We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel with character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Speke Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Speke Hotel to your Saves list
Speke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Early Bird Package
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Kampala
Gaborone
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel with character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have stayed at several hotels in Kampala, and overall Speke is great value and one I return to time and time again. It can be noisy but has city centre character and great restaurants - an Italian and Khyber pass (Indian). Helpful and friendly staff. Rooms vary - some are better than others.

Room Tip: First floor rooms at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Joseph,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team specially The Bar Staff for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    56
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
7
11
18
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Splendid Hotel will stay at Speke all the time I visit Kampala...excellent!!!
The staff are friendly and make you feel homely.
The restaurants have some of the best food in Kampala. I recommend Speke Hotel to anyone visiting Kampala.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team specially The Bar Staff for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Speke Hotel , is the best hotel for the business travellers around the center of the town and saves a loads of times and serves as a center of business point.

I have always stayed in speke for the last 5 times of my visit to KAMPALA.

This time , it was quite different , I met this guy Mr Abdul Lateef Chaaku. , what an hospitable person , irrespective of him being in a different department , he took full care of needs and wants.. amazing person and speke hotel is gifted to have a talented person like him.

Whoeva goes to speke , please find this guy. he is normally in BAR division.

By the time I left , we have become buddies.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Ansar,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team specially The Bar Staff for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very good atmosfera and colonian style... You feel like Mr Speke is going to show up any moment.
Nice simple rooms With balcony and view.
It is recommended to have an experience and feel the time when Mr. Speke was here to discover the origin of the Nile

excellent restaurants

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Arun,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is my first trip outside my country...and luckily i got to know about speke from a friend of mine
Speke is a very complete hotel with everythng u need at a walkable distance .
The rooms and service is good , but the best aspect has been the restaurants and bar in the hotel .
If u love football, enjoying weekends , hospitality and a wide range of cuisines ,this is the best place to go for in UGANDA.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Arun,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I visited the hotel after a busy day trip in Kampala during lunch. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and pay attention to detail. With the help of the Pizzeria restaurant manager, Me and Miriam ordered for a pizza rusticana which was served hot. We enjoyed every pie :) The room rates are affordable and clean. There's also free secure WiFi and Forex Bureau on site.

Due to its location at the heart of Kampala, Speke Hotel offers a good base for day activities and trips in and around Kampala. The Christ The Kind Church and the Uganda National Theatre are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Talk to the team at the reception about the happening places in town, movies/cinemas, or just want to wonder around the streets of Kampala for cheap bargains.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best and always look out for the sunshrine in the morning, because they are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Mamerito,
Thanks for your generous comment on trip advisor about the Pizza,Reception Staff and the manager.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back
Warm Regards
Chetan Shetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed in this hotel during my short trip to Kampala for the first time. After a long drive from airport, I was not sure about the quality of hotels in Kampala. When I entered the lobby, I was happy it had small counters even for forex. The rooms were spacious & neat and had a peaceful sleep for the day after my hectic travels. The staff were friendly and the complimentary breakfast in open lawn was good.

Nice hotel in heart of Kampala......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan S, General Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the ambience and the overall product and the service of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the comfort and the service of our staff.
Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.
We value your patronage and the team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Regards,

Chetan Shetty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Speke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#8 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.