We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Imperial

Save Saved
You added Grand Imperial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 6 / 6A , Nile Avenue | P.O. Box 7195, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 58 hotels in Kampala
khartoum
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed in Grand imperial hotel kampala,Uganda October 14th-20th 2012. we were a big group attending a review meeting. we got to lodge and attend the meeting at the same location whihc was an excellent thing if you know what i mean, to be able to get up on time have a decent breakfast and be on time for morning sessions and also being able to go to your room during the breaks is an excellent leisure. the hotel is located right down town Kampala but yet is surprisingly quite in the rooms you don't get to hear anything once your windows are shut.
it's acceptably clean, house keeping takes a bit longer time as you would expect some times they could be cleaning the room till mid day or a bit after. the staff is very cooperative and nice. despite the many conferences taking place at the same time and the big number of guests the staff were very organized and things went well in a very professional way.
the original price for the room might be a bit high but they offered the group a discount offer which was quite affordable.
an additional points to the attached mini shopping mall just out side the parking lot,currency exchange , western union beauty salon and it's a walking distance from business center.
i really enjoyed it :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
2
3
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had mixed feelings. It was an old hotel must have seen great days and may be was sought after. But it felt very run down. It has overly art deco stair case and feeling but the overall feeling was of an average hotel. We had to stay as we had a conference in the same place. The breakfast was average though the staff was helpful. I would stay at other hotels which are walking distance such as the Sheraton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlinville, Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This "vintage" hotel has beautiful architectural details which take you back to a simpler time of "dumb waiters" and carved wood. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast buffet was very good. The pool is nice, but water can be chilly sometimes. The staff were helpful and my stay was fine and also a good value. I did have trouble accessing the WIFI so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was booked in this hotel because the conference I was attending was here.

It is not a "business hotel", and some of my co-travelers were not happy with that.

However, the place has charme - lots of heavy wood, pretty spacious rooms with leather furniture, a nice terrace for breakfast or afternoon Tuskers. The rate was very competitive (probably a third or half of the Sheraton next door), and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

I would come back, in particular if it were for a leisure trip.

Room Tip: I had a corner room - 212 - which was quite big, with a separate seating area etc. The aircondition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The terrace is a nice venue in the evening with live music, but the rooms are looking tired.
Queen size bed - but you can sleep diagonally if you're tall ;-)
Service's good and the location is central.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have been staying at the Grand Imperial since 2006 and it’s a nice, calm and value for money hotel in the heart of Kampala. All staff members including the manager are very friendly and always there to assist you. Cabs and the currency exchange shops are just outside the reception. I always stay in room No: 312 a very large comfortable room with all the amenities that a busy businessman needs at the end of the day and that too at an affordable price. Complimentary breakfast is excellent and food well priced and the main attraction is the live Congolese band that plays during the evenings – Overall a good experience and will always stay at the Grand Imperial whenever I am in Kampala.

Room Tip: I always stay in Room No: 312 which is calm and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

been to the sheraton - its expensive and crap
the imperial is better cos its cheaper but when the power cuts our and they dont have generators worry - the taps and stuff are rubbish in the bathroom
the place has had its day
the staff are lazy as well - the room was not made until 4 the next day - had to find towels from the staff
went to the triangle and will go again
i dont expect to be treated as special person but when you pay your money I dont expect to be ripped off

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Imperial

Address: Plot 6 / 6A , Nile Avenue | P.O. Box 7195, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Imperial 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Imperial Hotel Kampala
Grand Imperial Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.