We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Speke Hotel

Save Saved
You added Speke Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Speke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 56 hotels in Kampala
Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Speke is very well located. However the traffic around that area can be a nightmare at times. Two shopping malls are nearby - the Oasis mall and Garden city mall. There are also various other hotels and hang out places along the same street near speke.

The restaurants on the ground floor, specially the Indian resto, serve really great food although it's on the high side. However, a branch did fell of the huge tree into the open seating area while I was there. Fortunately no one got injured!

Lots of storks can be seen on the trees opposite the hotels.

Overall - great hotel, great location and great food!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
4
11
15
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Speke Hotel has a certain old colonial charm, with impressive murals depicting the adventures of Victorian explorers in Africa. There are also storks nesting in the tree across the street.
It's well located and reasonably secure, both of which are important factors when choosing a hotel in Kampala. My room was spacious, with reliable electricity and laundry service. Service was pretty good, with airport transfers arranged via the front desk.
The hotel has a good selection of food, with a fantastic Indian curry restaurant and an Italian pizzeria. There's also the Rock Bar in the hotel grounds. But when we went to enjoy a cold beer and live Premiership football we were pestered by hookers so had to make our excuses and leave.
One more thing - if you're paying by credit card, expect a surcharge of 7% or so added to your bill. Ouch.

Room Tip: The music from the Rock Bar can be loud if facing the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I got an opportunity to stay in Kampala for 3 months and I stayed in Speke Hotel. My first day was very normal as it would have happened in any hotel, from second day I started realizing that this hotel is different. I can compare this hotel with other because, my colleagues were staying in other hotels.

This hotel is in very prime area, all important buildings like malls, movie theatres, govt offices, temple, church are walking distance away. You find crowd of people even at mid night and feel very safe.

Another peculiar thing about this hotel is food is very good and you find lots of variety.. In one corner you find Italian Restaurant, In the other corner of the Hotel you find Indian Restaurant, next to it you find Rock bar, which stays open till early morning and will be always crowded in night. Daily morning you will get complementary Breakfast with buffet system for which there is not match when compared to other hotel.

The unique thing about the staffs here is they are very friendly. Naturally during my stay for 3 months I had faced couple of problems with water and interned, but it was solved immeadiatly which impressed me a lot.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to be treated with utmost care, compassion and respect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here for business and it was ok, if a little shabby around the edges.

The bedroom was ok, although a twin room, which is a little irritating when you are on your own as you can't stretch out, but the bed was comfortable, if a little hard.

The restaurant in the hotel was good, and the bar was nice.

They arranged a taxi driver to take me round the sights, although he was a little expensive.

The wifi did not work in my room, and the receptionist did not know why, but there was an internet cafe that I could use for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently stayed at the the Speke hotel and loved it. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and always helpful. It also has a great location being in the city centre.We also ate at the hotel and enjoyed the food, particulary the Indian restaurant. We had absolutely no problems with the hot water as cited in some of the other reviews. It really is a bargain for the price you pay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

My sisters and I shared a triple room for one night. The room was clean, the bathroom appeared to be updated compared with the time of some other reviews, however the shower water was a bit temperamental in pressure and sometimes temperature (took a while for water to heat up). The staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was quite good with a variety of choices. We had dinner at their Italian restaurant outside and the food (mushroom risotto and spaghetti with spinach) was good and the waiters were very attentive. The manager even stopped by a couple times to make sure everything was good. We were pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The drive from entebbe to kampala was interesting as you see huge mansions afar off and crowded markets and shacks where people live in unbeleivable conditions, saw a board on the way that said shoppers lets make uganda aids free., showing the danger that lies in the city, the entrance to the hotel was good, old wooden floors kept impeccably clean, front desk very efficient and the rooms are average, beds are hard and a tiny television that looks like a desktop monitor, one bottle of complimentary water, breakfast average, indian restaurant was good the niceities ends right there,
the bathrooms could be better, the water stopped flowing and you had to make calls to get it running again, the waiters during breakfast are lethargical, a small space in your room with large windows for smoking area is refreshing.
towels could be cleaner and bed linens could be cleaner and pillow covers, i had to ask them to change it when i checked in as it was dirty.
its good for people looking for honey for money.

Room Tip: buy water bottles on ur way, it helps to be safe,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Speke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala
Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#7 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.