We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Business & Family Travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Seventeen Apartment - Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seventeen Apartment - Hotel
Save
You added The Seventeen Apartment - Hotel to your Saves list
17 Kololo Hill Lane | Kololo, Kampala, Uganda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Budget Cost Luxury Living
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for Business & Family Travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This apartment hotel is great for the Western business traveler and for family travel. It is clean, comfortable and modern, with all the ameneties you would find at a Hilton - and in a nice, safe, location. It's away from the noise of downtown Kampala, on a quiet road where the embassy heads reside.

I was in town for my brother's Kuanjula, but I travel regularly around the world for business. This was my first time in Uganda and I was a bit concerned that the accomodations wouldn't match what I am accustomed to (Marriott, Hilton, Movenpick and similar style apartments). I'm pretty picky (I take my own sheets, towels, Clorox wipes and blowdryer - even at a Hilton- just in case). I was pleasantly surprised at the Seventeen. Didn't even unpack my clorox wipes!

On the "could be improved side" the internet was occasionally spotty and the linen was a bit late in coming everyday. Otherwise, I was quite pleased with my stay. I will say that one day I went into the coffee shop, and they "didn't have coffee" that day. (really? how are you a coffee shop with no coffee?!!) However, when I spoke with the hotel management the next day, my entire party recieved coffee and breakfast on the house - even though the coffee shop is leased and the hotel isn't actually responsible for it. The management also assured me that there would be no more coffee issues.

I read the review by Kayser S. when I was actually in Kampala at the Seventeen. I couldn't believe he/she was talking about the same place! It's not the Burj Al Arab in Dubai, but it is a nice place for western business travelers who expect the same 4star plus accomodations as you would find in London, Paris, Washington, DC, Dubai and Singapore.

I will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room and above if you can. The view is great and wireless is much more consis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alykhan A, General Manager at The Seventeen Apartment - Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback ! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and informing us on where we can improve our services. We also want to really thank you for comparing us to leading hotels located in other parts of the world, which makes us proud to be providing such services that are also found in the west.

We train our staff how to properly clean each apartment and we supervise each apartment at the end of the day to ensure the quality of service. We are very happy to hear you did not need to use your sheets, especially your wet wipes!

Thank you for informing us about the internet. It was not a general problem but only specific to the apartment that you were in. We are happy to inform you that we have fixed the problem now and internet has returned to normal.

Brood is brand name coffee shop that is located in Holland and starting to come up very fast in the East African region. We have informed Brood regarding the few complaints we have received, which they had to change a few things internally to get things right. We are happy to inform you that they have not had any complaints since. Although they are not owned/operated by us, we do keep an eye out to make sure they are providing our guests and others the best quality of products and services

We are very happy to have received such positive reviews in the past from guests who have stayed here. We are very quick to respond to any queries from our guests who live here as we have all types of trained staff to handle any sort of problems that may occur in an apartment. We are very open in terms of listening to a clients needs and wants and we try to accommodate a guest as much as we can.

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review. We hope to see you again very soon!!

Alykhan Allibhai
Director of Operations
The Seventeen Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
4
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Yes it's modern and it's on top of a hill: that's the good side. The personnel is badly paid and highly unprofessional: nobody would ever greet you, the receptionist freely shares your most intimate matters with your visitors, and consequence of the low salaries, the place is also laden with theft issues (better you always keep your valuables with you). The internet is medieval when working, the TV is substandard, the laundry service is bad at best (when they don't irremediably burn your favourite designer shirts), the pool is all-to-often dirty and for the sportive ones (no lift) who get an apartment on top of the residence should be prepared to cope with the powerful no-sleep sound of the neighbouring baracks power generator (the owner shamelessly claimed that it was just the noise of a leaving truck!). There is no AC and at some time in the year, it's properly suffocating. Then you decide to open the windows: if your love for the insects is part of the reason why you came to visit Uganda, don't search any further ... the shoddy windows protections will make you enjoy the proximity of the flying praying mantis, grasshopers and other unidentified local giants. It can be annoying for adults, really scary for children. Apart from that you have a 180-degree view on Ntinda, Naguru and a big slum in the middle

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alykhan A, General Manager at The Seventeen Apartment - Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We at The Seventeen Apartment Hotel would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had, as we sure try to make every guest’s experience a memorable one. Of the various areas of concern you have raised, we believe the security and safety comment is the most important. We wish to reiterate that we are located in the Diplomatic area of Kampala, surrounded by the Ambassadors Residences of 15 + Embassies, hence one of the most secure neighborhood in this City. We put in a lot of thought into our location and the clientele that we wished to target. Currently, we have 25% of families living here with children ranging from the ages of 4 to 16, who have had no issues whatsoever (please see review pertaining to this subject from a parent of a 4 year old).

Please find below our responses to issues you have raised. They are as follows:

1). The Seventeen Staff: Our staff members are one of our priorities when it comes to servicing our clients. They are offered competitive pay, lunch as well as statutory deductions. We ensure that our Staff is well taken care of so that they may take pride in their work. We offer annual increments (inflation and performance based) as an incentive to work harder and to appreciate the years they have served. We are proud to say that many of our Staff members have been with us today since the time of construction. Please note that very few staff members have elected to leave because they are indeed treated well. This may not be the case in some hotels. Our staff members work from 9am – 5pm (10 am – 4pm on Sat.), with a daily 1 hour lunch period as what the law requires

2). Theft: If there ever was such an incident where a member of our staff was caught with theft of a clients personal belongings, one would assume that the immediate reaction of the client would be to inform Management, so that proper procedures can be followed. Unfortunately, such an accusation has never been brought to our attention. Having said this, such incidents must be reported so that we may take appropriate measures immediately.

3). Internet: The Seventeen deals with a reputable internet provider, understanding full well that internet is a necessity for our clients. We have chosen an internet provider that supplies internet to a large number of the major telecom companies, hotels and businesses in Kampala. A possible slowdown may have occurred during the evening hours when most tenants are home or one such tenant is maxing out the bandwith and/or even during maintenance upgrades by the provider. Furthermore, we are notified by the provider of ongoing maintenance works or outages via email, and we duly forward such emails to our clients. Unfortunately, we do not have control over such outages. You may know that the Ugandan internet infrastructure is still in its infancy and that only one fiber optic cable connects us to the undersea cable in Kenya, hence the networks here are not as infallible as we know them to be in other parts of the world. As we speak, many areas in the country are being equipped with broader band width and better infrastructure.

4). DSTV Channel List: Although The Seventeen is an apartment complex, we are also offer clients with short term lets as a hotel, offering clients with daily, weekly and monthly rates. Multichoice, a provider of DSTV across the continent, provides different packages to families and corporate viewers. The Seventeen being considered a hotel, we offer a hotel package selection of 25 channels within the hotel package, ranging from movies, TV shows, sports, music and news. The selection offered at The Seventeen offers a wider range of channels than many of the brand name hotels in the city.

5). Laundry Valet Service: The Seventeen provides a quality laundry service to our clients. As we all know, accidents do happen, but if such an incident were to happen, the client is immediately informed and a full value reimbursement is made. We are terribly sorry that some of your shirts were ruined. Unfortunately, this was never brought to our attention and therefore, it was not dealt with. We advise all of our clients that if an article is damaged, we take full responsibility to compensate the client for its full value.

6). Swimming Pool Cleanliness: We take pride in our swimming pool as it is one of the very many features that add value to our property and creates a “wow” factor to visitors and potential clients. We are very sorry that you may have seen our pool in a dirty state, however, if we recall correctly, there was only 3 days in July 2012 when such an occurrence happened. We let go the company servicing our pool at the time. Since then, we have a private contractor attending to the pool 3 times a week, ensuring that our pool is clean everyday of the year. We have many residents and non-resident members using our pool daily.

7). Lift: The Kampala City Council Authority requires all buildings above 4 floors to have an elevator. Since you have been a visitor at The Seventeen before you may remember that we have 3 buildings, none of which exceed 4 floors (ground + 3). Therefore, by law, we do not require an elevator. We do however have apartments more suitable for the aged and handicapped on our lower blocks. To date, we have lost very few clients due to the lack of lifts. In fact, we have clients prefer the top most apartments for the exercise and view.

8). Neighboring Barracks Generator: We regret to inform you that the barracks do not have a generator. The Barracks are a collection of metal cones where soldiers and their families live, with a small administrative building, all of which are behind The Seventeen. There are only a few lights around the compound, and certainly not enough to warrant a generator. While the comment attributed to one of the “owners” sounds unlikely, we cannot recall ever having made such a comment as, to date, such a complaint has never come up. We have had an excellent relationship with the management of the Barracks and we cannot recall having made such a negative comment about our friendly neighbors. In our efforts to be environmentally friendly, The Seventeen has opted for an inverter power backup system, which does not pollute and is completely silent, as opposed to the noise and pollution a large generator can produce.

9). Air Condition /Shoddy Window Protection / Insects – At The Seventeen, we do not have air conditioners as we are very high up on the hill, resulting in very cold air drafts. We must say that many of our expat guests first ask for air conditioners but when they do stay here, they actually realize that it is not at all necessary; in fact, the cozy duvets on the beds are most appreciated! All apartments are equipped with mosquito nets which are checked on a regular basis for tearing. Our entire grounds are fumigated once a month. The Seventeen is probably one of the only 3-4 buildings in Uganda that have floor to ceiling windows, which are very costly (ours are of toughened and double paned glass, which is also unbreakable). To house such expensive glass in so-called “shoddy” frames would be suicidal. Although we have been in operation a little over 2 years, we are proud that our building still looks new, and are in fact, still attracting visitors because this is indeed a very special feature.

10). View: The Seventeen also offers 360 degree views from the rooftop terraces. Our view is one of the top 3 reasons why clients choose The Seventeen over other apartment complexes in the area.

We thank you for your constructive feedback, as it helps us know where improvements need to be made. Please note that, thankfully, we run a very high occupancy rate (90% +) all year round, ranging from families, diplomats, staff from various oil & gas companies, financial institutions, telecom companies, government organizations, NGO’s and various large manufacturing companies who operate throughout the country. We are saddened that we do indeed turn away potential clients due to our very high occupancy rate.

Many Thanks,

Alykhan Allibhai
Director of Operations
The Seventeen Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa,Democratic Republic of the Congo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you are looking for a furnished apartment that is very modern, has great views, & is spotlessly clean then this is the one. I've been staying at The Seventeen with my husband and 4yr old son since the last few weeks. The apartments are situated on Kololo hill with an amazing panoramic view of the city. its a short walk down the hill to the supermarket and gas station. Each apartment offers Wi-Fi, modern open-plan kitchens fully equipped with amenities, including a refrigerator, an oven, and a microwave.The Apartments feature a spacious living area with large, comfortable sofas, flat-screen TV. The bedrooms are spacious with ample storage. There is also a coffee shop on site.
Being new to the city I also find Seventeen to be very safe and secure. The street its located on is not very busy hence perfect for morning walks.
The staff are very courteous and efficient. Its a great place to stay if you are on a business trip or with your family on holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Apartment hotel with fantastic, spacious apartments. The view is overlooking the rolling hills of Kampala. Service was very good and the family who runs the place is really doing a good job to make the tennants and customers to feel at home. Pool area with incredible view. All in all a very good place. Not particularly cheap, but you get your moneys worth!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Space is the operative word. The 2 bedroomed apartment (with large kitchen/ living area) I stayed in had modern clean-white finishes, good showers, well-fitted kitchen, TVs and plenty of space, overlooking panoramic views at the top of ambassadorial Kololo Hill. I've stayed many places in Kampala. None as ample and generous as this. There's also a coffee and croissant shop below if you're too lazy to make your own breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Seventeen is awesome, absolutely incredible, its definitely a must stay when in Kampala.
Its incredible like finding an oasis in a desert. We loved the Kitchen area, living room, bathrooms, its like being home away from home..I was with my Partner and must say the ambiance, views made the trip extra special..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Really loved staying at the Seventeen.

Spacious, and beautiful apartments, excellent service, great view of Kampala. Quiet location.

Everything was just perfect for me.

A hotel but with that home feel to it as well.. I loved my apartment so much contemplated staying longer...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Seventeen Apartment - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seventeen Apartment - Hotel

Address: 17 Kololo Hill Lane | Kololo, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seventeen Apartment-Hotel is an exciting scheme of 17 fully furnished and serviced luxury residential apartments which have been designed to offer a more contemporary format of living in Uganda. Located in Kololo's Diplomatic district, perhaps the most sought after location of Uganda, The Seventeen offers the best views in Kampala. With excellent provisions for amenities and with reliable services, The Seventeen will meet all of your hospitality needs whilst in Uganda, whether for a short or more permanent stay. Our trained staff will be proud to respond to your every need 24 hours a day to offer you the best service, ensuring that you experience an unforgettable stay.All apartments come with full access to:- Multipurpose rooftop terraces with panoramic views - Gym, sauna & massage rooms - Infinity swimming pool - Laundry facilities - DSTV & internet - Conference room and business centre - Meza Gastronomy Coffee Shop - 50+ car parking spaces ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seventeen Apartment - Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.