We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kampala Sheraton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Kampala
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“won over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed here for 23days last month, ideal for losing some weight as food is poor except for breakfast and sport facilities are reasonable with gym, squash, swiming pool and tennis available.
Entertainment every night with various bands.
Wide range of restaurants within walking distance, was sceptical about moving to Sheraton from small botique hotel and first class restaurant, but friendly staff and clean room has availed that.
Hotel is a bit jaded but they are continually upgrading rooms, just make sure you get room on quite side as band can be noisy

Room Tip: Check room before commiting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    125
    95
    50
    17
See reviews for
6
24
28
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The hotel is located in the busiest area of Kampala, very close to the main administrative buildings and business centers. Rooms are correct but you should expect more from a Sheraton. Bathroom very small and uncomfortable. Nice lobby area but service at the front desk could be more friendly. Restaurants are ok, particularly the outdoors one. Good balance between price and overall quality and service. Just for business trips and short stays.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

First the good - The staff are very friendly and try to help.

Now the bad - They seem powerless to resolve your difficulties because this hotel is so badly managed. Having stayed at this hotel for 4 nights/week for 3 months I was exposed to many of this hotels shortcomings. There was a mouse in my room one night; The shower did not work on another occassion; Front desk issued the same room key to a random guest who walked into my room one night; .....

My biggest complaint though is with the food. To begin with it is not that good and it takes 45 minutes to get your food. The buffet is the only other option but it gets tiring.

The only redeeming feature of this hotel is membership to SPG which helps a little when you get upgraded to a better room.

Bottom line - If you are here for a short trip you may not experience anything bad but if you are a frequent traveller avoid this hotel unless you love your SPG points :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear guest,

we do thank you for your reply. We are glad to read that our staff is friendly and you value our SPG program.

With regards to the rooms, we already have finished renovating half of the classic rooms, which includes new fittings in the bathrooms, upholstery of chairs, new carpets, ceilings and lights. We will finish this project early May.

Our recently appointed chef is finalising the new menu's and all our kitchen staff is being trained intensively, as to guarantee a complete new experience in all venue's of the hotel.

Again, we really appreciate your feedback and look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reykjavik
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights, last november. The room are very nice. Soft bed and good air conditioner. The service was very slow though, but that is just Uganda. I thought maby i could expect more from 4 star hotel..The food was good, especially the breakfast! Best breakfast buffet i have ever seen; but a little bit expensive..I got the best massages I've ever had. Didn't cost much! Maybe around 13$
This was very nice stay and i had a really good time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We get many good comments about our sweet sleeper beds, so yours doesn't really surprise us.

We have forwarded your positive comments about our excellent brekfast buffet to our kitchen staff; it really works as a good motivator to them.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed for four nights in the Sheraton in February. The rooms have an odd smell and are in desperate need of renovation. The hallways are also on the shabby side and have an even odder oder.

On the upside, the staff is very nice. If you are up for a party, the restaurants appear to host a lively scene every night. You can hear the party however from one full side of the hotel which makes sleeping a bit difficult.

This is not a five star hotel but the prices are.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear guest,

thanks for your response.

We completely agree with you that our classic rooms needed renovation. I am very happy to inform you that we have finished renovating over 50% of the classic rooms and they are now actually the best rooms in our hotel.

We will finish all of them within two months, so please book one of them when you come back to Sheraton Kampala.

We will continue to bring a lively entertainment program, as we realise that all our guests appreciate the atmosphere in our bars and restaurants.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in February. The ground floor facilities have been renovated so are fairly new and up to date. Wireless internet is a real mess. Works in the lobby but not the lobby bar. Worked sporadically in my room. Breakfast was OK. Basic room was very average but the bathroom was badly in need of renovation. The hotel has very nice grounds and it is very convenient to most meetings. Stay at the Hotel Serena if you can afford it but the Sheraton is the second choice in Kampala.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed here for just one ngiht on my way to Juba... Nothing great to share...
The room is not spaciaous, rather a little small... there were ,ot of ants in the room, specially near the Work table.. and they kept crawling on my hand and laptop... There was Coffee maker int he room but they were out of creamer or milk powder for the entire day...
The building looks like a Govt. office from outside...
Breakfast was good and so was coffee from the restaurant...
Staff was well behaved and helpfull... Spa is ok, but usually gets crowded in the evening...
I took a one hour massage whic was OK, nothing great, but relatively cheaper as well...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kampala Sheraton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Address: Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kampala Sheraton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambience and a dazzling array of upscale amenities.Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the Central Business District area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 233 newly renovated guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort.Our well-equipped Fitness Centre – complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool – will make your stay more relaxing. If you’re joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities—including a Grand Ballroom—with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available.Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am.Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Kampala Sheraton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kampala Sheraton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.