We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous grounds, huge pool, nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous grounds, huge pool, nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Allow yourself time to stroll thru the gardens while you enjoy your stay at this lovely resort. They offer a weekend package that is full board for a great price. They even have horse riding available. Inclusive in the package is a 30 minute boat ride on Lake Victoria. We had a couple of issues with our room, which effected our sleep. But when asking at the front desk if we would be able to delay our check out time in order to catch up on some lost sleep, they were quick to make amends. Instead of the 10 a.m. check out, we were moved to 3 p.m. The pool is Olympic size (I think) and can be crowded on the weekends. But if you know that in advance it shouldn't come as a surprise. Poolside food is expensive, but the beers are cold!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the lake. If booking in advance that would be a good time to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our array of services. We assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
18
16
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Interesting place, starting with the giant wood carving of Musveni towering over the lobby. The resort is massive and as a result has a tendency to feel rather empty and lifeless. The fact that the staff seem to outnumber the guests does not help either, given that they spend most of their time idle.

The reception staff did not seem to have been trained in customer service when dealing with requests for taxis or when checking in and out, and the food is very poor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

An awesome place to spend your time in Uganda. Good quality services , very clean rooms, nice holiday offers for the weekend. Very fast internet speeds, well reserved from the town noise and traffic jams. Overview of the lake with a lot of fun activities going on. Nice place to spend your festive seasons. Really loved the evening parties and networking. Very friendly , jovial and happy staff.

Room Tip: Room 501-515 are the best. They have a clear view of the Lake VIctoria from the balcon of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adis Ababa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

DO NOT GO THERE. I invited a family friend along with his three children and wife for the new-year (2013). I reserved two units of their two bed roomed furnished apartments but to our surprise one dining table was suspicious covered with linen at check-in . Little did we know that they were covering up a broken glass which they later made us pay (close to 200USD) at checkout. It was very embarrassing to my guests and family. The management was adamant at one point even mentioning that for the absence of hot water in one of the units, it was our responsibility to inform then rather than theirs to confirm the room stated prior to our Check-in. Despite having been a regular client before I found the treatment totally unacceptable as it even culminated in locking up our luggage and holding us in their control room prior to paying what we didn't break. I had also been there for the 2011 xmas and the diner was over congested with dignitaries eating while standing for lack of seats. I DON NOT ADVISE ANY BODY TO GO THERE

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your effort to highlight your grievance. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.We assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heemstede
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed four nights at Speke resort, which is part of the Munyonyo resort, a bit confusing. Nice place, spacious, quiet, beautiful gardens, huge and very good swimming pool. Pleasant rooms, good bathroom, and nice balcony. No wifi in rooms, only cabled internet which didn't work for most of the time. Wifi in lobby reasonable. Very nice restaurant with outside area but the food is not good. Limited choices and quality sub standard for a place like this. It also seemed to depend on the chef, the club sandwich was excellent the first day but unedible the second day.
We had the christmas package, all meals inclusive. They also have weekend packages.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms at the side of the small harbour, harbour tends to smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at Munyonyo for four days. it is an excellent hotel. the rooms are nice and beautiful. the staff was friendly. the food was mostly good (except for my last night when afew of us in the group got food poisoning).
Although i traveled there for business, i think it would be an ideal place for a holiday as most of the hotel is nice and quiet. However, i had afew incidences where hotel staff (who were not in uniform and therefore not cleaners but more "senior" staff) would stand/sit outside my door and chit chat loudly and i would have to ask them to keep it down cause i would be napping or working. That was the only unprofessional behavior i encountered.
My room didn't have a bathtub, which was a bit disappointing but over all the rooms, corridors, lobby, etc is well decorated, well lit and gives you the sense that you can relax.
An added perk is that they have security guards on different floors at all times day and night which gives a sense of the hotel being extremely secure which is more that i can say for some kampala hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Last time i stayed here in 2009 i was very unimpressed by the service levels provided in all of the departments. Nobody seemed like they wanted to be working there. However, i am happy to report a complete turnaround. Excellent, cheerful staff who actually assist you. Reception, restaurant and housekeeping have improved dramatically. The quality of the food is very good sometimes excellent in the restaurant and the bar staff are knowledgable, limited wine options but no complaints about what was there. Lovely outdoor terrace to have a meal at.The Resort and grounds have been beautifully maintained, everything worked in my room and the walk through the gardens to the main building is lovely. Hotel grounds are very dark at night but security is ALWAYS present. I wonder if all of these improvements are because of a change in management ? I am so pleased with the resort and hope it remains this way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Address: P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 90 acres in the Speke Resort complex and with a majestic view of Lake Victoria, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is Uganda’s leading 5-star resort.Specifically constructed to host the 2007 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort has earned worldwide recognition as ‘the Presidents’ resort. It has hosted numerous high profile guests, from Heads of State and foreign dignitaries to international celebrities, who consider it a home away from home.Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is dedicated to providing unrivalled comfort and unmatched services. The resort has 59 Presidential suites with a unique blend of traditional Ugandan and ultra modern furnishings that merge into the Pearl of Africa theme which is carried throughout the entire décor. The many room features and amenities ensure a seamless transition from pleasure to business and vice-versa.The meeting rooms, suitable for any occasion, are designed around your requirements and are all situated under one roof. We have comprehensive wellness and fitness facilities that assist body and mind to work in harmony. Munyonyo’s strategic location, close to business, shopping, and entertainment areas, make it the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort to your Saves list