We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Speke Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Speke Hotel to your Saves list
Speke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Package
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at the Speke Hotel for 8 days in February. The Speke is excellent value -- clean, spacious rooms, very friendly staff, and a superb central location. It is not a luxury hotel, but we wouldn't have wanted luxury in Kampala. It is simple and appealing, and we felt much more connected to the city and the people staying at The Speke. It is an old hotel surrounded by huge trees which muffle any street noise and provide a quiet setting for several restaurants. We especially enjoyed the Indian restaurant -- the food was fabulous. WiFi works well, and there are several open sitting areas in the hotel for relaxing. The shower is excellent and there was always plenty of hot water.
It is worth noting that the hotel adds a 5% service charge for its restaurants, but we learned that this 5% doesn't really go to the staff -- it is just part of the cost of food etc. so if you get good service, be sure to tip a bit extra.

Room Tip: The first room they showed us was small and smelled of smoke. When we said we needed a larger room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    61
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
7
12
18
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Speke Hotel is located near the city center in Kampala. It is within walking distance to downtown, a large shopping all, the golf course, and a longer walk to the Uganda Museum. The reception area is nice with comfortable seating, good wireless Internet and a large painting featuring John Hanning Speke the explorer. The rooms are very nice and are accessed from outside, a short walk from the reception area. My room was located adjacent to one of the restaurants and fairly near the street in front of the hotel. I know other reviewers have noted the noise, but it was not a problem for me. I did not notice much noise at all.

The rooms were wonderful with all of the amenities you would expect. The toilet and shower facilities were excellent. The bed was comfortable and the room had air conditioning. There was wireless Internet in the room and they also provided an Ethernet cable if you had a laptop.

There is a lot happening at the Speke Hotel at night. It is located next to a busy street. There are there restaurants associated with the hotel (Indian, Italian, and Continental). I ate at The Rock Garden and the service and food was very good. There is also an open-air bar and “night club” with a band the night I was there. Yes, as some other reviewers have noted, there are many “ladies of the evening” at the bar and they will approach you when you enter. However, with a firm, polite “No Thanks” they did go away. You can make your own choice. I did not find it intimidating in the hotel and restaurant area, but I got the impression that you would not want to wander too far from the hotel at night. Overall, I would recommend the Speke Hotel for a stay in Kampala.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper, ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Greeted with very friendly service on arrival and throughout the stay. The wifi worked well in the rooms and the food in the on site Indian restaurant was good - large portions as most places in Kampala. The rooms however were dated, old and uncomfortable. The pillows were very thick and the AC was super cold even when the temp was adjusted. The shower however was very powerful and the best I've had in Uganda so far. Overall ok for 1 night stop but very noisy if you are near the staircase as people are constantly walking past. Ask for a room away from a seating area or main staircase. I found it overpriced when compared to the room and experience at humura which was cheaper and nicer overall for me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A lovely clean hotel with modern facilities..
Spacious clean bedrooms superb food especially the Indian menu.
The pools a wonderful & drinks reasonable.
If you are there over the weekend ask for the Weekend deal it includes all meals & is not advertised!

Room Tip: Ask for a block close to reception as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addis ababa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have been several times in this hotel and I must say that the service, the positionning (location) and the food choice are one of the best I could find in Africa. Plus I had several times a good discount for staying there, especially because I was there for 3-4 nights every time... the nice think is also the bar-club included.... what can be bad of this is that some nights can be noisy but there are also rooms not facing that side

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I love the Speke. I have stayed here 4 times.

Pros: It feels African. The hotel restaurant faces the street and it is really fun to people watch while you eat outside or just enjoy a drink. It's a great atmosphere. Additionally, there is a nice reception area and quiet place to sit upstairs. The people are incredibly friendly (as is everyone in Uganda) and they provide exceptional service. Rooms are above average and clean, but not 5 star. They spray for mosquitos in your room every night. Walking distance to the local craft market. Decent wifi.

Cons: There is a bar right next door and they will play music into the wee hours of the night (3/4am in the morning) and there isn't much you can do to drown it out. My only advice to avoid this is to request a room facing the back of the hotel and on the right side away from the bar area. Also, a lot of prostitutes solicit themselves and have even been so bold as to sit down at tables with men who are not even interested. Management won't do anything about it either- we've complained.

TIP: Eat at the Indian restaurant they have there. It is delicious... order the tiki masala!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

In October 2012, I stayed at Speke Hotel in Kampala with five other friends. We are all expatriate of Uganda as we were born there and expelled in 1972 by Then president Amin. My visit was on 40 th anniversary of us leaving the country, where I was born and can still communicate Sawhili. Speake hotel in is nice area, good value for money and good staff but excellent, customer focused and very helpful staff I met and liked during our stay were Cheten and Prabin . They are real assets of the hotel who are very customer focused and were great , we could not ask for any more . Brilliant , safe place to stay and I plan to revisit it again in 2013 with my family .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Speke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#8 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.