We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Silver Springs Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Bell Road, Bugolobi, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Spent 5 days here. Check - in was a breeze, the room was adequate with a comfortable bed, very wide shower with a square head, I absolutely loved it! Also had generous cabinet space, and a table and chair, perfect for us writey types. Breakfast was a pleasant mix of local and western cuisine with the awesome pineapple as a staple. Be sure to confirm airport transfer though I had to make a plan after a mix up. Pleasant hotel, much more homely than some of the larger ones in town. Good location near Makerere University and a shopping mall with key amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the road, can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
3
1
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kampala, uganda
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We went here for lunch. We had 3 dishes off the Indian menu and i have to say it was much better tham anticipated. I have a new favourite place for Indian food.

The place also offers many other types of food including wood fire pizza but we didnt order this. There was a cinference on at the time and they were having a buffet lynch which looked very good.

The place has good grounds and includes a swimming pool.

Our waiter was super helpful and when we ordered a partucular dish he warned us that due to the type of cooking we should expect a wait. The wait was reasonable and the food very yummy.

If you are in the area or need a co ference venue the food is very good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groblersdal, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The porter at this hotel was actually so helpful he became painful at times! Great hotel, friendly staff, clean. Very nice restaurants and interesting traditional as well as continental food choices at buffets. Try the ground bean sauce served with everything!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed here for a conference in March and the hotel and guest rooms were spotless. The grounds were beautifully manicured and staff seemed to be working around the clock to keep it that way! The pizza was delicious, as were the breakfast and lunch buffets. The air con was very welcome and the rooms and bathrooms were large and well equipped. I look forward to returning in August :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

As an organisation we have used this hotel situated in one of the Kampala suburbs called Bugolobi. It's great value for money. If new to Uganda you get to see the surbubs in Kampala. The rooms are clean and attractive. The conference services are good. It can be noisy on weekends or days when they host weddings.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brione sopra Minusio, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

A little overpriced but with excellent services. It's hard to find a hotel in Africa. Really good!
Just outside of Kampala, quiet, good food,..
Probably not 200$ a night worth, but if u book trough an agent you can get it for 100$.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Whenever I travel to Kampala on work, I prefer staying at Silver Springs.
The staff is polite as well as efficient.
The restaurant has a wide menu which never disappoints. Quite often they have BBQ dinners which seem very popular with the local crowd. The breakfasts have a decent variety and apart from their fresh fruit juices, everything else is great.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathrooms are large with hot water available at all times of the day. In-room cable has a large variety or channels. The location is great as well, with the nearest supermarket barely 5 minutes away.

The pool though small, is well maintained. I shall continue visiting this place on all my future trips to Kampala.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Port Bell Road, Bugolobi, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.