We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reliable choice for this part of the world.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kampala Sheraton Hotel to your Saves list
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A reliable choice for this part of the world.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is decent for the big chain hotel standard in Africa.

Rooms could definitely do with renovation. I last stayed here around five years ago and they needed it then. Now they REALLY do. They do seem to be well maintained though, just tired.

PRO's:
- Good security
- Reliable aircon and electricity
- Excellent (free) wifi.
- Wonderful buffet breakfast.
- Nice pool. Well equipped and modern gym.
- Generally efficient service.

CON's:
- Tired rooms (especially bathroom).
- Room service menu very limited in choice, expensive and not good in quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your reply and we are happy to read that we "are a reliable choice" Also, we are glad to read that you rated us high on security, pool, WIFI and general service.

Our Executive Chef has recenly introduced a new menu in roomservice; he is sure that on your next visit you will appreciate his efforts.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    145
    111
    53
    19
See reviews for
8
28
31
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Busto Arsizio, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Nothing special, to be a sheraton the level is a bit low, comfortable but noisy room (the disco) to renovate Interior, especially the bathroom, wifi in rooms very problematic, the restaurant could do something better.
general is not bad but mediocre

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Afternoon and thanks for your remarks.

The management team is not happy if we are rated mediocre but we have taken note of your comments and assure you that we are working hard every day to make sure that all our guests rate us excellent.

The issue with the neighbouring "disco" is being discussed with the local authorities.
Also, we are constantly upgrading the bathrooms in our guestrooms and are happy to announce that we have hired THREE additional International Chefs to boost our restaurant offerings.

We are sure that on your next visit you will rate us excellent.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Unfortunately, it also works both ways. I had a booking confirmation for a Club Room, and when got to the hotel I was told that all the Club Rooms were occupied, so I was then downgraded to a Standard Room. So be very careful of these “Specials”

Although I am not too fazed about being downgraded to a standard room, I was pleasantly surprised. The room has been recently upgraded and very comfortable with all amenities possible. The only part of the room that has not been touched is the bath room and this clearly doesn’t fall with the 5 star rating in hotel standards.

Then there is the food. Well there is no 5 star on the food I have had since been here. In particular the breakfast, it is served and displayed in a 2-3 star grading stye. I have enclosed some pictures.

Some positive aspects of the hotel and there are a number of them. WiFi works extremely well in the room and it’s free of charge. Service is always with a great smile, and staff is extremely helpful. Position of hotel is central and most of businesses are 20mins walk or 10 mins by taxi. Health centre is well catered. Beautiful gardens in the hotel premises.

Overall the hotel has had a revamp recently, but you can see and feel the old style hotel. I feel the only reason of the 5 star rating is the name of the hotel chain. This is a 3-4 star hotel at best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Morning,

thanks for your kind words about our staff and the fact that you enjoyed your room and the free WIFI. Also, sometimes it is nice to see that our guests notice all the hard work and efforts the manament team invests in the hotel; we truly love our jobs.

The bathrooms are scheduled to be upgraded later this year and will then fall inline with the nice bedroom you experienced.

Many guests love our breakfast and just for your information; the not-so-nice name tags have been replaced last month by nice wooden ones!

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The best part about this hotel is the staff. They are helpful, friendly, and polite. I gave this tired old hotel a 4 because of them and their efforts to keep this regal old establishment going despite daily problems. Whether it was the door locks, shower heads, or air conditioning, they were always apologetic and professional.

To the owner(s) of this place, it's time to invest in upgrading the hotel so that you staff doesn't have to continue trying to cobble the place together.

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the outside band area. Some of my colleagues were complaining that it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Afternoon,

we appreciate your comments about our hotel and are happy that you value our staff.

We are constantly upgrading and renovating our facilities and our management team is very dedicated that all our guests receive the product and service they deserve.

Thanks for your kind words and support and hope to see you again soon in the future.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Like so many hotels they seem to award them selves the 5 star rating. If you go on facilities alone yes this would squeeze in a 4/5 star hotel but as we all know that's just part of the story. This hotel is in desperate need of total renovation. The room I am in and all my colleagues are dark dingy old fashioned and very worn down. The bathrooms are small which is fine but oh so old and broken. Tiles sinks curtains lights its all 1970's which is fine if you want that retro 1970 look but not if it looks like it was actually installed in the 1970's. Depending on which side of the hotel you stay on will dictate weather you get a good nights sleep. The staff actually call it the noisy side and quiet side. Brilliant! I'm on the quiet side and it was fine. The otherwise according to my colleagues is horrendous. Big cooling units sounding like jets taking of off 24/7. The gym is not air conditioned at least it's turned off just windows open so go early morning or late afternoon. The pool is under repair and the workers are literally dropping cement into the pool as they re-tile and people are swimming.!! No worry about health & Safety here I see which is a good thing we have too much of it in the West don't you think!!
The short of it is this is a Kampala 5 star hotel and would have been closed years ago anywhere else in the world but its not its in crumbling downtown Kampala were there are literally large holes (Only a few feet deep I add)everywhere you walk so at night be very careful. We walked down to the Serena hotel last night just next door far closer to a real 5 star hotel. Final word the staff. They are friendly and do the best they can with this beat up old relic of a hotel. Indiana Jones would like it Im sure.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

we have received your comment and appreciate your time taking to give us feedback.

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Over the past 24 months, we have been spending millions of US-dollars on upgrading the hotel, including new carpets, bedrooms, furniture, pool renovation etc. etc.

We receive very good feedback on these ongoing improvements from many customers and I am sure you will do the same on your next visit to Kampala.

Our dedicated management team and all our associates are very dedicated to this hotel and promise you will rate us 5-star on your next visit to Kampala.

Best regards,
Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is fairly big with all the facilities you would expect. Fairly nice place. It needed a little bit of renovation at the time I was there. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was great.
The other big advantage of the hotel was the location. You could get to the city center or any mall within 10 mins walk.
Good place to stay in but a little bit on the expensive side for what you do get.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,

thanks for your remarks and good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Yes indeed, our location is the best in town and is highly valued by all our customers.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I think the hotel was overpriced for what was provided. I paid over 200 US a night and the room was old and outdated, it was small, the bathroom was tiny and the detailing of the room wasnt up to scratch. Small details like cracked tiles, crooked handrails, discoloured paint etc made the place feel dingy.

Pool seemed old and a bit unclean and bar staff were slow and service.

Being a well named hotel it has the elusion of being upmarket, and in Kampala it probably is, however if i were to return to the city i would stay at a more African hotel/guest house that might not have a huge pool but is luxury for 80 dollars a night. - I hear the Red Chilli is a good place.

Staff were very friendly and hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Libby,

thanks for your feedback.

For your information: we are in the process of upgrading all our rooms to remove those scratches and patches of old paint you found in your room.

We are happy that the renovation of our pool is complete and is now the best pool in town again.

Feel free to contact me personally on your next vist (tom.vantuijl@sheraton.com) and I will make sure you will have an unforgettable stay at a very affordable rate.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kampala Sheraton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Address: Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kampala Sheraton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambience and a dazzling array of upscale amenities.Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the Central Business District area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 233 newly renovated guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort.Our well-equipped Fitness Centre – complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool – will make your stay more relaxing. If you’re joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities—including a Grand Ballroom—with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available.Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am.Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kampala Sheraton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kampala Sheraton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.