.

Room Tip: Definitely above the 8th floor due to noise! The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
2
10
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is a large busy hotel with spacious, well furnished and clean rooms.

As previous reviewers have said, the hotel is popular for weddings and conferences, with music in the gardens going on well into the night. We had a room on the 11th floor of the tower block which really helped as the noise was far below us, so with the balcony doors closed during the night it didn't cause too much of a problem. I think if you are on one of the lower floors you might need to pack ear plugs...

Another benefit of being higher up is the view of Kampala - fantastic to wake up to!

We didn't have dinner there (instead we went to one of the restaurants in the gardens next to the hotel) so I can't comment on that but breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms higher up in the tower block - these are newly refurbished (I think), clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

While the rest of Hotel Africana is on the tired side, the rooms are beautifully furnished, spacious, clean and comfortable. There is a mosquito net curtain around the bed which gives a wonderful feel. The views are great, you can see right across Kampala and see the traffic jams in the morning and the city lights by night.

The only negatives at this hotel are noise and the food. Sound carries and if you are a light sleeper or are disturbed by noise, you may want to avoid it on Saturday night when the noise from nearby party spots will disturb. I was also a bit disappointed by the food which was below average and expensive.

However, right next door is Centenary Park which hosts 4-5 garden restaurants and I'd suggest travellers go there to eat because the options are good and you'll pay less than at the hotel.

The rooms, however, are the real sale point.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, Uganda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The rooms are spacious and clean. Room service is good and the customer service is wonderful. However, the noise can be deafening. I happened to go on a weekend where there was some sort of party or conference. No sleep for the weary. Music blared until almost 5am. It would be nice if the informed guests while they are booking that there will be something like that. I went for a rest but ended up being more exhausted when I left.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The Hotel is near to the Market, its OLD and have a Unique smell....

The Staff are friendly , the food is the best you can have in Africa (Banan's are in any dish !).

You need to have something for the Mosquitoes !!!

Enjoy !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Its a well desined Hoter,with good cairing staffmembers,fair price good sweemingpool,
good cervices,conference rooms good and good food too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

This is a good hotel with fantastic staff that go out of their way to please. When I asked for a place to cut my hair, the lady at the reception came out and took me to the hotel's hairdresser. Then, during our three-day conference, I asked for many things to be moved around, for taxis, laundry, food that was not in the menu, etc. and all my demands were met and with a smile.
Will stay there again for sure in March 2011.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Africana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Africana

Address: Plot 2-4 Wampewo Avenue | P.O. Box 10218, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Africana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 200, Hotel Africana and Convention Center is conveniently located just 2 minutes from the city center and featuring panoramic views of the city skyline and surrounding hilltops. Hotel Africana and Convention Center has over the years become a symbol of excellence, sophistication and high quality service.Our Guests are warmly welcomed into the elegant lobby which leads to the attractive garden where they can enjoy the alfresco atmosphere and linger over a morning coffee or savour a traditional afternoon tea.Hotel Africana and Convention Center Feature: o 234 Roomso 8 Three Bedroom Services Apartmentso 8 Two Bedroom Services Apartments o 12 One Bedroom Services Apartments o 14 Conference Roomso Fully Equipped Gym with Swimming pool, steam, Sauna and Spao Three Restaurants and Two Bars o Laundry Serviceso Business Centero Shopping Outlets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Africana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africana Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Africana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.