We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, tired hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kampala Sheraton Hotel to your Saves list
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Kampala
Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great staff, tired hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The best part about this hotel is the staff. They are helpful, friendly, and polite. I gave this tired old hotel a 4 because of them and their efforts to keep this regal old establishment going despite daily problems. Whether it was the door locks, shower heads, or air conditioning, they were always apologetic and professional.

To the owner(s) of this place, it's time to invest in upgrading the hotel so that you staff doesn't have to continue trying to cobble the place together.

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the outside band area. Some of my colleagues were complaining that it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Afternoon,

we appreciate your comments about our hotel and are happy that you value our staff.

We are constantly upgrading and renovating our facilities and our management team is very dedicated that all our guests receive the product and service they deserve.

Thanks for your kind words and support and hope to see you again soon in the future.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    150
    118
    55
    21
See reviews for
9
29
31
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Like so many hotels they seem to award them selves the 5 star rating. If you go on facilities alone yes this would squeeze in a 4/5 star hotel but as we all know that's just part of the story. This hotel is in desperate need of total renovation. The room I am in and all my colleagues are dark dingy old fashioned and very worn down. The bathrooms are small which is fine but oh so old and broken. Tiles sinks curtains lights its all 1970's which is fine if you want that retro 1970 look but not if it looks like it was actually installed in the 1970's. Depending on which side of the hotel you stay on will dictate weather you get a good nights sleep. The staff actually call it the noisy side and quiet side. Brilliant! I'm on the quiet side and it was fine. The otherwise according to my colleagues is horrendous. Big cooling units sounding like jets taking of off 24/7. The gym is not air conditioned at least it's turned off just windows open so go early morning or late afternoon. The pool is under repair and the workers are literally dropping cement into the pool as they re-tile and people are swimming.!! No worry about health & Safety here I see which is a good thing we have too much of it in the West don't you think!!
The short of it is this is a Kampala 5 star hotel and would have been closed years ago anywhere else in the world but its not its in crumbling downtown Kampala were there are literally large holes (Only a few feet deep I add)everywhere you walk so at night be very careful. We walked down to the Serena hotel last night just next door far closer to a real 5 star hotel. Final word the staff. They are friendly and do the best they can with this beat up old relic of a hotel. Indiana Jones would like it Im sure.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

we have received your comment and appreciate your time taking to give us feedback.

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Over the past 24 months, we have been spending millions of US-dollars on upgrading the hotel, including new carpets, bedrooms, furniture, pool renovation etc. etc.

We receive very good feedback on these ongoing improvements from many customers and I am sure you will do the same on your next visit to Kampala.

Our dedicated management team and all our associates are very dedicated to this hotel and promise you will rate us 5-star on your next visit to Kampala.

Best regards,
Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is fairly big with all the facilities you would expect. Fairly nice place. It needed a little bit of renovation at the time I was there. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was great.
The other big advantage of the hotel was the location. You could get to the city center or any mall within 10 mins walk.
Good place to stay in but a little bit on the expensive side for what you do get.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,

thanks for your remarks and good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Yes indeed, our location is the best in town and is highly valued by all our customers.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I think the hotel was overpriced for what was provided. I paid over 200 US a night and the room was old and outdated, it was small, the bathroom was tiny and the detailing of the room wasnt up to scratch. Small details like cracked tiles, crooked handrails, discoloured paint etc made the place feel dingy.

Pool seemed old and a bit unclean and bar staff were slow and service.

Being a well named hotel it has the elusion of being upmarket, and in Kampala it probably is, however if i were to return to the city i would stay at a more African hotel/guest house that might not have a huge pool but is luxury for 80 dollars a night. - I hear the Red Chilli is a good place.

Staff were very friendly and hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Libby,

thanks for your feedback.

For your information: we are in the process of upgrading all our rooms to remove those scratches and patches of old paint you found in your room.

We are happy that the renovation of our pool is complete and is now the best pool in town again.

Feel free to contact me personally on your next vist (tom.vantuijl@sheraton.com) and I will make sure you will have an unforgettable stay at a very affordable rate.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Lovely staff, great pizza oven, had a freshly baked pizza every day! That good. Well designed room with plenty of space, comfy bed. Nice seating area,shame about table with a hole designed in the middle! Modern bathroom with plenty of good quality " goodies". Need to keep the singing level down by the outside dining, but great to be able to just get up and dance in between courses.

The only let down is the pool, but it seems to be in the process of modernization. Also a good gym with plenty of modern usable equipment, with open doors for fresh air. Beautiful grounds and gardens. Worth the drive from ebb airport.

Room Tip: We were on the 11 floor Starwood preferred guest floor. Good rooms with balconies. I would imagine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your comments and our Chef is excited to hear that you enjoy the wood-fired oven that makes the best Italian Pizza's in town.

Yes, the pool did get a complete makeover, including new tiling and is now again up to the standard where it belongs.

Hope to see you soon on your next visit to Kampala.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

As others had said, the ground was beautiful and well maintained.

The staff at the reception was friendly. We had specifically asked for a refurbished room after reading the reviews on here.

The room was nice with comfortable beds and more modern decor. However, the bathroom was still the old style tall bath tub with nylon shower curtain. After couple hours into the stay, we realized that the A/C wasn't working and the room was getting warm. We informed front desk and the maintenance team came later. We asked them to fix the problem while we were out touring the city. We came back in the evening, and the A/C was still the same, and the room was warmer than outside. We complained again as it was not acceptable to leave the problem the way it was without a solution or an explanation. Finally they agreed to let us change room. The AC in the second room was working initially, but that did not last long either. A few hours later in the middle of the night, we were woken up by the airlessness inside the room, and had no choice but to open the balcony doors as the room was getting really stuffy and warm inside.

Shower in bathtub with curtains should be a thing of the past for 5* hotels! At least some hotels which still utilize bathtubs are thoughtful enough to use the U-shaped rod to hang the curtain to give a wider space. For some reason, it was exceptionally narrow inside this bathtub shower and while trying to take a shower, the curtain continued to stick to the body which made washing difficult and feeling gross.

Overall, we didn't get a good night sleep and disappointed with the responses and actions regarding the malfunctioned AC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Couple,

we appreciate your feedback as it is with this feedback that we can improve on our product and services. Good to read that you enjoyed our grounds and bedroom.

We have noted your comments about the malfunctioning of the AC and the shower curtain in the bathtub.

If an AC malfunctions it should be fixed and we apologise that this was not done instantly. We have a duty technician on duty 24 hours per day for these quick fixes.

With regards to the shower curtain; half of our upgraded rooms are quipped with walk-in showers hence we suggest that on your next visit you ask for one of those rooms. In addition, we are considering curved shower rods that will give a more space when taking a shower.

Again, we appreciate your feedback.

Best regards,
Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great location, beautiful grounds, nice pool. Nice and clean lobby. Comfortable rooms with decent, albeit generic furniture. Small bathrooms with old, run down fixtures. Good well stocked breakfast, good and professional services. Overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Morning,

Good to hear that you enjoyed our hotel! Hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kampala Sheraton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Address: Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kampala Sheraton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambience and a dazzling array of upscale amenities.Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the Central Business District area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 233 newly renovated guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort.Our well-equipped Fitness Centre – complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool – will make your stay more relaxing. If you’re joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities—including a Grand Ballroom—with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available.Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am.Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Kampala Sheraton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kampala Sheraton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.