We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, secure with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aponye Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aponye Hotel
Save
You added Aponye Hotel to your Saves list
Apollo House,Plot 17B William Street | Next to Equity bank & UBA Bank and Majestic Plaza, Kampala +256, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, secure with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed here twice on my travels. The manager and staff were very helpful, the rooms clean and security good - felt safe as a solo female traveler.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
4
20
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed at the Aponye Hotel twice. The second time there was a misunderstanding regarding the booking and the general manager upgraded us to a better room. He then took care of us, gave us advices about places to go and visit, brought us personally to an exchange office with very good rates, organized the taxis in the early morning hours and brought all our postcards to the post office after we left. Excellent service! Thank you!
The rooms are very good quality for the price and there is a storage room where they can keep your valuables for all the days you need.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We booked this hotel last minute for a stay of two nights and were not disappointed.

The hotel is very modern, clean and comfortable, and the restaurant offers good quality food . However, there are a few drawbacks, principally that the lift is permanently out of order and the hotel rooms are several flights of stairs from street level. Don't book if you're unfit! Also, the mosquito net was in poor condition so I got bitten a few times.

Having said that, the rooms are ever so cheap and the ceiling fan and small balcony were nice additions.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I have now stayed at this hotel three times and would not consider going back to Kampala and staying anywhere else ! I love it there ! The rates are unbelievably reasonable for what you get, I have hardly ever had a problem getting hot water, maybe once or twice in the morning but that is when everyone else is showering so it's understandable and the staff are fantastic...nothing is too much trouble and they are extremely friendly and helpful...I have never once had to carry my own bags up the stairs as the staff do it before you even ask....I have never ever seen prostitutes or pimps there and I did ask them after reading that review....apparently they were brought in by some undesirables who were staying there that time so I really do not think that is an issue.I truly honestly could not recommend this hotel more...they make you feel like you are at home away from home....and the restaurant food is probably one of the best Ive eaten in Kampala-fantastic chef !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I absolutely loved this hotel. What was so special was the staff - I travel all the time and they really stood out as being particularly friendly and professional. The hotel had a lovely, warm, inviting feel about it and I really enjoyed staying there. Breakfast was nice - and you really get value for money here.
I recommend it.
Paula Slier

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

In general, the Aponye is much better than one would expect given how inexpensive it is - rooms are clean, staff is helpful, rooms have satellite tv, there's free wireless Internet that is accessible just about everywhere. Sure, it doesn't include breakfast in the price of the room like a lot of Kampala hotels do - but even when you include an extra 5000 ush it's still a screaming deal, and the restaurant is much better than average (try the Jeera chicken).

This is my one complaint, and it's significant enough that I'd consider skipping this place in the future: ive stayed at the aponye on three separate occasions totaling five nights. I have had a hot shower one time. The rest of the times the water wasn't even lukewarm; it was freezing cold, and I could hardly stand it. I live in a rural area of Africa and bathe out of a basin most days, and the cold showers left me longing to get back to that.

If that doesn't bother you and you want to be in the heart of the city (you can walk just about everywhere), the Aponye is great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Pretty nice hotel once you navigate one of the worst streets we've ever stayed on. The street is a downside but other than that the location is pretty central. Good internet connection and TV in the rooms. Good mid-range choice. Take a taxi at night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aponye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aponye Hotel

Address: Apollo House,Plot 17B William Street | Next to Equity bank & UBA Bank and Majestic Plaza, Kampala +256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 52 elegant, self contained; air conditioned and well furnished executive rooms fitted with DSTV and Cable TV.It is within walking distance to and from the bus and taxi stations, shopping malls, African craft shops, cultural centres, major banks, universities, government offices and foreign missions.Aponye hotel is a favorite of foreign tourists and the business community because of its price friendly and affordable accomodation,utmost good care and hospitality extended to its guests ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aponye Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.