We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is fine but service is slow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kampala Sheraton Hotel to your Saves list
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel is fine but service is slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

The main fault with the hotel is how long you have to wait for service. It took 20minutes to be even offered a menu and it was an hour after sitting down that I finally had my food. The managers seem to be trying to expedite the service somewhat so things may improve.

Everything else about the hotel is fine

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    147
    113
    54
    19
See reviews for
8
29
31
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Was pleasantly surprised by the standard at the Sheraton, albeit I stayed in a suite which was beautiful with all amenities available. Thumbs up for the shower cabins! The club floor facilities are excellent and staff very friendly. The best part was the terrace restaurant and bar which was perfect for business meetings and casual dining. Even if the prices are upmarket, it is still very good value for money. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Club floor suites are really nice, worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This has to be one of my favorite hotels anywhere because the staff are so incredibly friendly. I have always enjoyed a nice room and there is a good gym.

Downsides; The lifts are sometimes worryingly erratic and although security presence is high they don't really seem to know what they are doing, particularly at the main entrance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretoria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spent 4 days here on business. Staff are helpful and pleasant, food is good, gym is good although crowded and small with no apparent aircon. Rooms and the hotel overall are dated. Most reviews mention this and I do wish the hotel would invest in rising again to its former glory that Ugandans speak about. Wifi problems were sorted out although it took 2 hours to do so the first night! What I appreciated was that there was someone there who could assist even late at night. Room service meant a good pasta although microwave evidence was clear in the patches of cold pasta. Breakfasts and dinners (we didn't lunch there) were excellent. A tip on the wifi - don't have separate codes for different places in the hotel - it's a pain to be trying to work at breakfast only to be given another code to access wifi. All in all a comfortable stay though I think a little pricey for what it offers.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the Kampala Sheraton Hotel in 2008 and came away less than impressed so I was a bit skeptical when I was informed a client had booked me in this hotel. I did some research and found out the hotel had been renovated a few years ago so I grudgingly agreed to stay there. I was pleasantly surprised when I walked into the lobby and noticed a complete change of decor as well as a change in the attitude of the staff. Check in was smooth and the front desk staff was competent and willing to assist with minor problems.

Even though I was given a key when I entered my room it was obviously not made up from the night before. These things happen from time to time so I was not overly concerned or perturbed. I was given a replacement room on the Club Floor and everything seemed fine until I turned on the air-conditioner. After an hour a leak developed so I had to change my room again. Luckily the front desk staff found a room next door so the leaking AC was not too much of an inconvenience.

Apart from the room issues the rest of my stay was efficient and unremarkable. Breakfast in the Victoria restaurant was pretty good and meals in the Equator Bar were excellent.

The young lady managing the business center was very efficient and I had clear, blemish-free copies promptly.

I had a minor accounting issue during check-out but the front desk staff resolved the issue in an efficient manner. I need to acknowledge one particular staff member. Lilly at the front desk was extraordinary in her willingness to please. She always had a smile on her face and resolved all issues without delay.

If this hotel was in New York, Tokyo or London I would have given it three stars but for central Africa I give it four stars as maintaining this level of service in this region is challenging for any company.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I've stayed at the Kampala Sheraton before and have always been relatively impressed. The service is great with helpful staff and there are a variety of places within the hotel to eat and drink. The location is also good and one can walk to meetings in the centre of town. The only blip on the radar on this trip was when I was shown into a room with two single beds when I had booked and paid for a room with a king size bed. After raising this issue, my room was changed. The rooms themselves are functional if a little dated, and the bathrooms could certainly do with an upgrade. Breakfasts are excellent and one can sit either inside or outside and enjoy a comprehensive spread. Altogether a very good option for travellers to Kampala.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

thanks for your positive comment and good to hear that you are impressed with our hotel.
We hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Sheraton is an ideal place to stay in Kampala if you are on business. The rooms are a little dated, but are clean and provide plenty of space. The bathrooms really need to be updated to modern standards.

The service is very good, and the choice of where to dine is superb. Food is very good and the breakfast offers everything you need to get the work day done. The only issues i have is the noise from the outside area where you hear the music going onto the late night. Having to wake at 3am to get a flight, this can be a little annoying. Also the Safe was not bolted to the wall which means anyone could walk away with your belongings.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not facing the outside area due to the noise that can be heard late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your positive comments towards our hotel and glad to read that you enjoyed our food and beverage venue's.

As mentioned before, the bathrooms in the classic are planned to be renovated in 2013. We have already finished the mock-up room and our guests are very positive about it. All bedrooms were done in 2012 and we just could not finish the bathrooms as well hence we shall do them in 2013.

Regards,
Tom van Tuijl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kampala Sheraton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Address: Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kampala Sheraton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambience and a dazzling array of upscale amenities.Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the Central Business District area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 233 newly renovated guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort.Our well-equipped Fitness Centre – complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool – will make your stay more relaxing. If you’re joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities—including a Grand Ballroom—with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available.Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am.Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Kampala Sheraton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kampala Sheraton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.