We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't expecting this!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Javas

Cafe Javas
Oasis Mall, Kampala, Uganda
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 182 restaurants in Kampala
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wasn't expecting this!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Cafe Javas on Namirembe Road. After nearly a month on the Ssese Islands this was our first meal back in Kampala. I have to say I went for a steak sandwich and chips (very British) but that was my indulgence! I also has a Very Berry Milk Shake that was "heaven". Cafe Javas even has a supermarket on the premises.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    73
    95
    25
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Try out their fruit cocktail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Its location is perfect and the chips always keep me asking for more......I had never had a nice sandwich as I did at Javas

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Slice of America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food is great- especially if you are looking for some food other than the traditional Ugandan dishes. Not many Ugandans. Mostly travelers/missionaries/people who are adopting. Always busy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good place with bad habits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Cafe Javas at Oasis mall serves ok food in large portions. the drawback seems to be its either full or the tables seems to be booked. Well they try to maximise the people at a table which i can understand but to deny 3 people sitting at a 4 seat table to then allow a single person occupying the same table shows bad judgement and big inconsistencies in how to treat clients. the waiters on occasion miss the orders completely but if you get what you ordered it is usually good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Try the tuna melt sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

For my travel and lifestyle blog I went to Kampala to scout the best restaurants, bars, shops and things to do. This place is great for breakfst, just a coffee or lunch. I love their passion fruit juice too! There's only one thing I eat here every day when in Kampala: the Tuna Melt sandwich. It's delicious! For me as a girl I ordered without any sided since the sandwiched are huge! I will post more on Kampala on my blog soon. Or just read my other reviews on Tripadvisor about Kampala and its restaurants.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Javas also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Cafe Javas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Javas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.