We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value but staff raise apathy to an art form” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aponye Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aponye Hotel
Apollo House,Plot 17B William Street | Next to Equity bank & UBA Bank and Majestic Plaza, Kampala +256, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Decent value but staff raise apathy to an art form”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed here mostly for its handy location smack bang downtown close to the taxi park. It is a funny place in that it is above a shopping mall and it is not so easy to get up to the hotel (3rd floor) when you have lots of bags and their perpetually out of order elevator is, well, out of order.
I stayed first in a double room with fan as there were no singles, it was about $23 but did have wifi and a tv with 3 channels, one of which showed some olympics in portuguese.
The room was ok but the fan was nowhere near the bed so was quite useless. On opening the window I got bitten hundreds of times - the mozzies around there are fierce.
It was a little noisy overnight with banging or doors going till 2 or 3 am (sounded more like staff that guests) and then some hammering at 7 am.So the next night I moved into another room which had a/c and was $27. This was better and quieter and i could leave the window closed. The TV did not really work though i don't go to Africa for TV.

The shower was pretty poor with the hot water more of an imagined warmth than actual but it worked, and after 2 days of bucket baths in Murchison i was ok with that.
A final word on the staff. While the porters are quite helpful the desk ladies could not give less of a damn if they tried. But trying is not in their job description. I found it more amusing than anything else but I could see how it could get annoying if you actually needed help. Their laundry is weird, charging more to wash socks than trousers, but it is what it is.

Fora night or two if you have an early taxi in the morning it is fine and a lot cheaper than the mid range hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid the ones with the balcony that opens into the courtyard. Balconies over the main road are coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
4
20
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I am writing this review as I sit on the bed in my room at the Aponye Hotel, at 3:39am, because I cannot sleep due to the deafening base coming from who-knows-where saturating my room. I am wearing ear plugs. I asked to be moved but the woman at the front desk stared at me blankly and told me I would have to pay more to move to a quieter section.

Customer service here is terrible; appropriate for a dive like the Hotel Aponye.

There are also many cockroaches in my room. Big ones, little ones... It’s pretty gross. I have been living in Uganda for about three months now and have never seen such an infestation anywhere else I have stayed.

My word of advice is to just go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel arraigned an airport transfer for us, which was great until we went to pay for it. The e-mail from the hotel listed one price, but the driver demanded more. This occurred at the front desk with the hotel manager present. We produced the e-mail but the manager and the driver both said the e-mail was wrong and we would have to pay more.

We attempted to change our US currency into Ugandan shillings at the airport, but the driver insisted that we wait, that we could get a better rate elsewhere. Against my better judgement I listened. When we get to the hotel, the manager kept finding "problems" with our US currency, and would not accept it. Although she would gladly "hold" a "bad" $100 bill until we could get to a bank the next day, after we told her we had to leave at 7:00 to catch a bus. I was finally able to find an ATM so we could pay her. Sure enough there was no-one around except for a guard sleeping on the lobby couch when we left the next morning.

The service was rude, the restaurant was below average, and overall it was not a good experience. The only good thing about this hotel was the proximity to the Post Office if you need to catch the Post Bus to other parts of the country.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Where do I start? The person (woman) at the reception/front desk was very unprofessional. I called from overseas to check to see that my family member had arrived and checked in okay and i was treated to rudeness!!!!!!! Because I did not know his room number I was shut down and told there are many 'bazungu' (white people) there and how was she supposed to know who he was...never mind the fact that I gave both his names a number of times. Her other phone then rang and without putting me on hold she went ahead to answer it and why am I not surprised that it was a persoanl call? Finally she hang up on me because I guess she thought it was the next best thing to do. Stay at this place at your own risk!!!! If the first bit of service (or lack of) is what they are offering, then I do not want to even know what the rest of the hotel has to offer. Shame on you Aponye...better step up!!!! with your customer service or get out of the businesss of hospitality all together!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not waste your time and mind! You'll go crazy after dealing with the crappy front desk woman.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Situated downtown on busy street. Ok if you have a room at the back or middle as quieter. Reasonably clean but questionable electrics - wires hanging out of walls etc. Main issue for me was poor service, especially in the restaurant. Unfriendly, slow, and inflexible. Having said that, it is probably one of the cheaper hotels around

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rwanda
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

For $30 per night for an air-conditioned double it is a reasonable price with helpful staff, wireless Internet, and clean sheets. But you get what you pay for: the bare minimum. Our room was not vacuumed under the bed and we couldn't stop sneezing and the duvet covers on top of the sheets were full of dust. There were cobwebs in the corners of the rooms and the mosquitoes were aggressive even with the nets. And the balcony was hilarious: Built but then encased in glass around it so no fresh air at night so defeats the purpose of a balcony. So, if you can find another hotel for the same price but is actually cleaned beyond the sheets and is sprayed for mosquitoes choose it instead. Maybe the free wireless Internet is what puts this hotel above the competition. But I think their days are numbered. And the shower rarely had hot water, cold water was too cold, and the shower did not have enough pressure.

Room Tip: Check under the bed and the ceiling corners for dust and cobwebs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

wish they were more helpful ,.it took ages for a coffee and sandwichm,too much security men in the streets it scared me,wish managment there showed some appreciation ,..no lift working ,.its to busy the streets there for any walking about in comfort,.i would not recomend the bus journey from kampala to nairobi,.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#41 of 58 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Casa Miltu Hotel
Casa Miltu Hotel
#47 of 58 in Kampala
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
0.9 mi away
The Mackinnon Suites
The Mackinnon Suites
#36 of 58 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 58 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Mosa Court Suites
Mosa Court Suites
#25 of 58 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Free Parking, M...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Dolphin Suites
Dolphin Suites
#26 of 58 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aponye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aponye Hotel

Address: Apollo House,Plot 17B William Street | Next to Equity bank & UBA Bank and Majestic Plaza, Kampala +256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 58 hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 52 elegant, self contained; air conditioned and well furnished executive rooms fitted with DSTV and Cable TV.It is within walking distance to and from the bus and taxi stations, shopping malls, African craft shops, cultural centres, major banks, universities, government offices and foreign missions.Aponye hotel is a favorite of foreign tourists and the business community because of its price friendly and affordable accomodation,utmost good care and hospitality extended to its guests ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aponye Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aponye Hotel to your Saves list