We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manhattan Guesthouse to your Saves list
Manhattan Guesthouse
Balintuma Road | Namirembe, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 104 Kampala B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Value Option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've just spent the last two months at the Manhattan Guest House and found it to be an excellent value option in Kampala. I think you have to consider the price when providing feedback on the room quality. They are basic, but they're also clean and comfortable. They can also be a bit noisy, but not overly so for Kampala, and it's generally quiet at night. The thing that sets MGH apart (in a good way) are the people who work there. They will bend over backwards to make sure your stay is a good one. They really are the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Manhattan guesthouse is a fine, well located place with good and friendly service. The rooms are Ok with working hot showers and the garden is great.
It is a 15 minute walk to the exciting ciity center and far away from the noisy citylife.
The only problem was the party noise from a place half a block away that kept on untill two at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights in Manhattan Guesthouse around New Year's Eve. The room was clean but a little bit shabby. They have a restaurant and a bar. The food they prepared was delicious however, they were always run out of beer or it was warm. The owner and her daughter were every friendly and helpful. So was the rest of the staff. The guesthouse it self is located on of the Kampala's hills very close to Namirembe Cathedral and Ghadaffi's mosque. The city center is within 40 minutes walking distance but of course you can always negotiate cheap boda boda. It is close to the King's Palace and within walking distance to Kasubi Hill.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I spent two months at the Manhattan this summer and it was fantastic. It really felt like a home and the staff were always there helping out and being a friendly face. The rooms were cleaned daily and the bathrooms were fantastic considering where it is located (some rooms do have a hand held shower, but most of them are proper ones!). The food is lovely, especially the goat and chips, although the menu is quite limited so if you are there for a while it's best to explore the area. It is in a great location for reaching Garden City and the centre of the city and has a great view from the front garden over the surrounding hills. It is quite a quiet place, although the occasional flash of music can be heard from the road below, but that's just Uganda for you! It is also a very reasonable price so I would definitely definitely recommend it and go again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our charity teams have been staying at Manhattan for five years. We like the small size, which means personal service. The rooms are basic, but clean, and showers are usually warm. The location is good--up on a hill, the breeze usually blows and the traffic noise is not too bad. If you are looking for something 'western', go to one of the hotels in town, but if you are looking for a reasonable price, and a more Ugandan experience, we have always found Manhattan to be good.

Room Tip: I like the rooms along the 'back' as it is quieter and the showers are warm more often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed in Manhattan for 3 weeks while we were volunteering in Nakulabye, Kampala, It is a lovely haven and although basic ( sometimes showers were cold - but that was fine), the staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. It is reasonably quiet at night time ( which is unusual in Africa) and the food is ok . The prices are reasonable too - will stay there again if we get back to Uganda - I do hope so

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbys
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I have stayed at The Manhattan for 3 consecutive years now and each time return it's like going home.
The hotel is very well placed for Kampala close to Mengo. The garden is set high off the road and provides a beautiful sun set setting when the sky allows.
The staff are the unique and amazing ingredient here...they are just wonderful and I have never felt anything less than special. Nothing is too much and they always have a smile and time for a greeting...in fact, they make feel so welcome, I now feel part of the family.
The rooms are basic but all have mosquito nets and are en suite...they serve food and drink.
All I have to really say is I will be back there EVERY time I go to Uganda...and I would HIGHLY recommend anyone to use it!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Guesthouse

Address: Balintuma Road | Namirembe, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattan guest house is located on top of one of the seven Kampala hills, Namirembe in Uganda.Our rooms offer a warm and relaxing atmosphere. Room facilities include TVs, and they are all self contained. Rates include Breakfast.Our restaurant serves a wide variety of local and international foods. Our friendly and courteous staff offer personalized service that leaves memorable experiencesWe do have group buffets and meals ranging from 5000 to 10,000 Uganda shillings per plate.We do have room service all day anytime.Please note:Cancellation policy: 72hrs advance notice.Late cancellation or noshow � one night charge.Payment upon arrival by cash only.Check in from 12.00.Check out before 12.00.Breakfast included.Taxes included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Manhattan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.