We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not worth for 245USD” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kampala Sheraton Hotel to your Saves list
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Kampala
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It is not worth for 245USD”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed this hotel twice now. The location of the Hotel is excellent, however, if you spend 245USD, sorry to say Sharaton Kampala is not worth for it. Regular rooms are poorly maintained and old everywhere, except beds! Beds were pretty comfortable and I had a good sleep! That was 4 star! Room service food was also good, 4 star! Swimming pool, water was very clean and big, but water was bit cold! 3 star! Maintenance of the room, 1 star. However, if you stay top three floor which you have to pay a bit more, about 280USD? that was very good! :) Staff at the reception (woman) was not friendly on that particular day when I arrived. Its a Sharaton, but I did not find the value there. It's a pity. Well, that will be your turn and would like to hear what you think.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Good Evening,

thanks for your response. Good to hear that you liked our beds, room service and pool. We have just finished a full renovation on our 112 classic rooms and hence I am surprised to hear that your room was not up to our and your standards. We would love to know which room you were in and what the problems were.

Please contact us directly for your future bookings and we will make sure that your next experience is the best you ever had with Sheraton. (tom.vantuijl@sheraton.com)

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    156
    124
    56
    22
See reviews for
9
29
31
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanyuki, Kenya
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Kampala traffic can be bad at the best of times and horrendous at worst, as such the location of the Sheraton made my business trip bearable in terms of reaching my destinations. On the downside because it is centrally located, my room, even with the windows closed was extremely noisy during the day.

A friendly and efficient welcome from the security and reception staff was a great start. the reception area is large and offers plenty of seating with access to a small arcade of shops within the hotel itself. The downside of this was being joined by a local lady who persisted despite repeated requests to allow me to work to want to talk to me and become my "friend"; when in desperation I indicated that I was sure that the hotel management would not approve of her asking for money from their guests she left. Internet reception in the main lobby bar is not great but it is good in the rooms and it is free! Full marks to the Sheraton for providing this crucial service as part of the room rate.

Room - hmmmm. "Tired" would be my best description. The room itself was a good size with a comfortable bed, the furniture though looks as though it came from the 1960s , it was perfectly functional but was totally uninspiring. Good television reception with a decent selection of programmes. Tea/coffee making facilities and bottled water were another +ve. Outlook from my room (clearly I had a bad one), a large roofed area and a car park - not inspiring.

The bathroom - diabolical. Tiny and grubby. Finding a positive - good towels and plenty of them. I would recommend removing the ancient bath and installing a modern walk-in shower. Seriously, even if I was desperate for a bath I wouldn't want to get into that tub.

The staff - fabulous, friendly day and night, I cannot fault them.

Outside, if you have the time and the foresight to bring swimming gear you will love the large pool. The area around the pool also looks a bit worn, but it is clean. The large gardens are lovely.

Room service, the food was hot on arrival but it was a long wait before it arrived. Breakfast - typical large hotel chain offering, the biggest frustration - getting a single cup of hot water and a teabag as opposed to a pot of tea! Snacks and meals in the bar and dining room - good, well presented and not overly priced.

Overall, a good business option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

First time in Kampala - just as an aside - it is quite a long way from EBB, Entebbe airport; approx an hour and a half including some traffic which is common on approach to the city. Efficient check-in. Very nice reception area, with coffee/tea bar and nice patisserie, plus little gift shops. Anthony on Reception very friendly and nice. In refurbished room, which ok. Bathroom very small and although also possibly refurbished, also show signs of neglect, but it's ok. No soap provided but that might ave been an oversight.... however, when entering my room, there was a hotel staff member already in it, which was a bit strange.... but perhaps he was just leaving some of the numerous bottles of water I found provided f.o.c. in the room. Empty fridge which I personally always find useful. Rooms seem clean and tidy, and the corridors are very swish/ornate - it's all obviously been done up quite recently. Nice areas outside for outdoor eating with attentive, friendly staff. Set in attractive, landscaped grounds with views over the city. Ate in the cafe lounge restaurant by Reception area which was pleasant and well-patronised. Food does not always quite match the menu (as my colleague noted who has stayed here several times thus year) but my tilapia fish was good. Nice selection of coffees and teas, which came with delicious homemade shortbread biscuits (cookies). Free wifi throughout, the reception was better however in the rooms than in the Lobby, which is unusual! Overall, a nice stay, but bathroom size might be an issue with some.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spent two nights during a recent business trip to Kampala. The Sheraton is very well located for business meetings, which is important given the sometimes appalling traffic. I was surprised to dsicover that it was originally built in the mid-1960s - clearly a lot of money has been spent on refurbishment. The swimming pool is very large. Service was excellent. The only negative was the basic quality of the bathroom fittings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After spending a couple of days in Jinja, I came back to Kampala. The Sheraton was great. A restaurant with good food and fresh salad, with the possibility to sit inside and outside. A good room with a comfortable bed and a good bathroom. The only thing lacking was the view from my room, but as it is dark very early in Kampala that was no issue for me.

The breakfast was decent but not exceptional.

The staff at reception and in the restaurant were friendly and efficient.

The hotel is not cheap, but very comfortable. If I return to Kampala, I will go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have been coming to this hotel on and off for 15 years. During that time it has had some highs but many more lows. These days though since the full refurbishment it is a nice, good value for money hotel. They had the vision during the refurb to remove the bath tubs from many of the rooms and to fit great walk in showers!
Rooms are a decent size , air conditioning works well and beds are comfortable.
The service is better than average (and much, much better than it used to be).
Food is a bit hit and miss but again improving.
Overall it is good value for money

Room Tip: Beware the traffic when going to the airport. At peak times allow a minimum of 60 minutes and better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was going to give an "average" rating, but having just looked through past photos I decided to review! I stayed in an executive room which appears (from the photos) to have been one of the refurbished ones. The fittings in the bedroom and bathroom were modern, although I felt that that bathroom was not as clean as it could be (mould in the shower etc), and in the bedroom there were marks on the walls and carpets.

The things I liked about my stay:
-very comfortable "Sheraton sweet sleeper" bed
-complimentary access to the Club Room
-they allowed me to check in 2 hours early without fuss (the same could not be said for my earlier stay in Kampala at the Protea)
-fast, free wifi
-ample towels in the bathroom (I hate it when you just get one and it's still wet when you use it in the morning after showering the previous night)


The things I didn't like about my stay:
-exceptionally noisy air conditioning (I had to sleep with earplugs)
-small room with little space around the bed (and on one side they crammed in a small chair - but it would have been impossible to get in and out of the bed with it there)
-painfully slow room service (over an hour to get a bowl of tagliatelle alfredo delivered)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kampala Sheraton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Address: Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kampala Sheraton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambience and a dazzling array of upscale amenities.Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the Central Business District area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 233 newly renovated guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort.Our well-equipped Fitness Centre – complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool – will make your stay more relaxing. If you’re joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities—including a Grand Ballroom—with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available.Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am.Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kampala Sheraton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kampala Sheraton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.