We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort to your Saves list
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Kampala
dubai
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Big Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Last time i stayed here in 2009 i was very unimpressed by the service levels provided in all of the departments. Nobody seemed like they wanted to be working there. However, i am happy to report a complete turnaround. Excellent, cheerful staff who actually assist you. Reception, restaurant and housekeeping have improved dramatically. The quality of the food is very good sometimes excellent in the restaurant and the bar staff are knowledgable, limited wine options but no complaints about what was there. Lovely outdoor terrace to have a meal at.The Resort and grounds have been beautifully maintained, everything worked in my room and the walk through the gardens to the main building is lovely. Hotel grounds are very dark at night but security is ALWAYS present. I wonder if all of these improvements are because of a change in management ? I am so pleased with the resort and hope it remains this way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    37
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
17
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is an excellent hotel and resort in ALL respects. Except one. And that is the food. I have stayed and ate in the Serena, Sheraton and Protea hotels in Kampala and the buffets are EXCELLENT, Huge choice of foods, unlimited supply, mabye 30 dessert choices, etc etc etc. At the Commonwealth resort, which is better than all of the above, the food is buffet is WORSE than you could find at a three star hotel. Why? And it is the same price as the buffet's at the other hotels.

The buffet at the Commonwealth Resort has limited choice, and that is mostly local Ugandan dishes. Surely a SIMPLE MATTER to even just COPY the buffets at the other hotels. It is NOT rocket science, but the food provision really let;s down what would otherwise be a five star plus experience. Please get your act together on the food front.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I went here for a spiritual retreat... the staff really took care of all our needs and accommodated us very well. we had a few members of staff just to take care of the group.when we wanted to have meetings at 10or 11pm at night they very nicely with a smile accommodated us and still served us beverages and iceream.
this resort is so huge it is easy to lose yourself. it has a number of pools and some overlook the lake. there is a marina where you can have some meals too. the meals here are yummy. the rooms are very spacious and clean. there are lots of activities to do as well as alot of relaxation if that is what you are looking for. ideal for business, couples, kids.
as we were a large group we got a very decent rate. however it is a little pricey but definitely your moneys worth. will most definitely go again.

Room Tip: choose a room that is either on the ground or 1st floor. as then it may get a little tedious to clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed for all most 20 days couple of times and found very satisfactory on account to safety, Location, staff behavioral and services.
This hotels belongs to an Indian and 30% staff is Indian.
it gives you feels like luxury style and calm stay.I enjoyed living here. food was awesome and sight seen was like you have came to some special place to enjoy picnic, it is located near Kampala and Africa's biggest lake Victoria. and every day i had been provided special boating ride of an hour.
many sports activity you can do here. weather is dashing and calm. Enough space to walk and exploring things , you can find places for fishing lave site views and you can also go to near by island of gorilla's by resort boat.
they have artificial garden, big waterfall, and some wild animals.
I always love to stay here.

Room Tip: you can stay in speke resorts its good and luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Peaceful serene location with sumptuous dishes from continental to African to authentic Indian dishes...all are available in this place ...round the year.

Service quality is benchmark for other hotels to follow! !

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our array of cuisines & services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is set on the shores of lake victoria. It is a huge facility with a number of amenities. it should have been a great hotel when it was opened but it appears it could do with some touch up. The staff were quite friendly and the service was fair. On the whole the stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a new hotel. It looks swish from outside. There are actually two separate hotels - Speke and Munyonyo Commonwealth. They share the same reception, restaurants, etc. Just the rooms are very different.

The hotel is full of staff from India. From security to front desk, maintenance, restaurants, etc. I found this to be odd considering how high unemployment is in Uganda.

Check in was a shamble. The staff were all over the place. Concierge service was uniformed staff standing around. I had to ask them several times to have my banners taken to the conference room. When they did "Sir the room is closed" So I went with them, and found out you had to push a closed door for it to open. The staff ride around in gold carts very fast.

The rooms are mediocre. This is a new hotel, so why do they have keys, and not key cards? The key rings are bits of wood with your room number written on them by hand. The bathroom is basic. The room is basic. The bed was awful with a blanket and really bad pillows. We were a group of over 35. At least 25 of us had issues with the in room safe not working.

The TV is very small. There is free plugged in Internet which was good. There is a mosquito net that divides the rooms. Got annoying trying to work your way through it all the time. The Air con was very noisy.

Food is vert basic. The staff are ill trained, and cannot understand basic requests - Hot Chocolate, Diet Coke, ice on the side, etc. Breakfast was very very basic. You could not see where egg orders were taken. The chefs were not proactive. Most of the food was local with very little International (apart from Indian) food on the buffet. The juices were all boxed or tinned, yet so much fresh fruit is available. Also you get given coupons to take to breakfast. How archaic. I forgot mine on both morning, and told them. They crossed my name off a list (like how most hotels do so around the world). Also you could not get a plate unless your name was on the list.

The grounds were nice. For US$115 per night BB, it was excellent value. I would have paid more to have a better room and experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!!

We appreciate your effort to highlight our points where we do need to work on in order to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Address: P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 90 acres in the Speke Resort complex and with a majestic view of Lake Victoria, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is Uganda’s leading 5-star resort.Specifically constructed to host the 2007 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort has earned worldwide recognition as ‘the Presidents’ resort. It has hosted numerous high profile guests, from Heads of State and foreign dignitaries to international celebrities, who consider it a home away from home.Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is dedicated to providing unrivalled comfort and unmatched services. The resort has 59 Presidential suites with a unique blend of traditional Ugandan and ultra modern furnishings that merge into the Pearl of Africa theme which is carried throughout the entire décor. The many room features and amenities ensure a seamless transition from pleasure to business and vice-versa.The meeting rooms, suitable for any occasion, are designed around your requirements and are all situated under one roof. We have comprehensive wellness and fitness facilities that assist body and mind to work in harmony. Munyonyo’s strategic location, close to business, shopping, and entertainment areas, make it the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.