We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet music-Great way to spend your sunday afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ndere Centre

Ndere Centre
Plot 2872 - 9867 Butukirwa | P. O. Box 11353, Kampala, Uganda
256 772 200 104
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 attractions in Kampala
Type: Performances
Attraction Details
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sweet music-Great way to spend your sunday afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The experience is inexplicable. You just have to experience it. It will be worth your time and more so that the proceeds are towards a worthy cause.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    38
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The Best Show in Town and possibly Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was simply a fantastic evening and it was one of the best shows we've been at and that includes the various musicals and events we've been at in the western world. Its held in the open and is compered by a very funny guy and he has some funny lines as well as taking an irreverent look at Uganda and previous Dictators. The dancing is fabulous and the drummers are incredible. The 4 hours we spent there went by very quickly and we will go back there again.
There is food and drink available. A really perfect evening and highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A not to be missed experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This show is a fabulous four hour extravaganza. An outdoor setting, excellent music played on traditional instruments, amazing traditional dance, very interesting and amusing narrator and a hot buffet should you wish to partake. We went to Ndere not really knowing what to expect and came away wanting to see it all again there and then. A wonderful evening. We will go again when in Kampala.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best tourist 'cultural' activity in Kampala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Ndere is a great night out. The dancing may be a westernised version of what tourists expect africa to be like, but when its this good that doesnt really matter. The host, one of the stars of 'The Last King of Scotland' is fantastic, crowd involvement fun without ever being embarrassing, the music is great, food good and smiles aplenty. Im an expat, I thought I would hate it but I had a great time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Lovely atmosphere a bit outside the city so it was nice and calm. The seating was garden furniture chairs and tables in a semi circle on several levels so everyone had a great view of the stage below and a table to eat at. I didn't try the buffe but it looked ok. The show was nice but extreemly touristy. The guy who runs the place does a comedian talk show between each song/dance which is fun. Everyone got to come down and join in the dancing at the end. Much better than I had expected.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ndere Centre also viewed

Nakitoma, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Ndere Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ndere Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ndere Centre to your Saves list