We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, clean, great part of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Speke Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Speke Hotel to your Saves list
Speke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Package
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful, clean, great part of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I am a 40 year old professor from Canada and I spent my last night here after a long journey through Uganda staying at not-so-great places. The Speke was amazing -- my room was renovated, but the rest of the hotel had been restored to maintain its colonial charm. The bathroom was huge and spotless. The restaurants were reasonably priced and served great food, with an outdoor cafe. The Speke is also in an excellent part of town with lots to do. The senior staff was super friendly and welcoming. This was also very reasonably priced. I would recommend this place to anyone and will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    64
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
8
14
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Speke Hotel was once aon of the great hotels in Uganda.
Unfortunately, years of underinvestment and generalo lack of care, has taken its' toll.
The staff there are genrally helpful and friendly but there are amny areas that require attention.
The first is probably Rocks Bar. It is in the garde grounds but is full of prostitutes and other undesirables. It goes on until 3am or so. If you have a room overlooking it, beware the noise. Also, this environment is not suitable for children or those of a religious or moral pursuasion. The hotel needs to serious do something about this rather than just looking at the high takings from the bar.
The interior of the hotel could use a facelift as could to rooms. During my stay, much of the TV system was out of order and some chanels seemed to switch, depending on the football schedule.
The Italian restaurant has good food but is spoilt by the tatty decoration and lousy ambience.
Breakfast is generally OK (nothing to write home about) but is clearly done under sufference as no-one seems to care about the guests. Supposedly open from 6.30am. The palce was deserted until 7.30 with no sign of any breakfast.
Such a shame that such a great hotel should die this long, lingering death.
SHAME.

Room Tip: Best rooms are in the main building at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!!

We appreciate your effort to highlight our points where we do need to work on in order to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Speke Hotel is I think the oldest hotel in Kampala. Full of charm, very slightly tired. Enormously helpful staff, and the food at both the Italian/European restaurant and the Indian restaurant very good. The Indian restaurant, with its Gujarati curries frankly right in the top drawer - never had anything better and very few to equal them.

The hotel organised everything we asked for and promptly, rates were fair as and as quoted, rooms were clean albeit a little tired (mainly in terms of decor - but if you want to stay in a Sheraton and pretend you are not in a foreign country then dont stay in this hotel).

A great stay and highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony as far away from the Rock Cafe as possible - it runs late
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights after a trip to Northern Uganda where we were really roughing it. This hotel provided a clean room in a great location and we would most definitely stay here again!

Our room was air conditioned with two queen beds on the top floor with a lovely little terrace overlooking Nile Avenue. We spent a considerable amount of time sitting on the terrace watching the activity outside. The bathroom was basic but clean. The floors throughout the hotel are the original hardwood and stunning. A stay here really makes you feel like you're a part of history. Breakfast was provided each morning in the open air restaurant on the street level and it was wonderful! The Indian restaurant (also on the street level) was some of the best Indian food we've had.

The location was superb and we felt very safe walking everywhere. It's close to restaurants, bars, internet cafes, gift shops, parks and monuments.

It's a bit pricey, but well worth the splurge to stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Kampala : Speke hotel : ''Best place at heart of city"
Date : 4th march 2011
i have booked this hotel directly by sending an e mail. although never stayed before at this place, this time decided to stay at heart of the city. and place seem to be beyond expectations.

First, in comparision to other hotels at Uganda, this comes across as a relatively competitatively priced with good and friendly service. Indian restaurant at the downstairs and the lively bar attached to it adds stars to the hotel.

After a busy day at work and business, winding off at the Bar gives a feeling of remembering the place well after i have reached to India.

Its a value for money.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The Speke, i guess was once a grand old hotel. In terms of age, yes it is old, but it is a little tired also as well as old. Unfortunately the company that now runs the Speke, have not bothered to invest in its heritage.

The rooms are clean and simple, the internet is reasonable fast for Uganda.

However the bathrooms that have obviously been upgraded look like they are out of a Miami Vice set, multicoloured circuit board style tyles and glass brick walled shower. This detracts from the old world charm of the Speke, and shows a clear lack of understanding from the hotel management.

B'fast is very very basic, and i cannot understand the lack of choices for fruit, with the abundance of fresh fruit that you can see for sale everywhere in Uganda. the juice they serve is from the carton, and pured directly into one of those slushy machines that slowly stirs the juice. again with the number of staff and the abundant and cheap fruit available WHY!!!!

i would like to see someone restore the speke to its former glory.

oh and the other problem is the prostitutes, too many hookers frequent the bars and restaurants within the Speke compound. its interesting at first to watch, but soons becomes very annoying, when you are getting hassled all the time.

Room Tip: stay on the backside of the hotel for silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

I stayed here in 2003, so this is probably a bit outdated. This is a very fun hotel to stay, full service with all the restraunts you need within the hotel compound, plus plenty of tour operators within walking distance (rafting, safari, etc...). The rock bar is a bit seedy, but there are guards and security everywhere and the rooms are very nice. It's definetly got the colonial feel to the place and judging by the pictures, not much has changed. I'd definetly reccomend it and try to get rooms on the facing the front. The rooms in the back are facing an alley where we saw the cops beating some poor chap!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Speke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#9 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.