We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sojovalo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sojovalo to your Saves list
Hotel Sojovalo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 856 / 854 Rubaga Road, Kampala 256, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Kampala
Bujumbura, Bujumbura, Burundi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Quality service wonderful experience.very specious rooms with all the hotel facilities excellent wireless connection. very good customer care. very clean. You will miss a gym and swimming pool, however you can do with a walk to Kabaka palace and the offices which will keep you fit before your breakfast or late after dinner its always very safe area.

Room Tip: choose the top left rooms nice natural ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hotel Sojovalo is located in the Rubaga Suburbs of Kampala city; only 41km from the airport is the best destination for tourists, business person, or anyone looking for an exquisite experience.
The decor of the hotel is a master piece manifested in the furnished wrought wood work, a luxurious lounge with high speed Wi-Fi, 24hr to cater to our client's needs in this Highly secure Sound Proof aluminum cladded Hotel. Hotel Sojovalo is not just a stay, but also an experience.

In summary Hotel Sojovalo is a 3*hotel with 5*service at 2*price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 6 nights both in December 2013 and January 2014. Staff was very friendly and the food was great. The rooms are big, cleaned and quiet. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a safe, comfortable and affordable place to stay while in Kampala. However, I would advise anyone going there to carefully check what they have or don't have in a room before occupying it as staff tends to overcharge people for "lost items" at the end of their stays. During my last stay (in early January 2014), both my girlfriend and I were searched (during our check-out) for some "missing hand tower". They even asked me to open all my big suitcases, but I refused as it was going to delay me for my fight to the USA, so they requested that I pay $100 (for the hand tower) before I could leave. I paid the money and left the hotel unhappily.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are better for WiFi connection (and also because the hotel doesn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise after many days away from A/C, internet and working toilets. Hotel Sojovalo delivered. The rooms were super clean. They had free wifi, wonderful air conditioning, Full bathroom with tub and even a mini refrigerator. Dinner was fabulous, but the morning breakfast buffet was not the greatest, the food was lukewarm to cold, but all in all I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for a nice place to stay for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was there for two nights this week and the beds were comfortable, beddings were clean and staff were friendly. Food was great and breakfast was good. Wifi is ok at reception and dinning area. Rooms are quiet and quality sleep is assured.

They need to get new towels for the bathrooms. Add wifi routers on the floors to get all rooms with Wifi access. Otherwise no other issues.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here in between our gorilla & chimpanzee trekking (Oct 24 & Oct 29). Staff are friendly and courteous. Although they do not seem to communicate amongst each other. We agreed upon a late check out on Oct 30 (12pm instead of 10 am) and housekeeping still tried to come in the room at 915 am to clean the room. An hour later we received a phone call to tell us check out was at 10 am. At the breakfast buffet, I was asked twice by 2 different servers my room number. The breakfast buffet was good on Oct 25 - maybe because we were there when it opened. Oct 30 - arrived at the buffet about an hour before closing and it was mediocre. You can tell that food items had been sitting on the warmers for awhile. Rooms are large and comfortable. This hotel needs to invest on new hand towel & bath towels - both times we stayed here - towels are old and look unclean. Also, there is construction at or very close by to the hotel and it is very loud.
Addendum: my friend had a beer at the bar last night and the server tried to take his unfinished glass of beer away. He stopped her and when he paid the bill, she seemed very unhappy.
Good wifi connection in the rooms and also available in the lobby.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the location to be quite favourable for visiting some of Kampala's religious sights (mosques, churches), which was rather convenient. The room had tv (unfortunately the sports channel had only white noise) and fridge. The room was a good size, with telephone. WiFi worked but speeds were variable between good and tediously slow, depending on the time of day. Bed was comfortable. The Aircon worked a little but wasn't that effective to counteract the heat in the room. Shower was cold one morning but an hour later was hot again. We only got 1 toilet roll, which unfortunately ran out halfway through the night! Breakfast was a bit weak really. Management generally had a good attitude to complaints. The tour organiser is quite pricey we thought (10 min drive into central Kampala quoted at 25K). For 80 bucks a night I thought the breakfast could've been a bit better, but I'm sure you can do a lot worse in Kampala.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Sojovalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sojovalo

Address: Plot 856 / 854 Rubaga Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sojovalo 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the outskirts of the city, in Rubaga suburb. It is about 10 minutes drive out of the city centre. Get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and come to Sojovalo. Client service is of great importance to us. We have taken great care in selecting our staff. The Hotel has a highly qualified staff with knowledge on different aspects of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sojovalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sojovalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.