We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at Mamba Point Guesthouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban by CityBlue, Kampala, Uganda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Urban by CityBlue, Kampala, Uganda to your Saves list
Urban by CityBlue, Kampala, Uganda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22, Akii Bua Road, Kampala, Uganda (Formerly Mamba Point Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
“Staying at Mamba Point Guesthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have just spent the past week in Kampala and stayed at the Mamba Point Guesthouse and it is a highly professional establishment. Great rooms, great restaurant and excellent service at a very reasonable price. I will definitely stay there the next time I visit Kampala.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tyre, Lebanon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We unexpectedly arrived hours before our check in time. Our bags were tucked away in a safe storage area while we continued with our sight seeing. Although there are ground floor rooms, if you have mobility problems, the reception area is down a couple of steps. But they are so friendly and helpful, I'm sure the staff would do everything possible to accommodate. And the little bathroom off the reception area may be the cleanest public rest room I've ever been in! The buildings and ivy covered wall create a private courtyard for the pool and guest rooms. The uncluttered grounds were well tended and green, with perfect little touches like potted urns, a small herb garden and birdbath with sparkling water and floating petals.Our room was a little lacking in charm, but it was functional with TV, internet, good bed and large bath with shower. The bath was a little "tired", could have used some new grout, but was clean with lovely white towels that had the fleeting scent of sandalwood. The windows had tightly fitting screens and there was a bottle of mosquito spray left on the desk. But thankfully, we never saw a mosquito! As other reviewers have noted, the adjoining Mamba Point Restaurant is a gem. We had a delicious Italian dinner there and returned for breakfast served on the secluded little porch. We were treated to a choice of eggs,omelettes and French toast made to order, brown beans, yoghurt, breads and jams. We helped ourselves to hot beverages and juice from a service table. Service was polite and quick without being hurried. It would be a pleasure to return to this urban escape especially after the renovations are complete.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A wonderful place to stay, and it's a treat to relax by the pool after work. Wonderful food in the morning and in the restaurant .Best food ever.
the rooms are not in fashion but it got really good beds and pillows . The good thing is that there only a few rooms. (which makes the pool a relaxing place for a swim and a drink.)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

www.inkampala.com

If you’re in Kampala on business there are a huge host of options for accommodation available in nearly every price range. However, if you’re tired of the standard-package hotel ( that looks just like every other hotel in every other capital of the world) and want something a little smaller, quieter but still affordable then Mamba Point Guest House is the your choice.

Many people have visited one of Kampala’s best known Italian restaurants never knowing that there’s a guest house right next door. Of course, this is part of the charm – the guest house is well hidden behind a high wall covered with ivy and once you shut the gate behind you you’re in another world.

The amenities are moderate but it’s hard to think of something you might need and they don’t already provide. Swimming pool? Check. Small gym and sauna? Check and check. Excellent and free WIFI? Check. Satellite television? Check. Tea, coffee, hot water kettle, and small refrigerator in your room? Check all three. Free breakfast included in the price? Check. Small bar steps from your room? Check. Laundry that is returned promptly the next day with all pieces intact? Check. Air conditioning (not that you need it most of the time)? Check.

The staff are helpful and accommodating without being overbearing. Need to leave your luggage for a few days while travelling up country? No problem. Need directions, a taxi, to know the cost of getting to Jinja? They have the answers. After a few stays it’s like you become one of the family and they remember and greet you by name.

Located centrally in Nakasero staying at Mamba Point will mean that you’re still in the centre of it all without feeling like you’re in the middle of the city. It’s walking distance to a number of fine restaurants, coffee shops and the Garden City / Oasis malls. Cross over to the other side of Nakasero hill and you can be downtown in about a 20 minute walk. If you’re in need of meeting space there is a family-style living room and veranda as well as the restaurant next door where meetings can be easily held.

The last time we checked there was a fair bit of construction going on in expansion of the kitchen and some of the other rooms but the guest house is very accommodating around this and there’s no drilling or hammering going on in the wee hours of the morning.

The rates are reasonable for all of the above at $115 USD for a single and $150 USD for a double. Credit cards are taken but, like in most places, there is a small additional charge for using them. Make sure to book ahead of time as there are a limited amount of rooms and in the tourist high season it tends to fill quickly.

Did we already mention that you’re steps away from some of the best Italian food in Kampala? Can’t beat that!

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This place is a real find. It is well placed for a working visit and has good facilities and is reasonably priced. Large spotless rooms, immaculate bathrooms and a pretty garden with sparkling pool. There is a restauarant attached but no noise permeates. The wi-fi works well and the staff are delightful...including Joseph the taxi driver attached to the hotel who can provide reliable airport transfers. (safely!)
The food in the adjoining restaurant is mainly Italian influenced and very good indeed.
Two small criticisms. Bed nets would provide peace of mind and mean that it was not necessary to run the a/c so much and the hot water does take an awful long time to come through...but don't give up!

Room Tip: The garden rooms have outside seating but still access to a power socket for your laptop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed here in July 2011 on a work trip with colleagues. We were looked after fantastically the whole time - the rooms were immaculate, huge, cool and airy and a general welcome escape from the chaos of the city in that heat! It is in a quiet and safe part of town, and the staff are very helpful, professional and friendly. Overall would highly recommend to anyone looking for an oasis in Kampala run by local staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in the house are large, and generally feel more secure. Rooms in the pool house have a nice pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Fantastic place, very safe, great service, perfect location. The rooms have all the facilities you need. They are of very high standard, quite stylish, comfortable, and 100% clean. The staff is very friendly and professional. I love the fact that breakfast is served around a huge table which invites mingling with the other guests (I found this particularly nice since I was there on my own, at least for the first half of my stay). Their Italian restaurant is just fab! Also the snacks they offer in the guesthouse area is of very high quality. I love that they have a gym. Although it is not super-well-equipped it is more than enough, and better than many other hotel gyms (N.B. there are no mats in case you're into floor-based exercises and/or stretching). Their internet works very well. The photos that you find on this website are very representative (I did not find a reason to add my own cause they are so similar to those already uploaded here). Also, the information on the guesthouse website is very correct. They deliver exactly what they promise - and even more!!

In short, it offers the perfect retreat and is excellent value for money! I have been coming and going to K'la on a more or less regular basis over the last 7 years, staying at various hotels, but now I have found my home away from home and will never consider staying anywhere else. In fact, I wish every city had this type of guesthouse!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urban by CityBlue, Kampala, Uganda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban by CityBlue, Kampala, Uganda

Address: 22, Akii Bua Road, Kampala, Uganda (Formerly Mamba Point Guesthouse)
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban by CityBlue, Kampala, Uganda 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Urban by CityBlue, Kampala, Uganda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamba Point Guesthouse Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban by CityBlue, Kampala, Uganda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.