We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Save Saved
You added Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Kampala
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed at the Speke Resort and Conference Centre on a business trip. The rooms are nice but a bit bare and with a very odd layout including something which resembles a kitchen but is not. The only thing is that the room are not clean espcially the bathroom where the tiles looks like they have not been cleaned for a long time and had quite a few dead mosquitoes left smashed on them. One of the days my bathroom had not been cleaned but the house keeper denied this and said she had left the towels on the floor becasue she thought "this was the way I liked it" hmmmmmmm. There is a lot of staff at the hotels but most of them seem to have nothing or very little to do. The room next to mine was used by the housekeepers as their break room and they seem to spend most ot their time sitting on the terrace chatting. Same thing during breakfast where most waiters stood around idle and were reluctant to assist you not to mention a member of staff in the bar who sat down for a snack when it got really busy.

The grounds off the hotel are really nice as is the location and with few changes to staff and service could be a really nice hotel I would return too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!!

We appreciate your effort to highlight our points where we do need to work on in order to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    37
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
17
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Came for a conference. Great location on the lake, amazing birds and surroundings.
Lovely staff although the reception desk was a bit useless, but things always worked out in the end. The housekeeping staff were wonderful, i think there may have been more staff than residents. Did a fun run outside of the resort too, the views from the hills are great. I thought the food, though pretty standard, was good for African resort of this type.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor room near the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I accidentally booked the Speke Resort instead of the Speke Hotel. The resort was on lovely grounds and the rooms were nice. The pool and fitness center were fantastic. And I was surprised to get free meal tickets for the weekend (food was delicious). The downside was that this hotel was way outside of Kampala. The trips into town for my meetings took on average an hour but it was really hard to predict because of traffic. So this would be a great place for a family holiday or a conference, but if you have business in Kampala, it's a pain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel grounds are expansive and beautiful. The gardens are lush and the views of Lake Victoria are wonderful. There is a lot of space to walk and explore the area. I was there for a conference, so most of the meals were buffet-style in the restaurant. The food was good and different everyday. I had a meal by the pool restaurant one day and the atmosphere was great. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

The rooms, while big, were mediocre. The rooms in the wing I was in (there are separate buildings for different rooms) were NOT at all like the rooms they show on their website online. The rooms from the pictures online are in the main building (where the reception lobby is) and I imagine a lot more expensive to stay in. I did check out a room and the are luxurious and comfy. I had a one bedroom suite (one room with a large bed, desk, and bathroom and the other room with a sitting area and a kitchenette). The rooms were bare-minimums and lacked any sort of style and the tv was very small. The bed was large, but the mattress was thin and not very comfortable and the mosquito net over the bed had holes and tears in it. The kitchenette had a fridge and stove, but no microwave. There was a nice round table for eating as well. The a corner in the bathroom flooded (from a backed-up drain) every time I used the shower/bath. Surprisingly, there also wasn't a clock in the room and one day when I called for a wake-up call, they never called and I slept late! (They did call the other days I was there though when I let them know of the incident.). The housekeeping staff was very friendly and did a good job. Room service was very quick.

As mentioned, the hotel is about an hour from the airport and is not close to central Kampala. There isn't too much in terms of restaurants around the hotel area, and traffic in that area is also terrible. Be sure to anticipate traffic jams in to your plans if you roam around outside the hotel grounds.

Because the conference I was attending was at the hotel, it was very convenient and if attending another conference in Kampala, I would recommend this place. It IS beautiful. If I had other business out and about in Kampala, I would not stay here, just because it is not conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We can in as a group for a conference and were stressed after hitting traffic from Entebbe and the reception process was not professionalised despite the fact that all our passport information was forwarded beforehand by the organisers. The Lake Victoria is just amazing! The food is not that great, but the ambience is really amazing! Its a bit out of the centrality of the people and the towns, so it was a bit isolated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel couldn't have better location. Next to the Victoria lake and surrounded by nature, this hotel takes advantage of this place to make your stay enjoyable. It's about 40 minutes ride from Entebbe airport and has everything you need to have a good stay in Africa (there are horses to ride!).

Good things: Big rooms, good views, good room service, good food in the restaurant, open air restaurant, free internet, friendly staff, awesome swimming pool

Things to improve: Check in/out speed, door lock system, mosquito nets, noise in the AC's, stiff mattress, amount of towels in the room, smell of the tap water

I've been in this hotel around 4 times, and although the service is still good and I enjoy my stay every time, the last time I was disappointed with 2 things:

1. The mosquito net over the bed is not over the bed anymore but it was replaced with 2 curtains besides, with lots of gaps in between, so all the mosquitos can come and bite you even if you do your best to close the curtains
2. I got a room very close to the bar and there was loud music till late, so I couldn't sleep properly as I normally do

In general it's a good value for money

Room Tip: One away from the bar as it could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Grounds are gorgeous and restaurant is nice, but rooms are horrible. Stained sheets and bedspread, filthy moldy shower/tub, broken faucets, lack of sufficient towels, very disinterested attitude by staff. Beds are not comfortable, and sheets, in addition to being stained, were pilled and rough. This place is very expensive, and not worth even half the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!!

We appreciate your effort to highlight our points where we do need to work on in order to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Address: P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 90 acres in the Speke Resort complex and with a majestic view of Lake Victoria, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is Uganda’s leading 5-star resort.Specifically constructed to host the 2007 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort has earned worldwide recognition as ‘the Presidents’ resort. It has hosted numerous high profile guests, from Heads of State and foreign dignitaries to international celebrities, who consider it a home away from home.Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is dedicated to providing unrivalled comfort and unmatched services. The resort has 59 Presidential suites with a unique blend of traditional Ugandan and ultra modern furnishings that merge into the Pearl of Africa theme which is carried throughout the entire décor. The many room features and amenities ensure a seamless transition from pleasure to business and vice-versa.The meeting rooms, suitable for any occasion, are designed around your requirements and are all situated under one roof. We have comprehensive wellness and fitness facilities that assist body and mind to work in harmony. Munyonyo’s strategic location, close to business, shopping, and entertainment areas, make it the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.