We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis at Lake Mburo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mburo Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mburo Safari Lodge
Save
You added Mburo Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Portal Avenue | Span House, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
McKinney, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oasis at Lake Mburo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I led a medical mission team in June and we chose to save time and money by decompressing at Lake Mburo instead of Mweya. The entire team was thrilled with our stay. The isolated location was peaceful. The food was excellent. The rooms were in great condition. The views were very nice from the back porch of each cabin. The showers were all hot. The views from the main lodge were especially enjoyable with the entire building being open air. The cabins all have lights, but be aware that none of them have electric outlets. This can be a bit of a surprise if you are expecting to use blow dryers. They did let us charge our electronics at the main lodge, though. The manager, Jude, was outstanding, and led his staff with friendliness, always making sure to identify ways to overcome the little things that tend to come up when you are relaxing at the end of the road. Be aware that the swimming pool is not finished. Not a big deal, though. You could spend all day sitting in a chair relaxing and reading on the upper deck of the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I came across the Mburu Safari lodge by chance during a site visit to arrange a study abroad tour for Ohio State University, and on the basis of a quick but positive impression, booked a couple of days there at the end of the trip. We were not disappointed, in fact, after several weeks of more modest accommodations, students were overwhelmed by the beauty, comfort and hospitality of the Mburu lodge. The impact was all the greater due to our long journey from Jinja, and rough travel through the park in the dark. Upon arrival at the lodge at 10 pm, we were warmly received by the staff, with solar lights, hot face towels, & hot delicious food, not to mention escorts to our rooms and yes, hot showers. “Is this a joke?” quipped one incredulous student. The lodge is special in a number of ways. Its location, deep inside the park, puts you in close proximity with the wildlife & flora you have journeyed so far to see. The lodge is beautifully, simply elegant, and not overdone, letting the local materials used and the natural beauty of the setting speak for themselves. Although we had more internet connectivity than I expected (a mixed blessing; but good for students needing to do online research) I was personally very glad that there was no blaring TV or music so omnipresent elsewhere. The innovations with solar heating and lighting are encouraging & work well. The food is wonderful (particular kudos on the tomato soup!) and the staff, including Mr. Jude, Mr. Alex and others, very professional and accommodating in helping us set up game viewing by bus, boat, & on foot. What more can I say?

Laura Joseph
Assistant Director
OSU Center for African Studies

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at this lodge in May 2013 with my wife, daughter and friend. The manager and staff were very welcoming. The self-contained rooms with shower and toilet were very comfortable with good beds. View across the valley great. Service and food excellent. We went out for an early morning game drive in the Lake National Park, excellent for many varieties of antelope and zebra. Overall, a really nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our Compassion tour group stayed here in January 2013. The staff made us feel like royalty during our entire visit. I enjoyed the view from our balcony and watched wildlife grazing by in the early morning. The food was delicious and well presented. We went on the safari and boat ride while there and got some great photos. Great food, service, accommodations, and view.
The thing that stands out most in my mind about this lodge is how eager the owner and staff were to please us. The owner wanted this to be a great experience and went to great lengths to make sure that we were all having a wonderful experience.
I hope to go back again one day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived ahead of our friends to set up our tent and were escorted to a very nice grassy place very near the main lodge but with privacy. Jude saw that we had a camp fire, a place for a nice hot shower, and flush toilets are available. It is way better than the camping amenities at the Lake Mburo National Park campsites for only a little more money. The hopitality was very, very, fine, Ugandan hospitality. Our friends arrived a day later and they stayed in the independent cabins. As I took my friend to Zebra cabin we saw two Zebra from the front porch just grazing away. One of my friends got to see a leopard jump from a tree and run off into the grass when walking to the main lodge from her cabin for a bite to eat. The food was good and well presented but not as spicy or as unusual as I might like. Went for walks from the lodge grounds and got to see lots of animals without having to pay a Lake Mburo National Park guide to go walk around. People in the area were very kind and welcoming. Got some great pictures and loved the time there. The only draw back was when one person takes a long hot shower...there may not be enough water for a second long hot shower for awhile...but Jude apologized and allowed use of another shower.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at the Mburo Safari Lodge for one night last week. Wish we could have stayed longer. My wife and I had the Hippo room which was actually a cottage. It had a back porch where we could sit and watch the wildlife. Can't say enough good things about this place and their staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at Mburo Safari Lodge for one night and it was truly wonderful! Everything was top notch, and after our stay in Buhoma this was pure luxury! Beautiful rooms, nice staff and very good food! It is to bad that they don't have a gallery on ther webpage, had we known it would be this nice we would probably have stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mburo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mburo Safari Lodge

Address: Portal Avenue | Span House, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kampala
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mburo Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.