We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New City Annex

New City Annex
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New City Annex
Save
You added New City Annex to your Saves list
Dewinton Street, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 121 Kampala B&B and Inns
kampala
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here a few times while working in Uganda. Clean rooms, hot showers, safe, great location. Cheaper than Red Chili and in a much, much better location. Bring earplugs, but it was always quiet for me. I've heard the new wing (through the restaurant) is better than the original wing, but the original wing will serve your budget accommodation needs perfectly well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
5
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
masaka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I wouldn't advice anybody to stay in New City Annex Hotel. I stayed there for 5 times in the past 3 years, just because the location is good and the prices low.
But after all the struggles I experienced every time I stayed there I now decided never to go back.
It starts by booking a room. The staff is never speaking clear on the phone and are not friendly.
For 3 times in a row I arrived at Annex and they told me they didn't receive my booking.

The hotel has a few nice rooms with enough space and a window. But there are many rooms without any window, even a fan is not available. One time I had a room above the kitchen it was very noisy, hot, and smelly so I didn't sleep at all.

The walls are so thin that you can hear every small sound your neighbor makes.

When there are any problems or miscommunications the staff is not friendly or helpful at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This seems the best budget option, location wise, in Kampala. The usual cheapies - Red Chilli and Kampala Backpackers - are a way from the centre. They're also not that cheap. NCA is bang in the centre, opposite the National Theatre and Parliament Building, and is very reasonably priced (rooms starting at 25,000 UGX). Food also good.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Good value for money especially because it is in the centre of Kampala. The staff is very friendly and they really keep the rooms and shared bathrooms very very clean. Only comment is that the mattresses have seen better days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, Uganda
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stay at "The Annex" 99% of the time I am in Kampala. It is perfectly located in the city center near shopping malls and taxi parks. The rooms are always clean with sheets, blankets, towels, little soaps, and shower shoes. The showers and toilets are communal, but hot and clean, respectively. Make sure you test your fan when you check in; if it doesn't work one of the numerous cleaning ladies can help you get a new one. The restaurant inside is nice for local food, but the Indian Restaurant up the street has a wonderful meat platter. There are supermarkets and pharmacies on the same street. (Hint: buy bottled water and soda there, its cheaper) You can also ask for extra mattresses for the floor if you have a group instead of getting more beds.

Room Tip: My favorite room is 118 (triple room) on the North Wing near reception because it has a balcony. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We've stayed at the New City Annex several times this year. The staff have been helpful and its general location met our needs better than other Kampala hotels we've used. We found the central restaurant area very useful as a meeting place. The New City Annex can be noisy at nights because it attracts a youngish crowd, but we've never felt unsafe while staying there. Room standards reflect the budget price so be prepared for an organic experience rather than pristine comfort.

Room Tip: Rm 126 is above the kitchen; it can be noisy and hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

New City Annex is a great budget place in central Kampala. It's clean, safe with friendly staff and great location - opposite the National Theatre & craft village, 5min walking from the Garden City and Oasis shopping centre. Great indian restaurants on the same street - Hare Krishna's Govinda and Chat Massala. However, it's a budget place after all. The small rooms at the front (uo the narrow stairs) are ridicolous, size of a shoe box and with thin walls. Rooms at the backside are much nicer and quieter. I wouldn't bother with the restaurant - ate there three times and wasn't impressed at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New City Annex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New City Annex

Address: Dewinton Street, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
New City Annex Hotel Kampala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New City Annex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.