We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice drinks, average dishes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coffee at Last

Coffee at Last
Mobutu Road | Makindye Hill after Hospice & opposite the American Club, Kampala +256, Uganda
+256704263333
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 217 Restaurants in Kampala
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Wine Bar, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice drinks, average dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a very pleasant lunch with friends at Coffee at Last. Drinks and atmosphere were nice, and staff was attentive. The food was very mediocre, however. The pizza was below average, comparable to school-cafeteria or frozen pizza. Sandwiches were better, though still would not go out of way to eat here. Better to stick with coffee, fruity-drinks, and desserts. I agree with recent reviews that question how this tiny restaurant is rated so highly among other much better choices in Kampala. Probably more because of few loyal regulars. My guess is that this will not last.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albert N, Owner at Coffee at Last, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Joshua, thank you for you review... we have done a few things since to improve your experience. Please do drop by again. Looking forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the #1 Restaurant in Kampala”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This little restaurant in the Makindye neighborhood is a staple for coffee in the area, and from all the reviews it seems that their clientele like the place. I have lived in the area for a few years and came to have pizza once and although I found the wait staff great, found the pizza very mediocre. There are great restaurants in Kampala that have pizza, including Cafe Roma, Il Patio, and Mediterraneo. Coffee at Last is not one of those. Come for the coffee and good service--don't make a special trip to this noisy neighborhood with little restaurant ambiance compared to some of Kampala's best.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albert N, Owner at Coffee at Last, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Pigmykingfisher, thank youfor your review. We have intentinally done a few things to improve your experience at our location in Makindye. Pls do try us out again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fresh ground coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Nice music in all towns of Uganda big screen T.v much bigger like a theater which was something new. Hugh speaker. again in different towns of Uganda

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

its very nice place to be and every clean environment, and i encourage every one who visits Uganda and you are staying near Kampala and makindye areas should visit the place this is best place i have seen in kampala

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albert N, Owner at Coffee at Last, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind review Kjong... looking forward tohosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food for acceptable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

if you want a latte in kampala this is one of the best places. I can also recommend the pizza. the place is very clean with friendly staff. I would fully recommend that to anyone who seeks a bit relaxation from the very busy kampala!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee at Last also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Coffee at Last? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coffee at Last, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.